We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #706 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Generally a good choise! Clean and comfy rooms, good breakfast but the best of all was that this hotel is 1 minute walking from Via del Corso, and 4' from Piazza den Poppolo and Spanish steps!! You can find many good restaurants in the area!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    159
    53
    25
    13
See reviews for
65
195
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We loved this hotel. The staff was great, the room was good and the location was the best. If you want to be on the center of Rome and the Vatican for a great price, this is the place to be. Only bad thing... The shower was really small, you will feel like in a submarine, but it is because we are used to big showers in America and Latin America. Realmente es una excelente opcion. Recomendado 100%

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRAMIREZDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Apart from being close to the Spanish steps, the Centrale is a few hundred metres from the underground station just across Piazza de Popolo. Buy a three day ticket (the machines are easy to use) and you have great access to the Vatican area a couple of stops away and, changing at Termini, to the Colosseum. The stations are clean and well signposted. We didn't bother with the busses although the three day ticket covers them too.
Breakfast is surprising: lots of variety but the food is dotted around the room! The coffee is great, but I agree with other reviewers that the ersatz orange juice is a bit of a let down.
The rooms are inevitably small given the age of the building, but the building is well maintained and kitted out. The showers are a tad small so if you are well upholstered a different hotel might be wise. The street noise at the front is evident but truly Italian. Our air con didn't work ( moved air but didn't alter the temperature) and the front of house staff didn't seem fussed. This wasn't an issue in November but could be a stressor in summer.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The lift (elevator if you're from across the pond) is classic old Europe: small with spy movie sliding grille doors. On closer inspection it seems well looked after. Beware the occasional idiot that leaves it on the top floor with the doors open so it can't be called to the ground floor.
This is a characterful, memorable small hotel in a great location for tourists. It is in a very safe area. I would heartily recommend it to anyone wishing to see Rome who doesn't want to stay in a corporate clone hotel.

Room Tip: Didn't see the rooms at the back of the hotel, but I suspect they might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trenchfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 days and were very happy with our stay.

We got to the hotel at 11am the first day and were told we'd need to wait until 3pm to check in. A few minutes later, they told us that they had a room for us after all.

We got in the elevator (which was extremely old looking and didn't feel like it would be able to lift our weight) and went to our room. The room was really nice and much larger than what we were expecting. The bathroom had a full tub with a glass door which only extended half way (so the other half of the tub had no door at all). This made for very messy showers and water went absolutely everywhere. The bathroom also had a toilet whose seat was not the same size as the toilet itself, and a bidet. The main room was nice with high ceilings. The room was also all digital (lights would stay on when you put your room key card into a slot and press the light button). We liked it a lot, though it took us a little while to figure it out.

The hotel provided free internet which worked pretty well. The only thing is that we had to specifically ask for the internet username & password - they weren't provided to us automatically. I think this might have been a mistake on the hotel staff's part (or possibly a result of our checking in early).

the hotel was about 5 minutes walk from the Spanish Steps. We were really happy with the location and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreTrips4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Went to Rome with a gal pal for a few days, and booked into the Centrale as it seemed like a good price.

Firstly, the location is unbeatable. Just a couple of minute's stroll from Piazza de Popolo, and the Spanish Steps, sandwiched in a small street between the main Via Corsa and some of the smartest designer shopping streets. From there, we walked everywhere including to the Colosseum and The Vatican, but it's also close to a metro station.

Secondly, the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, with good English.

Thirdly, a good continental style breakfast with plenty of rolls and croissants, fruit, cereals etc. They serve till 10am so you can have a nice lie in and still get your breakfast!

Fourthly, the rooms whilst on the snug side, were inpeccably clean with plenty of wardrobe space, and extremely comfy beds with good quality sheets and pillow cases, plus very effective air conditioning ( which you seem to have to pay extra for in other "budget" Rome hotels).

Overall, we felt that the Centrale represented extremely good value for money in what is a very expensive city, hotel wise. It was a terrific base for our 4 day holiday and I would certainly go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#254 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#166 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#242 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#543 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#141 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Via Laurina 34 | Centro Storico, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #706 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,215 - ₹ 14,760
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is situated in a pedestrian area near Spanish Steps and Popolo Squares, which is extremely quiet and just few meters far from the big Villa Borghese parking. What makes the hotel unique among the others in the capital city is the building fascination; it is in fact a beautiful 1700 palace. Moreover, the hotel is one of the few that, being located in the centre of Rome, can offer advantage our rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing