We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next best thing to home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 3,642 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Next best thing to home!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

this was my first experience at a B&B and Aldebaran really set the bar high! the moment you walk in you feel a sense of coziness and comfort. the place is well kept and very clean. laura, the owner, was such a sweetheart! she sat us down with a map of the city and showed us how to get around and a few places to eat. although not centrally located, this B&B is only 2 blocks from the nearest metro station(manzoni.) for the sweets person, it is also only 2 blocks away from the oldest gelato shop in rome, and probably one of the best tasting as well. the bolts on all the doors are industrial strength, they require you to twist twice around to fully lock(the bolts are extra long), which gave me the peace of mind i needed since there was no 24 hour front desk. overall, i am extremely satisfied with my stay here and would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    39
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
78
329
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Aldebaren is in a great location in Rome, yet in a very quite non-tourist neighborhood. The room was a nice size with a comfortable queen bed. The host Laura was very friendly and helpful with directions for Metro and placement of the important historical sites and museums. The Colosseum was a quick 2 stop bus ride or 20 minute walk from the door. We had dinner at several very good resturants within a couple of blocks of the B&B. Breakfast was very good for an Italian B&B and we enjoyed the family style meal in the breakfast room. I would definately stay with Laura again if I traveled to this ancient city again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimToyota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

When deciding on our Rome B&B we were keen to find somewhere away from the centre of town where it would be quieter and less touristy. Alderbaran was perfect for this; in a quiet side street but still only 5 mins walk to the Metro and 15 min walk to the Colleseum.

We were greeted warmly by Laura (and Rumba the dog..)  who immediately sat us down to explain the area, buses, what to see etc. Each morning Laura was extremely helpful, even ringing to try and book Villa Borghese museum tickets. 

Our room was spacious with a large comfy bed, a big bathroom with a good shower and a nice view out to the street. Breakfast each morning consisted of warm croissant, toast with jams or cheese, eggs and sometimes cake (Laura even let us take some of her delicious chocolate cake away with us to Florence). It goes without saying that the coffee was excellent, and my girlfriend was happy be able to have decaf coffee too. 

Laura recommended several restaurants nearby; "Taverna Romana" and "Trattoria Antica Hostaria da Angelino"  being the best. Both provided superb food (we went to the latter twice..) at very good prices, with the majority of diners being Italian, so we felt like we got the real local experience. Make sure you also go to the Gelataria just round the corner, the ice cream was sublime!  

We had a great start to our holiday in Italy here and would highly recommend Alderbaran for anyone wanting to get a true feel for life in Rome. 

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsgreen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Location - nearby Manzoni metro station, very qiuet and nice quarter - local people, Colosseuim in walking distance, also not far from Termini station, though I don't recommend to walk from Termini, cause the area around the station is not very pleasant
Place - clean, comfortable, equipped with modern furniture with very good style
Breakfast - fruits, yoghurt, croissant, toast, ricotta, butter......more similar to lunch than breakfast + excellent capuccino
The owner - Laura is a lovely person and VERY helpful
Same place next year for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A nicely refurbished house in a quiet street somewhat out of the town middle but with easy access tot public transport. Cosy and with character, you are really welcome in Laura's house. No question too much, the answers quick an adequate. We'll recommend Aldebaran to our family and friends!

Room Tip: Let yourself be guided by Laura and you'll be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LieFil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,617 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#4 of 1,256 in Rome
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,093 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Campanella3
#8 of 3,642 in Rome
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast

Property: Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Luigi Luzzatti 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 3,642 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,473 - ₹ 7,417
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldebaran b&b, situated in the heaart of Rome, was born in March 2006 in Laura Tiberi's family house. It all started with her imagination, from souvenirs of trips made, and the historical memory to which this place belongs. The idea was to create a unique location, full of charm decorated with warm colors and styles, between the private dwelling and a real and refined hospitality. Breakfast is served in a quiet and bright living room where you can breathe an atmosphere which makes you feel at home but in a mixture of cultures and languages. The homemade bread, the water taken directly from the source, the aroma of our coffee "espresso", a delicious cappuccino, made from a special recipe and other delicacies, make the start of your day a unique moment together with the sympathy of Laura who is always eager to give you valuable information and important tips to discover the beauties and treasures of the Eternal City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldebaran Bed And Breakfast
Aldebaran Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing