We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere
Ranked #67 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I would actually like to give this place a 3.5 but cannot, having stayed at a few B&B around Italy, we found some things lacking here. However the price was reflective of this.

The good:
Location: quick tram ride or walk to centre, and lots of great amenities in Trastevere
Price: less than most places during the time of year we stayed.
Service: Eduardo and Maurizio were incredibly helpful with reservations, recommendations and communication. Very friendly and accommodating.
Clean: spotless, maid service daily, no problem sharing a bathroom at all.

The bad:
- the beds were the least comfortable on our entire trip, very hard (even for European standards) and you could feel the springs
- the room was stuffy and warm and every time we tried to leave the window open when we left for the day the maid closed it.
- the breakfast was sad with a poor selection of tea (no black tea), sugary cereals and diet yogurt. We bought our own yogurt and bread to eat in the AM
- tiny fridge in breakfast area that you really can't fit anything of your own in (we had bought some cheese to bring home that Eduardo was nice enough to let us keep in his fridge)
-the shower constantly turned from scalding hot to freezing cold, could not find warm at all.

I would look around to see if there is anything better in this price range, although I bet that there is not, I paid 90eu/night for late April.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cleopatra999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrtidiTrastevere, Owner at Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Unfortunately sometime guests asking for more than they should receive, when they receive this plus, they think they deserve still more...we cannot describe here the thousand of requests we received from them starting from the date of the reservation, months before the arrival...
Anyway..thanks for the "good".

About the bad:
1- First time we have heard about this.. In any case we're going to change the mattreses, to put only double ones.
2- We're sorry the guests came durino very strong rainy days.... Not so good idea to keep the windows open.. Not the mais but us closed them.. Fortunately!
3- These guests said the visited lots of b&b.. Probably not in Rome... It's really incredibile to' say that our breakfast is poor... We actually do not offer black tea, but we offer normal tea, green tea, various infusions.. Also we offer bread for toasting... Two or three kinds of cereals, lots of kinds of jam, fruit juices, yogurt (sometime diet sometime not... De ending on what we find), Nutella, two kinds of coffee, butter, milk.. Sometime cakes..
4- Nowhere is written that guests can use the small fridge in the breakfast room for their own things... And do you know why? Because it's small! Three would not be a frigge for guests, but we were glad to' borrow them our personal one.. The same story was for the various and Boeing requests every mornings.. We did everything they asked, even if just as courtesy... It always seemed it was owing.
5- opening the water on maximum, you should have it at the right temperature... If it is not, why not saying when you Are here, instead of write this in a review?
These guest Are the first that would not come back and would not reccommend our b&b to a friend. We of course respect their point of view (even if of course we don't agree) and we'll always try to grow up... Anyway, all in all, we also would not like to have again guests like those in our home and we don't reccommend them to our friends/colleagues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 103 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

We felt instantly at home at the B&B Orti di Trastevere. The room was clean, light and airy, and every need was catered for. A wide selection of food for breakfast, and plenty of helpful information from Eduardo the owner on the best places to eat and visit in Rome. I was unfortunate enough to have my purse stolen before we even arrived at the B&B, but Eduardo was kind enough to go out of his way to accompany us to the police station and ensure I was properly taken care of. Beautiful accommodation, and service that goes above and beyond. 5*

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Friendly and informative local hosts; authentic,comfortable and characterful accomodation; very convenient location for sites, good restaurants, getting-to-and-fro airport/station. The house is arranged in such a way that although you are living in Eduardo's home, you don't feel like you are imposing. Eduardo and Maurizio (brothers) are both very enthusiastic and informed about Rome. Really, it couldn't have been better. This is definitely the place for people who want to experience the real Rome.

Room Tip: Place has 3 guest rooms. 2 of the rooms share one bathroom - which is what we did as a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeHarryTomAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

i have travelled across 3 continents as of today but nothing beats when it comes to Roma , and no better place to stay in Roma other then Orti di Trastevere, the cool rooms, amazing surrounding and the best part is the owners/people who run it..i lreached around 9:30 and the guys hav been waiting for me to be there...very warm welcome, they took me out for dinner as i dint knw any places as it was kind of late , so the guys asked me to join them, they took to this nice local joint which is famous for its food..had amazing time chattin with people whom i knew for only 30 minutes, then they waled with me to tastevere , showed me the places i can visit in day time..next day the manager/owner was free so we took his bike around roma and showed me all the wonderful palces in roma..my 2 days visit woudn,t have been better if Edo from Orti de trastevere was not there...with him i have seen all the historical places that one would come to Visit.
My sincere Thanks to Edo for being a great host and a great friend and Thanks to the new friends i made in Roma

Room Tip: either of the rooms are great , totally depends on you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dhruvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in Orti di Trastrevere in January and the room was delightful. It was super clean and very warm. The room we had also had a private bathroom - outside of the room - but this was never a problem. The breakfast room provided a grat start to tthe day - fruit, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. The owners were lovely and welcoming. A fabulous place to stay and I wopuld definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wahaaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#499 of 1,271 in Rome
174 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#272 of 1,271 in Rome
703 reviews
Trastevere
Arco del Lauro
Arco del Lauro
#24 of 3,734 in Rome
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monteverde
Suites Trastevere
Suites Trastevere
#16 of 3,734 in Rome
745 reviews
Star of Rome
#54 of 3,734 in Rome
413 reviews
B&B Domus Raffaello
#36 of 3,734 in Rome
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere

Address: Largo Bernardino da Feltre 1, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 4,592 - ₹ 7,883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orti di Trastevere b&b is found at the 4th floor of a noble building, on Viale Trastevere. Very well connected with airport and train station and very close to the historical centre.We offer to our guests 3 bright double rooms (also as single use or with added bed)with nice views and 2 bathrooms, one for exclusive use and one to be shared between two rooms.The breakfast is various and composed with milk, coffee (long or espresso), tea, juices, bread for toast, jams, nutella, butter, yoghourt, cereals and season fruit. We like to do the best to make our guests living and knowing Rome and lot of its small secrets, offering them our knowledge about directions, nice sights or nice walking and a familiar,clean and punctual service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Orti di Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Orti Di Trastevere
Bed & Breakfast Orti Di Trastevere Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing