We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly, Dark, Dull, Dissapointing Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Impero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Impero
Ranked #294 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unfriendly, Dark, Dull, Dissapointing Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked to stay here for 2 nights in March 2012, When we arrived at 10am on the Friday we were told our room was not ready so they would store our luggage, they then gave as a map an sent us on our way !!! We returned at 5pm, tired after a long flight, walking milesd round Colosseum, and hungry, we were told a pipe had burst so they had booked us into a different hotel next door called The Flower Garden. We had to stay there one night and return to them in the morning,. The flower garden was tiny, the room had 2 small single beds, tiny shower and was dark and dull, we did get a quiet comfy night though but hadnt payed for a small twin room. Breakfast was crossients cake or cereal or slices of bread !!!!
We went back to the Impero the following day as told to do so and they held our bags again as room was not ready. returned at around 4pm and our room was big and all marble but extremly cold and damp with no tv and no shower only a bath which was horrible, This also had single beds which were hard uncomfortable and wooden so noisy with even the slightest movement. At 2am we were woken by a horrific scary banging noise which frightened the life out of me but there was no explanation as to what this this could have been, could not get baack to sleep as there were noisey people in street and street cleaners!

Would never stay here again !!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you want edible breakfast, Polite staff and a good nights sleep !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HaeleyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chinandrea87, Direttore at Hotel Impero, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review. Only with the help of our guest we can constantly improve our service and our hospitality. We are sorry that your experience did not live to the expectations and would like to offer our guests some explanation about the check-in procedures to avoid disappointments.

The check-in times at Hotel Impero and for most hotels in Rome is at 14:00. This is the time when the rooms are ready for check-in and have undergone inspection by the housekeeper to ensure that the room is in perfect conditions for our guests. Your arrival time was at 10:00 am, 4 hours prior to the check-in time. It was likely that the hotel was fully booked the previous night and no rooms were available at your arrival time for check-in. Taking into consideration that the check-out time is at 12.00, it is likely the case that the rooms were not vacated by the previous guests at your arrival time. Information about the Check-in and Check-out times are made clear on the booking reservation, on our official website and on the reception desk so that all our guests have access to this information and are aware of the check-in and check-out times.

I understand that failure to check-in prior to the check-in time was not taken in a positive way but had it been possible to allow an early check-in, our staff would have done their best to allow this as a token of hospitality service and customer attention. We did offer you a map to plan out an itinerary for touring Rome as well as access to the lounge and stored your luggage so that you had the opportunity to start your visit in Rome, without needing to wait for the check-in time.

We realize that upon your return, you were relocated to another hotel due to a busted pipe. We would like to offer you our apologies for the inconvenience. It is unfortunate that this incidence had occurred during your stay. Had an alternative solution to moving you to another hotel been available, we would have taken steps to avoid the relocation. However, as the incidence involved a technical aspect of the maintenance, it was likely that this alternative arrangement couldn’t be arranged for the first night.

With regards to your room at Hotel Impero, all our rooms have TVs so I find the absence of a TV in the room to be quite strange. Had we been informed that the TV was missing or the temperature of the room was not suitable, we could have taken steps to solve the problem and ensure that you were fully comfortable in your room.

Over the years, Hotel Impero has undergone renovations and just recently finished in the beginning of this year. Both the exterior and the interior of the hotels have been completely refurbished and we have also switched all of our TVs to 32-inch LED TVs which pick up over 100 channels. After receiving feedback concerning the breakfast, we took actions to further improve the quality and variety. Now we offer a cold buffet breakfast, including Italian Salame and Ham for the salty range but also freshly-baked, homemade pastries and pies to complement the morning coffee.

Regarding the loud bang during the night, I too am unaware of what this could have been. However, our staff at the reception is available 24 hours so even at night time, had you informed our reception staff, we could have investigated where the noise came from and proceeded in finding a solution to ensure that you may have had a good night sleep. Our windows are double glazed so they cut out the majority of the street noise but we realize that for the light sleepers, this may not be sufficient. If this was a major problem, our reception staff could have taken measures to find a solution for you, for example, assigning a room that is not facing the street in order to minimize the noise and your discomfort.

We would like to thank you again for your review and apologize for the inconveniences that you reported throughout your stay at our Hotel. Today, we have significantly improved our services in all fronts and we hope that in a future stay you will be able to appreciate the newly refurbished rooms as well as the hospitality services offered by our staff. It is our priority to take care of your wellbeing and we hope you will be able to experience this care in a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    524
    222
    62
    43
See reviews for
214
429
40
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a 3 star hotel so we didn't pay a huge amount for it. Consequently you don't get 5 star quality. Overall the hotel was good, it is clean, quiet and all the facilities were working.
The location was good as we could walk to most of the attractions.
The breakfast was quite basic and I would have liked some cooked meats. We only stayed for 2 nights and it suited us perfectly well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

we booked 5 nights here based on triadvisor reviews, our flight was delayed because of the snow and so missed the first night (we had no idea how lucky we were) upon arriving check in was slow and the manager was in a complete muddle getting everyone mixed up, the bar area smells like an ash tray and noone serves.

the real problem is the room, we were in 430, the room was tiny, no problem it was cheap but the mould pn the wall that had been badly painted over, ridiculous! the only heating in the room is from the towel rail in the one in one out bathroom, oh and the shower turns the whole mircobathroom into a wet room.

what really did it for us tho was the banging, this hotel is currently dojng renovations on the 1st floor, but they only work 10am till about 5pm so not really a problem when u go sightseeing, the issue is the doors are so thin and shoddy everytimes somone open and closes a door on your corridoer you can hear it in the base of your spine! the doors provide no sound protection at all and someone getting out of the elevator and entering their room, it feels like there coming into your room!

needless to say after geting very broken sleep the first night we left (having paid in full via lastminute.com) and checked i to another hotel just round the corner were we managed to resume enjoying our holiday!

oh and the tv is the size of a postage stamp, but this doesn really matter as the room was the suze of a piece of A5 paper!

the manager had little interest that we were leaving 3 nights early, as he had our money and there was no chance of a refund

there are so many hotels in this area, dont stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vegetable21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chinandrea87, General Manager at Hotel Impero, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time and writing this review about our hotel. Only with the feedback of our customers we can improve our service, hospitality and the product itself – the hotel. Your feedback is very important for us to constantly improve our service levels.
As we can see from your review, your stay coincided with the hotel renovation period. Hotel Impero was completely renovated step by step during the last few years. These works have finally been completed since the beginning of this year. Not only did we renovate the exterior but also the interior. Every room has been remodeled and refurnished. Our old TVs were switched to new 32-inch LED TVs.
With regards to the size of the rooms, being located in the historic centre of Rome, it is natural for the rooms to be slightly smaller of size (but according to national standards) compared to hotels located in more modern cities. This is a feature that you will discover in many hotels situated in the historic centre of Rome but you will experience a completely refurbished structure with fantastic central location linked with its history and culture.
Regarding the heating, our Hotel works with a centralized air-con system that is set to either heating or cooling mode. Depending on the season or on the wish of the majority of our guests, it is set to either cooling or heating mode. Our Hotel staff works very hard to satisfy the needs of our guests. Had the front desk been informed that the room was to cold, steps could have been put in place to make your stay more comfortable. We are a service orientated Hotel and if there is anything we can do to make our guests feel more comfortable, we invite them to inform us of their needs.
Thank you once again for the time dedicated to review your stay and we apologize for the inconveniences that the renovation works have caused. The hotel staff is working very hard to constantly improve the hospitality service and the facilities. We hope that you will be able to experience the improvements in our standards in a future stay and for any further enquiries, we remain at your complete disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Hotel is excellent. Service staff is all Asian and polite. Roold are clean and efficient. Shower are small, no over weight persOn will fit the plastic cubical! Must try 4th floor, nice balcony!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We've just returned from 3 nights at this hotel and overall very pleased with it. The location is really convenient if you're coming in on the Teravision bus to the Termini and very walkable to the sights in the majority.

We were there whilst the deluge of snow came down which meant it wasn't the easiest place to get to the restaurants in central Rome (just down to the volume of snow on the ground and coming down) but at any other time that wouldn't be an issue!

The room was clean, very comfortable bed with lovely fresh linen.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing but you could always concoct something, who knew boiled egg and cheese spread on bread went to well :)

All that said, it's a really reasonably priced hotel, good staff and good location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#101 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#127 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#200 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#513 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#276 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#174 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Impero? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impero

Property: Hotel Impero
Address: Via del Viminale 19, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,348 - ₹ 13,482
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Impero 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Impero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impero Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing