We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Would definitely stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tomas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3,020 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We are a young couple and stayed at Tomas B&B for 7 nights. This B&B was a very pleasant surprise. The location is amazing, a few minutes walk from St. Peter's Square, a metro station on the doorstep, and plenty of shops (including a lovely bakery down the street!). The area felt very safe to walk around in at night. The maanger was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good quality, usually a croissant/brioche, biscuits, coffee and orange juice. Our double room was spacious and clean, with an adjoining private bathroom, tv, and more than enough storage space for our luggage. The only downside was the lack of air conditioning and so in summer the room was very hot, however there is a fan provided and we had no problems sleeping whatsoever.

This was well worth the price, and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairenothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2009

This was a great experience.

Cheap, in a nearly unbeatable location, and among the friendliest service I have ever had. It's in a fantastic neighborhood steps from the Metro and a quick walk from the Vatican. The city center is a pleasurable 15-20 minute walk from the B+B or a cheap 6-8 Euro taxi ride if you'd prefer.

The operator was fantastic, always attentive, and very friendly. Breakfast was simple, but good. Room (single w/ private toiler and shower) was super small but perfect for a solo traveller.

The only real downside is the lack of A/C. It got very hot, as it was on the top floor of a building facing evening sun. There was not much circulation in the room. However, you should be out most of the day and it was sleepable in the evening.

This was well worth the approximately $75 a night stay and helped make my Rome experience enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

This hotel was great - the staff was great and the location superb. Just steps from the Ottaviano metro stop and short walk to the vatican. Area felt safe at night as well which is always a plus. The only real problem i can see with this hotel is that there is no air conditioning so beware if you visit during a hot summer. We were fine during our visit. Also, make sure to get a room with a shower as we saw some guests had to use a bathroom near the main breakfast area to shower so could be a bit awkward.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Great location, easy to get to from Termini train station. Inexpensive, clean, the staff was very friendly, and breakfast was very good. My wife said it was the best coffee she has ever had. We stayed here tonights and would not hesitate to stay here again.

The only two downsides is that the rooms are a little small and it can be a little noisy in the morning. But we were ok with that since we were up early and we did not need much space, just a place to rest our head at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank corp4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

I booked Tomas off venere.com. The single room rate for the week was 48 EUROS so I wasn't expecting much. I have stayed in all sorts of hotels all over and this place is actually my favorite hotel of them all!!

The hotel is located right off the vatican metro stop and is about 15 feet past an ATM machine. There is a door man during the day on weekdays! The B&B is actually inside a little complex of apartments with courtyards inside of them. It is at the back of this complex and on the 5th floor!

When you arrive the young man that manages the place will show you to your room and hand you three keys. One for the main door, one for the B&B and one for your room. I was shown my room right away (8am) and got ready for my day. I was in a single room and it was small!! I had to place my luggage under the bed, but there is a closet to hang your clothes with plenty of hangers and drawers.

The bed is very comfortable and there are extra blankets if needed. There is also a window and you look out onto the courtyard inside the complex. There is an ensuite bathroom with a shower that is a bit small as well. I didn't have a problem with that. Also, the water temperature was always very warm. There is a tv in the room but it only has Italian stations on it, so if you can not speak Italian I would bring a book.

The B&B provides you with towels daily and a hairdryer if you request one.

Breakfast was delicious. There was usually a few croissants, yogart, and some misc other things served with your choice of drink.

There is an internet cafe around the corner complete with phones for international calls. It was really reasonable. To call Canada was 5 cents per minute. There was also a grocery store where you could pick up water/wine/pop which was again very reasonably priced. There is also a pharmacy about 20 feet from the B&B. There is lots of shopping in the area and lots of restaurants as well as takeout next door.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the Vatican and St. Peters Square. The convenience of the Metro can get you to the center of Rome in about 5 minutes as well. It costs 1EURO to ride the metro one way or 4EURO to be able to use all transport all day.

The manager is very helpful and friendly, he was very professional and provided great information and assistance whenever it was needed. The next time I am in Rome I will definately stay at Tomas again...and will reccommend it highly to friends and family!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank courtneykiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,921 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#351 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,883 of 3,734 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomas Bed & Breakfast

Address: Viale Giulio Cesare 183, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,020 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tomas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing