We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This should be #1 restaurant in Rome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostaria Antica Roma

Hostaria Antica Roma
Ranked #2,597 of 11,808 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: US$ 21 - US$ 76
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: One of the most unusual place to eat in the world...a mausoleum of 2000 years ago...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This should be #1 restaurant in Rome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We read the reviews on here and loved the sound of this restaurant and we are so glad we went! It's just outside of the city walls (don't let that put you off), it was a very short cab ride and the setting is stunning. Paolo explained the history associated with the site and gave us a tour.The food is incredible. We loved the little extras that were thrown in, some nibbles to start, some cheese using a 2000 year old secret receipe and a taste of their fabulous lasagne on the side when my daughter couldn't make up her mind on what to order! Save some room for dessert, the Tiramisu should not be missed!
Paolo is the perfect host and has some fabulous stories to accompany your meal! Do not miss this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loolibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    117
    38
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best kept secret in Rome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Not too far from the center of everything is the Hostaria Antica Roma. A delightful restaurat in a unique setting with food that makes us keep coming back. If we do nothing else in Rome, we make sure we come back to this restaurant. After our net cruise which will end in Rome, we will stay one additional day just for the great meal and service at Hostaria Antica Roma. And it's a special treat for Harley riders!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best dining experience I had in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is the place to come in Rome. We found this on Tripadvisor randomly, and didn't know what to expect. We left the restaurant having had one of the best dining experiences I had ever had in my life. My family was treated like family by Paolo, the host extraordinaire. As Americans, we felt right at home with Paolo's story-telling and warmth shown toward us.

Of course, the real joy is the food, which is nothing short of incredible. I can't even begin to tell you all of the different dishes we had. But the appetizer sampler that was brought out was almost enough to fill me completely, and there was still plenty more that we indulged in. The chicken, an ancient Roman recipe from 2,000 years ago, was simply outstanding.

And how could we not get the tiramisu after Paolo told us all about it? It was magical. Make sure you ask for the story about tiramisu, as well!

If you are in Rome, and you do not come to this incredible restaurant located in the Catacombs of Rome, you are making one of life's biggest mistakes!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best meal with genuine warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We loved this restaurant and their tiramisu is to die for. Wonderful fresh food that is plentiful and well priced. Be prepared to be wowed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alicia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonita springs, florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ANTICA ROMA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I first became aware of the fabulous eatery by reading Tripadvisor . I saw that it was a distance from where I was staying and asked about transportation. I received an immediate response from Paolo who said that if he could not get a taxi for me, he would loan me his motorcycle. Well I made reservations and went there on Sunday night, April 1, 2012. We arrived at the restaurant early and were greeted as old friends and given a glass of champagne while we waited to be seated in the interior part of the restaurant which is part of an ancient monument to slaved freed by Augustus Caesar. I had the antic chicken as well as great anti pasta and lasagna all on Paolo's recommendation.
All the tastes and flavors were wonderful and Paolo and his dad were gracious hosts.
Paolo is a character and quite entertaining. He is natural showman and you can see that he loves his restaurant and his creations. We liked it so much, we went back a second time.
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves Italian food.
Ciao,
Tony Trionfo

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hostaria Antica Roma also viewed

 

Been to Hostaria Antica Roma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing