We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and would highly recommend this hotel. This was our first visit to Rome and on arrival we were provided with a map which they talked through and highlighted the main attractions, as well as places to eat, drink, quickest routes etc. In very close proximity are some good restaurants, cafes and a supermarket. The room was clean, quiet and had a good breakfast, it had a good shower, air-con, and TV (not that we used it). Our room was small and didn't have a view but then again it was what we expected for the price and was perfect for what we wanted. As we wanted to see as much of Rome as possible we walked everywhere, although not in the centre of all the main attractions, it was central enough for us to do this. 10-15 minutes walk from both the Trevi fountain and the Spanish steps, 35-40 minutes from Vatican City and the Colosseum and everywhere we went there was always something to see, at no point did it feel like we were trekking to the next attraction.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexmartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,031
    544
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
845
1,178
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

In the heart of Rome between all the main attractions lies a sweet quiet pearl by the name Hotel Golden. If you are looking for a great location in the centre of the city but away from the noise this hotel is perfect for you. The hotel is just 1 minute from Via Veneto and is surrounded by public transportation. We stayed at the hotel (2 adults + 1 child) for 5 nights (end of April) and it was very clean, quiet and warm. The hotel is run by a real authentic Italian family which was very kind and helped us with great tips that upgraded our journey. It was very enriching to know them and to get a taste of Rome through their eyes. For us it was a very important and intriguing part of the trip even more than all the galleries and fountains.
As first time travelers to Rome this hotel was all we needed and expected. We will not hesitstate to visit it again.

Room Tip: Room 108 is perfect for 2 adults + 1 child
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuchibamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Golden in 2000 for 3 nights. We had a big group so we pretty much took over this tiny hotel. Marco, Giuseppe and family were all very friendly and helpful. They recommended nice restaurants for us, too. This past week, after traveling other parts of Italy for two weeks we went back to Rome for one night as our return flight home was from Rome. We decided to go back to Hotel Golden because the price is reasonable and it's in a nice location. Plus they were so nice the first time we visited. It's not a luxury hotel...rooms are small and I wish the bathroom was a little larger but it's Europe. We were just bummed we couldn't enjoy the yummy breakfast this time because our flight was so early. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a hotel in Rome that is away from all the noisy touristy areas and you are looking for a reasonable, clean place to stay. If you want luxury or spacious, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoonster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great location, long walk or cheap cab ride to the Vatican or Ancient Rome.

FRIENDLY and CLEAN!!! Very important attributes in my opinion.

They can make excellent recommendations on day plans and local dinning. As a first time traveler to Rome it was nice to have their knowledge of the city. They highlighted maps and helped make reservations and suggestions for fantastic local shops and restaurants.

Staying here helped make a great trip even better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed here in late March for 4 nights. It's a very nice hotel in a great location near the Villa Borghese. It's on a quiet street with many nice restaurants in the vicinity. I stayed with a friend & we split a single & a double between us, 2 nights apiece. Thhe double is much nicer but the single is fine. Breakfast is better than the hotels I stayed at in Venice & Florence with actually omelet sections. The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They are a family & the 2 brothers will answer all your questions & even help map things out for you. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glencar11787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,259 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,259 in Rome
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#4 of 1,259 in Rome
914 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,259 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,579 - ₹ 20,510
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing