We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable B&B in a perfect location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of All'obelisco Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
All'obelisco Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1,330 of 3,659 Rome B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B in a perfect location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

All'Obelisco is a great place to stay in Rome. It's location can not be beat. The rooms are small but comfortable and have everything you need. Giancarlo is an excellent host and is clearly committed to making sure the guests have everything they need. The hotel doesn't have any amazing ameneties, just a comfortable place to stay while you explore Rome. The breakfast is not great but it gets the job done. The location on the side street makes the rooms quiet and nice, even with the windows open.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed four days in the beginning of January, during the sales. We agree with the other reviewers that the location is perfect and that Giancarlo is a great host. I won't repeat what they said but here are a few additions:

We can also confirm that the rooms are a bit noisy so bring earplugs if you want to sleep late.

There's free internet in the flat, but also free wifi in the room.

There is a taxi station less than 15 meters away from the entrance, which is very convenient when you're tired of walking around.

There were scaffoldings on the building when we stayed, though we were there during a week-end so no work happened. It looks like they were being dismantled so they should be gone by the beginning of february 2009.

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank philippe_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

Amazing little place just across from the famous Hotel Hassler at the top of the Spanish Steps, no need to take a cab anywhere, just a short walk to the Trevi fountain or most anywhere in old Rome. Great rooms with very tall ceilings and A/C [very nice in the heat while we were there]. Very accomodating owner. Internet in foyer area with simple breakfast served every morning. You have your own keys and can come and go as you please. A terrific deal, would stay there again. Our friends also stayed at the apartment down the street that the owner also rents out which is a great deal for a larger group wanting privacy.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no great views from rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank willmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the All'Obelisco in August and really enjoyed our stay. As it was August, Giancarlo was away and the place was run by Maria. The only thing that made it difficult was that Maria, a Ukranian, spoke no English at all, but fortunately for us there was a French couple staying that could translate her Italian into French which I uinderstood. The room was decent sized as was the bathroom. The shower was a little on the small side but not really that bad. We were never able to figure out how to operate the satellite portion of the TV so we only had Italian stations.

The internet station set up in the main lobby was a god send as we then did not have to find an internet cafe to check e-mails or look for restaurants.

Breakfast was very good, and Maria always asked what time you would like it served. There was always cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread and jam, coffee, and Maria would make you a soft boiled egg if you wanted one.

The location could not be better being directly at the top of the Spanish Steps.

IMPORTANT: When you arrive with all of your luggage via the Metro, be sure to use the elevator on your left at the end of the Metro stop tunnel to get to the top of the steps. No one mentioned anything about an elevator to us, and I carried our suitcases all the way up the steps in 90 degree heat.

The only downside to the place was the noise. The way that Giancarlo has re-designed the interior of the place does not allow noise to escpae anywhere. Whenever anyone is upstairs in the breakfast area, you feel like they are in your room with you. Every sound is magnified 10 fold. It was a minor inconvenience most of the time except when someone gets up for breakfast much earlier than you do.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the All'Obelisco and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great deal in a great location of the city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noixe
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Neftist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

Didn't stay as one week before arrival we learned that our 2 confirmed rooms (done 6 mos earlier) were, mistakenly, not entered in the book. The owner, Giancarlo, accepted responsibility, finding us more costly accomodations (confirmed)and bearing the additional cost personally. Although we didn't stay with him, he also made dinner reservations for us. We were not happy about his mistake, but he handled it so graciously that we looked him up once we got to Rome. He greeted us loke we were lost relatives, spending a pleasant 30 minutes with him. His accomodations are good, well located and reasonable. As for Giancarlo, you won't find a better host

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gastro_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#197 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#136 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Campo Marzio
Ingrami Suites
Ingrami Suites
#449 of 3,659 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Residenza RomAntica
Residenza RomAntica
#251 of 1,028 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Campo Marzio
Relais Pierret Piazza di Spagna
Campo Marzio
Les Diamants Spanish Steps Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to All'obelisco Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All'obelisco Bed & Breakfast

Property: All'obelisco Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Gregoriana n. 25 | Roma, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,330 of 3,659 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,126 - ₹ 12,320
Hotel Class:3 star — All'obelisco Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All'obelisco b&b is located in a beautiful 19th century building just above Spanish Steps.Air conditionning, wi-fi internet connection, satellite TV with international channels and continental breakfast are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your All'obelisco Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All`Obelisco Bed And Breakfast
All`Obelisco Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing