We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable”

Hostaria Antica Roma
Ranked #2,976 of 12,247 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: US$ 22 - US$ 80
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of the most unusual place to eat in the world...a mausoleum of 2000 years ago...
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We really enjoyed our supper here. We had only arrived by plane that day and this was the best way to immerse ourselves straight into the atmosphere of being in Italy. Our host could not have been more friendly and helpful. He really made us enjoy our visit. I don't think it's cheap but it is worth every penny to make the most out of a weekend in Rome. Make the effort to go here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    121
    40
    43
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pine bluff,ar.
1 review
“Serendipity”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We ate at Antica Roma at the recommendation of our tour guide we had for the Vatican tour. It was also rated high on trip advisor. All I can say is this was one of the greatest dining experiences we have ever had along with being entertaining and having great ambiance. Paulo , the chef and owner captivates you with stories of his culinary creations,history of the restaurant, and the site it is built on. We are going back tomorrow night. You must eat here if you are in Rome. Caio!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This should be #1 restaurant in Rome!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We read the reviews on here and loved the sound of this restaurant and we are so glad we went! It's just outside of the city walls (don't let that put you off), it was a very short cab ride and the setting is stunning. Paolo explained the history associated with the site and gave us a tour.The food is incredible. We loved the little extras that were thrown in, some nibbles to start, some cheese using a 2000 year old secret receipe and a taste of their fabulous lasagne on the side when my daughter couldn't make up her mind on what to order! Save some room for dessert, the Tiramisu should not be missed!
Paolo is the perfect host and has some fabulous stories to accompany your meal! Do not miss this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loolibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best kept secret in Rome!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Not too far from the center of everything is the Hostaria Antica Roma. A delightful restaurat in a unique setting with food that makes us keep coming back. If we do nothing else in Rome, we make sure we come back to this restaurant. After our net cruise which will end in Rome, we will stay one additional day just for the great meal and service at Hostaria Antica Roma. And it's a special treat for Harley riders!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best dining experience I had in Italy”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is the place to come in Rome. We found this on Tripadvisor randomly, and didn't know what to expect. We left the restaurant having had one of the best dining experiences I had ever had in my life. My family was treated like family by Paolo, the host extraordinaire. As Americans, we felt right at home with Paolo's story-telling and warmth shown toward us.

Of course, the real joy is the food, which is nothing short of incredible. I can't even begin to tell you all of the different dishes we had. But the appetizer sampler that was brought out was almost enough to fill me completely, and there was still plenty more that we indulged in. The chicken, an ancient Roman recipe from 2,000 years ago, was simply outstanding.

And how could we not get the tiramisu after Paolo told us all about it? It was magical. Make sure you ask for the story about tiramisu, as well!

If you are in Rome, and you do not come to this incredible restaurant located in the Catacombs of Rome, you are making one of life's biggest mistakes!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hostaria Antica Roma also viewed

 

Been to Hostaria Antica Roma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing