We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Centrale
Nearby Hotels
US$ 628
US$ 416
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 592
US$ 296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori(Rome)
US$ 274
US$ 249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 329
US$ 257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$ 284
US$ 264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome(Rome)
US$ 279
US$ 263
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Napoleon(Rome)
US$ 234
US$ 219
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 2,232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 301
US$ 220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
156
178
59
29
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
178
59
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia del corsospanish stepsexcellent locationtop floorarranging transportationside streetshopping and restaurantspastriesrecommend hoteltrevi fountainmetro stationpleasant stayheart of romerooms are smallcity breakvisit to romegave us a map
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We loved this hotel. The staff was great, the room was good and the location was the best. If you want to be on the center of Rome and the Vatican for a great price, this is the place to be. Only bad thing... The shower was really small, you will feel like in a submarine, but it is because we are used to big showers in America and Latin America. Realmente es una excelente opcion. Recomendado 100%

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRAMIREZDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Apart from being close to the Spanish steps, the Centrale is a few hundred metres from the underground station just across Piazza de Popolo. Buy a three day ticket (the machines are easy to use) and you have great access to the Vatican area a couple of stops away and, changing at Termini, to the Colosseum. The stations are clean and well signposted. We didn't bother with the busses although the three day ticket covers them too.
Breakfast is surprising: lots of variety but the food is dotted around the room! The coffee is great, but I agree with other reviewers that the ersatz orange juice is a bit of a let down.
The rooms are inevitably small given the age of the building, but the building is well maintained and kitted out. The showers are a tad small so if you are well upholstered a different hotel might be wise. The street noise at the front is evident but truly Italian. Our air con didn't work ( moved air but didn't alter the temperature) and the front of house staff didn't seem fussed. This wasn't an issue in November but could be a stressor in summer.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The lift (elevator if you're from across the pond) is classic old Europe: small with spy movie sliding grille doors. On closer inspection it seems well looked after. Beware the occasional idiot that leaves it on the top floor with the doors open so it can't be called to the ground floor.
This is a characterful, memorable small hotel in a great location for tourists. It is in a very safe area. I would heartily recommend it to anyone wishing to see Rome who doesn't want to stay in a corporate clone hotel.

Room Tip: Didn't see the rooms at the back of the hotel, but I suspect they might be quieter
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trenchfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 days and were very happy with our stay.

We got to the hotel at 11am the first day and were told we'd need to wait until 3pm to check in. A few minutes later, they told us that they had a room for us after all.

We got in the elevator (which was extremely old looking and didn't feel like it would be able to lift our weight) and went to our room. The room was really nice and much larger than what we were expecting. The bathroom had a full tub with a glass door which only extended half way (so the other half of the tub had no door at all). This made for very messy showers and water went absolutely everywhere. The bathroom also had a toilet whose seat was not the same size as the toilet itself, and a bidet. The main room was nice with high ceilings. The room was also all digital (lights would stay on when you put your room key card into a slot and press the light button). We liked it a lot, though it took us a little while to figure it out.

The hotel provided free internet which worked pretty well. The only thing is that we had to specifically ask for the internet username & password - they weren't provided to us automatically. I think this might have been a mistake on the hotel staff's part (or possibly a result of our checking in early).

the hotel was about 5 minutes walk from the Spanish Steps. We were really happy with the location and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreTrips4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Went to Rome with a gal pal for a few days, and booked into the Centrale as it seemed like a good price.

Firstly, the location is unbeatable. Just a couple of minute's stroll from Piazza de Popolo, and the Spanish Steps, sandwiched in a small street between the main Via Corsa and some of the smartest designer shopping streets. From there, we walked everywhere including to the Colosseum and The Vatican, but it's also close to a metro station.

Secondly, the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, with good English.

Thirdly, a good continental style breakfast with plenty of rolls and croissants, fruit, cereals etc. They serve till 10am so you can have a nice lie in and still get your breakfast!

Fourthly, the rooms whilst on the snug side, were inpeccably clean with plenty of wardrobe space, and extremely comfy beds with good quality sheets and pillow cases, plus very effective air conditioning ( which you seem to have to pay extra for in other "budget" Rome hotels).

Overall, we felt that the Centrale represented extremely good value for money in what is a very expensive city, hotel wise. It was a terrific base for our 4 day holiday and I would certainly go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed for a week at Hotel Centrale near Piazza del Populo in central Rome and were very happy with our stay at this wonderful small hotel, The hotel's location provided access to all manner of restaurants, coffee shops, tratterias, Pizza shops etc.

This gem of a small hotel is very convenient to the historic center also with easy walks to Spanish steps, Vatican, museums and palazzi, Pantheon, Piazza Navonna & Fontana di Trevi.

Staff was very helpful in arranging for us to tour Galleria Borghese (tickets required) which have to be arranged a few days in advance. Without the hotel's helpful staff we would not have been able to see this famous and important art collection. A must see in Rome!

Hotel was quiet and clean. We even had access to a semi private terrace with a view of the gardens of the Villa Borghese.

Desk staff and housekeeping were always helpful and friendly. Breakfasts although not elaborate were adequate nonetheless.

If we were to visit Rome again (and we certainly will) we will use this wonderful hotel again.

JC
(New York City)

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room for a view and light. Interior rooms although possibly quieter, were dark.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjrcnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews