We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, but but very small room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Ranked #113 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I enjoyed the location of Le Clarisse.... Right on the edge of the funky,cafe filled part of Trastevere, my favorite neighborhood in Rome. Check in went well; the staff is very nice and helpful. We were given the Melograno room. You actually go outside the hotel. Down two doors and have a separate entrance to a group of other rooms. It was right on Via Trastevere, so I was surprised the room was as quiet as it was. The room had the typical above door a/c unit, and in the small room, after two nights of having chilly air blowing on my face, I came down its a nasty cold. Also, be careful of the bed frame. The maid covers it with a cover, and between the two of us, we have several bruises on our shins! The room was very small.... Honestly, the bathroom was about the same size! Not a big deal, since how much are you in the room anyway? Still, worth knowing.

The room could also use a little decor upgrade. It's very simple with white walls. Mother ceiling is beautiful... Old brick arches, and asinwas lying on the bed,minkept thinking how beautiful the room could be with paint that brought in th terra cotta and gold from the bricks, and a painting or two would certainly help!

The bathroom, al in marble, was quite acceptable.

The breakfast was acceptable though limited; rolls, croissants, yogurt, cheese and ham.

Internet is included, which is helpful.

All in all, doubt I would stay there again, though the price was fair. I'd look for something with a little more charm and space. Of course, this was probably the room I was in,

Room Tip: Definitely ask first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VailGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guest,
reviews including considerate and helpful suggestions just as yours are always more than welcome and are a great incentive to improve our standard day by day. So thank you.

We take this kind of issues very seriously so first of all, what you wrote about the bed frame hurting you is definetely a matter we will take care of! Noone had ever reported us this complain, so we are grateful to you for warning us about it.

About room size I can personally assure you that European (and especially Italian, I must admit) standards are rarely generous from this point of view and I am very sorry you did not feel as comfortable as we would like every Guest to be. Despite this I am glad to guarantee that we are very proud of being able to also offer bright and large Suites and Superior rooms, much more spacious than average for Italian Standards, in fact.

Thank you for having noticed our ancient ceilings: those arches and bricks are dated back to XVIII century, it took a great effort to fully restore them but we are proud of the result.

Lastly, we regret that you did not fully appreciate the variety of our breakfast: even if meeting all different tastes is impossible, we try to do our best in offering different types of pastries, cakes, hot and cold drinks, juices, cereals, yoghurts, many kinds of cheeses, hams and meats, bread, jams, honey, coffes, teas, cappuccinos ecc.

I promise we will be glad to reserve you a special treatment in one of the above mentioned rooms overlooking the garden if you will choose to be our most welcomed Guest again in the future.

Sincerely,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

On the recommendation of a friend, we stayed at the RLC for 4 nights as a basis for a mini-vacation in the Eternal City. In short, we loved it. Although not inexpensive, its location, charm, amenities and staff made it excel. It is located in Trastevere, just across the Tiber and within walking distance of many destinations (Colosseum, Pantheon, Forum, etc.).

It is a small hotel (maybe 9 rooms?); ours was quite spacious (by Euro standards) and very nicely appointed (even had a hot tub, which we did not use). Good wireless internet at no extra charge. Lovely breakfast buffet with attentive and friendly staff.

We made significant use of the desk staff to help with transit directions and so on and without exception they were great. I would like to specifically applaud Valentina who spent a lot of time with us over 4 days and was VERY helpful, considerate, polite and nice! A good ambassador for the hotel.

Best of all, the location in Trastevere is very special. Within a 5 min walk, you have a huge assortment of restaurants / bars serving great food and drink at reasonable prices. Evidently this is where Romans go to indulge.

All in all, we simply loved our stay here and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the nice comment and words you dedicated to all our staff.

We are extremely delighted to know that you appreciated the quality of the services and professionalism of our team.

Knowing that you returned home carrying with you such pleasant memories of the experience lived at Relais le Clarisse, it is for us the greatest satisfaction and a stimulus to continue working with passion and devotion, to guarantee our Guests the attention and quality standards they deserve. In fact, this Relais started as a 5 five rooms Bed & breakfast a few years ago. If today we can count 13 rooms it is just thanks to the trust our Guests keep placing in us.

Our most heartful thank you for your lovely feedback that we gladly shared with all our hotel team.
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Relais LeClarisse is a small and in nice way casual and personal hotel in Trastevere near the main street Viale di Trastevere and the straight narrow street of Via di San Francesco a Ripa which leads you to the famous Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere. The Hotel with not so many rooms and with small courtyard situates in a very good place between the north and south parts of Trastevere, which both are mazes of narrow streets with medieval houses. As you may know Trastevere as such has its own identity and has stayed a personal part of Rome. It is much more than the narrow alleys on the tourist areas with all the pubs and restaurants partly made for tourists. It has local food shops and market places, f.ex. by the Piazza di San Cosimato where you can find nice pizzerias, tavernas, cafes and pubs! Also the south part of Trastevere near the river Tiber/Tevere - like under the armpit of river - where situates f.ex. the church of Santa Cecilia in Trastevere (worth to see!) is interesting to visit. Take time and eat f.ex. in the Taverna Mercanti enjoying the flavours of Trastevere!

Breakfast room was small but you could also eat on the courtyard. The breakfast itself was good and sufficient even though I would add more choices of fresh bread which is very good in Rome. Staff of the Hotel Relais Le Clarisse was very friendly, helpful and approachable. The atmosphere of the hotel was very nice, warm and casual. In spite of all positive we want to tell you about the hotel it was not quite value for money which was a bit disappointing for us.

Room Tip: We chose the superior room with garden view. The garden means a courtyard with plants which was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guests,
we deeply thank you for sharing such an accurate and detailed description of your experience at Relais Le Clarisse, complete with pictures. As I can see, it comes from an amazing attention to Roman culture and its most worthy features: I truly believe that is the best way to travel, eyes and heart wide open.

This provides an extra flattering point for us: discerning Guests are harder to satisfy, but their good opinion and kind words always convince us we are going the right way.

Please, just allow me to say that the "machine" in your pictures is not an old fashioned air conditioning as you have supposed in your description, it is an exhaust fan. :-)

Grateful for your kind words, we hope to have you again as our most welcomed Guests anytime soon.

Warm regards,
Gloria
Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My partner and I stayed three nights and celebrated a landmark birthday. Staff very attentive but never obtrusive. Clean room, quiet location with pleasant courtyard in the middle of Trastevere - an area with real shops selling local products.

Generous breakfasts. Pleasant birthday treat from staff. Poor wi-fi reception during our stay, not sure if it was due to vaulted brick walls in our room or unstable Internet service in Trastevere as the front desk also had sluggish reception.
All in all a pleasant stay at the Clarisse.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank kingstonbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile reception at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Guests,
I would like, first of all, to deeply thank you for taking the time to share such a kind review about our Relais, services and Staff.
We are always flattered when our Guests choose us amoung the thousands Hotels in Rome, especially when it is on an occasion such as an important birthday. So we are glad you appreciated our manners.

I clearly remember the days you have been our Guests and I must confirm we did have some troubles with wi-fi connection in both buildings. Luckily enough though, we have solved them now, so when at Le Clarisse next time, we promise there will be no other shadows on your pleasant stay!

Hoping to welcome you again anytime soon,
Gloria
Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in rome and it was absolutely fantastic!
the location of trestavera is perfect, close enough so you can see everything on foot but not to close that it is noisy. the breakfast is very very good including lots of fruit, cheeses, cold meats and pastries.
the room is very clean and the bathroom nice and modern.
the most important feature of this hotel is the amazing staff. especially the lovely lady from the breakfast room who will take care of your every need.
when we come back to rome we will definitely stay at this hotel again.
great place and loved every minute of our stay

Room Tip: we stayed in the new wing of the hotel. very nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ella w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile reception at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for this nice review of your stay with us at Relais Le Clarisse.
We are so glad you truly appreciated the whole package: our breakfast, rooms, location and Staff: it is our care and pleasure to help our Guests feel welcomed and when we have such kind feedbaks we feel like we have reached our goal.

See you next time in Rome then!

Sincerely,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#268 of 1,271 in Rome
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,271 in Rome
3,006 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#563 of 1,271 in Rome
180 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#174 of 1,271 in Rome
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere

Address: Via Cardinale Merry del Val 20, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Rome
#152 Business Hotel in Rome
#232 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 4,771 - ₹ 15,539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Le Clarisse is located in the heart of Trastevere, one of the most animated and picturesque districts of the capital. One of the favorite destinations of the Roman "movida" within walking distance are found some of the most notable sites of ancient Rome as Santa Maria in Trastevere, the Isola Tiberina, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. Using public transportation, you can reach with ease and speed, the Vatican City, Piazza di Spagna, the Coliseum, the Foro Romano and Piazza Venezia. The hotel has various rooms and is designed to meet the needs of families and couples on a romantic getaway. All rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with air conditioning, safe, free Wi Fi, flat screen Tv, Sky Tv, minibar, desk, hot drinks tray. The comfortable and modern bathrooms offer shower, hair dryer, towel warmer, body care kit. Some rooms are equipped with Jacuzzi and others overlook a peaceful courtyard. During the summer, the garden is the best place where you can enjoy a hearty breakfast, buffet style composed of cheeses, cold meats, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit and homemade sweet and savory pies. The Relais offers room service. The reception has laundry and ironing service is available as well as a left-luggage room, maps of the city and tourist information on restaurants and shops in the area. Wi Fi is available in the entire hotel and it is possible to park in the street with park meter. Pets are welcome. Whatever the reason of your stay, Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere is a great choice for your permanence in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Le Clarisse Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing