We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly Welcome to Rome”
Review of Hotel Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Serena
Ranked #377 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Coronado, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A friendly Welcome to Rome”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We found Hotel Serena to be an excellent value for our money on our quick overnight to Rome. The hotel is located just next to the train station and is an easy walk to the colliseum. Cab fare to the Vatican was around 12 Euros. The hotel was clean and secure.
Marcos at the front desk provided superior customer service...stored our bags...called, taxis...and made good dining recommendations. He made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoronadoIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    397
    145
    32
    38
See reviews for
144
333
90
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The staff were fantastic, friendly & very helpful. Great restaurants nearby. Near Roma Termini. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaConner, WA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Hotel Serena exceeded our expectations on our recent trip to Europe. We were looking for an inexpensive option that would be convenient to Termini Station for two nights that we were in Rome prior to boarding a cruise ship. We found the staff very friendly and accommodating--and spoke excellent English. Our room was very clean and comfortable--and a nice breakfast was included in the price. We LOVED the quaint little elevator--it was adequate for two people and their luggage and was certainly preferable to hiking the stairs! After all, we were looking for an "authentic" Italian hotel, and Hotel Serena was exactly that. Rome was quite warm while we were there, but the air conditioning kept our room at a comfortable temperature--and it wasn't unusually noisy. We actually loved the location--lots of inexpensive restaurants nearby and was a very quick walk to Termini Station. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we have the opportunity to return to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathyw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I was with daughter and son-in-law and we had 2 rooms. We were there for the city and not the hotel. As everyone says, it is close to the Termini so that we arrived and checked in quickly and were touring within half an hour of getting off the train. We walked everywhere except for the subway a couple of times. Hopping the train to Pompeii (or wherever) was quick. Late for departure. No problem. It was two blocks to the station. We saw NO seedy characters and walked the neighborhood in ease. I actually thought it was a nice area.

The hotel was nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. We checked our bags the last day so that we could do some things before departing the city. My room was the smallest of our trip, but was plenty big enough for 1 guy. The weather was nice, so cannot speak to the AC. The window opened to a small area between other parts of the hotel and I could see daughter's window across the way. So there was no view. But we were there only at night and for sleeping.

The breakfast was quite good with pastries and cheeses and the usual fare. The price was very affordable compared to other places in Rome. If you did not want to wait for the elevator, you just take the stairs which circle it. I actually used some frequent flier miles to pay for most of my four nights. (I have found that they are not good to me for very much else.)

So we recommend the Serena if your travel plans are like ours were.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoylefromJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The location is very strategic, near the Termini station. You can basically go anywhere in Rome from this place. The room are clean and spacious. The staffs are very friendly and can provide you with any information you need. Internet wifi is free and the speed is ok. Main problem is that the elevetor is very small (max 3 person) and with big suitcase is quite troublesome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salomogaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#315 of 1,261 in Rome
834 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#174 of 1,261 in Rome
406 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#291 of 1,261 in Rome
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#244 of 1,261 in Rome
1,157 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#271 of 1,261 in Rome
272 reviews
Esquilino
Marcantonio Hotel
Marcantonio Hotel
#317 of 1,261 in Rome
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serena

Property: Hotel Serena
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 64, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,884 - ₹ 16,002
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing