We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Small Hotel in Rome”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #16 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Small Hotel in Rome”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at this small hotel last October. The staff were friendly, the breakfast had a great selection, and we enjoyed the proximity to the Ville Borghese. We rented bikes one morning and loved our ride through this beautiful park! It is also an easy walk to the Barberini Fontana di Trevi metro, so use of public transport made getting to distant sights very easy. We opted for a small/double and it was obviously small but clean, comfortable, and quiet.

The only reason this hotel doesn't get 5/5 is due to the airport pick-up service we scheduled through it. Even though we had supplied the hotel with our confirmed flight numbers and times, the driver was 45 minutes late picking us up. During our wait, I called the hotel to confirm that the driver was indeed coming and whoever answered was a bit short and just told us to keep waiting. Because the rest of our stay was so great, I'll blame it on Rome traffic and calling at a bad time, but I would explore your options of getting into the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,056
    550
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
861
1,188
162
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tielt, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

explendid (!) service, fair price, good breakfast, nice rooms, perfect location .... everything very ok!
(only a bit 'noisy' during the nights... we heard the talking at the desk several times...)

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the info-desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Golden. The location was very central. Large room for a city hotel. The breakfasts were wonderful. Great variety...from meats, eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit and fruit salads and of course wonderful sweets. I would rate this much higher than a 2 star hotel. The family...Marco, Constantine, Marco's wife and parents were all very helpful. The only negative was on our last day we were leaving at 7:45 and were hoping for breakfast and the door was closed. Breakfast was to be served from 7 am to 10 am. Other than that it was wonderful and we would highly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Thanks Giuseppe, Marco and family! The hotel was perfect!

Me, my wife and two daughters (ages 6 and 8) stayed at the Hotel Golden during our visit to Rome. The accommodations were perfect. We would site see during the day and then walk over to Villa Borghese park for a bike ride and gelato. Marco and Giuseppe also had great recommendations for local restaurants, how to get around Rome and when to visit certain attractions. We had an amazing time and they, and the hotel, were definitely one of the reasons.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a super visit to Rome, partly because of the great recommendations and attention from the staff at Hotel Golden. The location of this hotel is central to everything so you can walk or take one of the many buses available to any of the popular sites! Our friends had recommended this hotel to us, we recommended it to our daughter and son-in-law and we were all more than pleased! This is a family-run hotel and all the staff are eager to please. On our last night in Rome, we had purchased a bottle of champagne and I had asked if there was somewhere close where I could buy some ice, but the staff replied, no problem, we'll look after that for you -- a few minutes later, they brought the champagne in an ice bucket with champagne glasses to our room! It was so nice. The staff was also most helpful in providing directions to attractions as well as recommending good places to eat nearby. I can't say enough great things about this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to the world!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,264 in Rome
6,754 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,264 in Rome
1,328 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,264 in Rome
4,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#5 of 1,264 in Rome
920 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#17 of 1,264 in Rome
1,167 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,392 - ₹ 25,931
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing