We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value and even better hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welrome Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welrome Hotel
Ranked #491 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and even better hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed at the Welrome April 3-6. The hotel is a very good value for the level of service that you get. The hosts MAry and Carlo are the perfect peolple to help direct you around the city. They will point you in the right direction based on how long your stay. They are particularly good at giving local tricks to avoid lines and get as nice of a meal as you want for your particular budget. Each of their recommended local restaurants knew them and provided above ordinary service. The rooms are very clean and quiet for being in a major city. If you are going to Rome and want to see the city and are not worried about staying in a luxury property you could not do any better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    72
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
169
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Hotel is located close to the Railway Station and with a shopping center nearby and plenty of places to eat nearby. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with good bathrooms.
Probably the best part about our stay there was how helpful and passionate about their city the owners Carlo and Mary were. Both were so willing to help you plan your days outings and spoke about the places they recommended with great passion and often referred us to articles in books they had in reception area. Next time we are in Rome we would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you required an elevator, it wasn't obvious, speak to Carlo or Mary and they would show you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank filthyrichfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our recent 6 nights stay - 23 Dec to 29 Dec - at Welrome was great! Mary & Carlos are a delightful couple with a wealth of information about the history of Rome, the sights and places to visit and even where to have delicious yet affordable Italian food! Their keen desire to share their knowledge made our visits to the historic areas interesting and enjoyable! Will stay here again if we return to Rome in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed here in May 2011. On check in Mary was so incredibly helpful with her advice - she even worked out an intinerary for us based on what we wanted to see, and how much time we had, to maximise out time! We also took her advice on where to go for dinner one night and had an amazing meal.

This hotel is not luxurious but has everything you need if you're not planning on spending a great amount of time in your room.

Both Mary and Carlo were great in helping us use the free wi-fi which we struggled with. On the morning of our departure we had to leave at 4.30am and when we opened the door Mary was waiting to escort us to the lift and assist with our bags - just fantastic.

Can't fault the Welrome for it's value for money and the service provided by Mary and Carlo.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Larissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed at Hotel Welrome for 6 nights October 24 - 30. The walking directions from the train station were simple and we found the hotel easily - even after traveling for 24 hours to get there. On our arrival, the owner, Mary, was very helpful and showed us to our room, gave us a map and routed out an afternoon city walking tour. It was perfect and we had a wonderful first afternoon.

The next morning, we had accidentally set our clocks wrong (pm instead of am) and overslept and missed our morning tour. Mary called the tour company for us and got them to let us take the tour the next day. She was an immense help to us throughout our stay. Helping us find grocery stores, restaurants, making reservations for us, telling us which bus to take. You couldn't ask for a better hostess.

Be prepared - the rooms are small, as were all the hotel roooms we stayed in on our 3 1/2 week Italy trip. Rooms in Italy are nothing like you find in the US, but it is all part of the charm and experience of being in a foreign country, right?

The location is very good. Plenty of things are close, including a church around he corner that we just happened to wander into our first day - it turned out to be built by Michelangelo from the old Roman baths and had the most enormous pipe organ i have ever seen! It's close to the Roma Termini (main train station) where you can get the subway to the coloseum and other areas). And the buses all stop just around the corner from the hotel. Mary helped us become experts at public transportation. Heed all the warnings about pickpockets. I did have someone try to take things from my purse while we were on the subway packed in like sardines! And I'm fairly certain it was a woman with a baby in a baby carriage. She used the baby as a distraction while she reached into your bag. When I got off the subway train, all the zippers on my purse were open. Luckily she didn't find anything of value to take as I had my money and credit cards in my pocket.

Mary was such a wonderful hostess and a huge help to us through our whole stay so I would stay there again if we get back to Rome. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MelissaAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#405 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#496 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Selene Roma
Hotel Selene Roma
#122 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#377 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#190 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#949 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welrome Hotel

Property: Welrome Hotel
Address: Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#110 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#305 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,362 - ₹ 7,998
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Welrome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing