We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Discover Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discover Roma
Ranked #1,030 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Kuwait
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Spent 5 nights at Discover Roma and really enjoyed it. It is a budget hotel and therefore the rooms are plain and simple but, offer you everything you need. While in Rome you tend to do lots of walking so all you really need is a bed and a clean room and bathroom which is what I found here. The host was very helpful. You are given your own key as no one mans the front desk, so you come and go as you please. It is away from all the tourist sites so is relatively quiet. The tourist sites are all within walking distance and the main train station is about a ten minute walk away. Paid 90 euros for a double room and after searching many sites, it was one of the cheapest places to stay. I would recommend anyone on a budget to stay here.

  • Liked — Convenience and price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeliaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    10
    10
    0
See reviews for
4
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2008

Be sure to have cash so you can avoid the credit card situation. It's never going to be fixed.

We paid extra for the A/C but it never worked. I had really bad allergies. Make sure if you suffer from the same to carry your anti histamine.

It was ok overall. The breakfast consists to pre-packaged Croissants and Tang and cookies. The Cappucinno is really good. Don't waste your time with the coffee.

It is really close to the Termini. So just take a cab to the place. It's a pain dragging suitcases all the way there. It was only about 7-8 Euro's.

The staff helped us heat a cup of milk for my daughter. The room is eqipped with a Fridge. There is a grocery store minutes away.

All in all it was a nice place. But next time we would like to stay in the middle of Roma rather then closer to the station.

  • Liked — Close to the station
  • Disliked — My allergies were the really bad
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank salsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

Enjoyed our overall stay at Discover Roma, ditto to the previous review. We actually stayed in two rooms during our stay: a room facing the street, which was roomier but noisier and another one facing the patios of other building apartments, which was fun to hear locals doing their common things, eating dinner, etc.. yet extremely quiet at night. It was a charming little place, the staff was above and beyond helpful! close to termini which in rome is so necessary due to the decentralization of sites. the breakfast lattes were awesome, the bread and cookies are all right but for $90 euros that's more than enough for me!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank brenduna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

We loved some parts of Discover Roma. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was about a ten minute walk to the metro, but in a mixed tourist/residential neighbourhood which we appreciated. There was an outdoor street market a few steps from the hotel and we loved walking through that.

The room was large and had two large windows which faced the street, it was the largest that we stayed at in Europe. It was simply, but nice.

We did not like the breakfast in the morning which was cookies or pre-packaged toast biscuits. We would prefer that they not advertise themselves as a bed and breakfast if they are not going to provide a real breakfast.

For the price, we liked the accommodation. The bathroom was small, but not a problem. We also liked the large wooden door and ancient lift.

It is a walk to all of the sights (it becomes harder the longer you stay in Rome walking around each day!). There were plently of restaurants close by.

The noise from the streets was a bit loud on some nights. Overall we would consider staying here again, if traveling on a budget. If we had a bit more of a hotel budget, we would stay at a place that was closer to the sights and provided more of a real breakfast. Overall though, we were not disappointed with our stay.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — inadequate breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VCRtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2007

We stayed at Discover Roma for two nights. We had a room facing the street. The room was large and clean. The towels were clean, but very thin. Did not enjoy the breakfast, consisted of bread and coffee.
The front desk was friendly and helpful. We paid 250E for two nights (Cash). The walk to the Republica metro was not that close. Not a problem when you're walking to it in the morning, but after a long day of walking, it feels far walking back. Last time I stayed by the Spanish Steps and if I had to do it again, I'd pay more to be right in the middle of everything.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of room and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast and towels
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theallens04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,320 of 3,622 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#400 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#288 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discover Roma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discover Roma

Property: Discover Roma
Address: Via Castelfidardo 50, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,030 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,202 - ₹ 6,141
Hotel Class:2 star — Discover Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Discover Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discover Roma Rome
Discover Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing