We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Family-Run Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Family-Run Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed here in late March for 4 nights. It's a very nice hotel in a great location near the Villa Borghese. It's on a quiet street with many nice restaurants in the vicinity. I stayed with a friend & we split a single & a double between us, 2 nights apiece. Thhe double is much nicer but the single is fine. Breakfast is better than the hotels I stayed at in Venice & Florence with actually omelet sections. The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They are a family & the 2 brothers will answer all your questions & even help map things out for you. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glencar11787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,823
    509
    53
    19
    6
See reviews for
759
1,063
137
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We, parents with three kids, had an excellent time at "Hotel Golden" on April 2012. The team, most of them are the family members, does all they can to make your stay perfect.
The hotel is very very well located; the rooms are big and comfortable, the breakfast is very good, and the overall experience is fantastic.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsraelAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The hotel is run by the most friendly family you can imagine. They are helpful and caring in everthing they do and always have smiles on their faces. We left happy as never before and felt like friends to these lovely people.

The location of the hotel is in my opinion perfect; it's situated close (walking distance) to some of the major sights (i.e. Fontana di Trevi and the Spanish steps) and yet in a quiet and cosy neigbourhood. Rome is a rather busy and noisy city at all hours, but thanks to the great location of the hotel we slept like royalties. The beds were firm and comfortable, which also contributed to good night sleep. You find public transportation really closeby and we can really recommend bus line 80 from Via Boncompagni, which takes you directly into the middle of the city centre (i.e. Via del Corso and Piazza Venezia) in a couple of minutes.

We stayed att a superior double room and were more than satisfied. It was clean, spacious enough and had air conditioning. The bathroom was big and fresh with shower cabin. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was delicious with omelette, bacon, sausages, bread, cheese, yoghurt and lovely croissants with chocolate. Great coffe and warm milk as well! The reception has 24 hour service and there are security boxes for safe keeping in the rooms.

When we visit Rome next time we will stay at this top of the line hotel again for sure! Big thanks to everyone at Hotel Golden for making our stay better than we could ever imagine!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andn_gbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here and could not have been more pleased. The location is just one block off of Via Veneto where there are many upscale hotels and the area felt very safe. Upon check in (which we were able to do early!), Giuseppe provided us with plenty of incredibly helpful information about the local area, sights, and good restaurants. We had a small double which was definitely cozy but no more than expected. It was very nice, clean, and felt homey. I'm not a huge fan of beds in Europe as I prefer softer mattresses but this one was as good as any. We only heard other guests when they were in the hallway so no problem there. Everyone in the family was very welcoming and eating breakfast was like being at your nonna's house. We will definitely return on our next trip to Rome! Thank you!

Room Tip: We were room 107. If you packed heavy and need room to spread out, this may not be the best for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My family of 6 people stayed at the Hotel Golden in the family suite for 4 nights last week. The suite was perfect for us. It is located 1 floor above the main area of the hotel and had 2 huge bedrooms, 1 bathroom, and common area. The staff is very helpful and attentive and made great suggestions for our stay in Rome. When my daughter lost her cell phone on a tour bus, they were happy to help call the company several times and ended up locating the phone! The hotel itself is located 1 minute from Via Veneto and the entrance to Villa Borghese, and about 10 minutes to Trevi Fountain/Spanish Steps. The restaurant San Marco and coffee shop Lotti, around the corner were both excellent recommendations. Thanks Hotel Golden for a great stay!!

Room Tip: The Family Suite is very large and good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiGiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#16 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#12 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#24 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Relais 6
#35 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
#113 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,972 - ₹ 12,669
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ostrovok so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing