We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved every minute of our stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3,704 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved every minute of our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We chose Rosa Maria Chirico's B&B based on the wonderful reviews and the location close to Vatican City. From the first email correspondence to our shuttle to the airport, Rosa Maria was a dream. She took such good care of us, from recommendations for transportation to marvelous breakfasts delivered to our room. The room was comfortable, spotless and the internet was free and fast. As close as you can get to Vatican City, with restaurants, shops and a grocery store within a few blocks. Thank you so much Rosa Maria, and we hope to stay with you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DadimaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor. It is good to note that you found Al Colonnato di San Pietro B&B an excellent place to stay.
I am glad that you had a comfortable holiday and I look forward to welcoming you back.
All the best,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
93
322
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Rosa Maria went above and beyond our expectations prior to/during our ten day stay over Easter week in Rome. The rooms/bathrooms were immaculately clean and she was so accommodating to us traveling with a one year old. She arranged for transportation with a car seat and had the most adorable baby cot set up in our room upon arrival. It was nice not to have to bring a bulky baby bed and car seat from home. As other reviewers have noted the breakfast was always on time, fresh, and delicious.

We needed to personally collect our tickets for the Palm Sunday mass at St. Peters but weren't scheduled to arrive in time, so Rosa Maria graciously offered to pick them up for us. A great example of her willingness to help her guests!

There are nice cafes, restaurants, and local shops near by as well as a laundromat where you can drop clothes off for same day service. We would highly recommend staying at Al Colonnato di San Pietro whether traveling alone or with family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Al Colonnato di San Pietro and for taking the time to share your experience with other trip advisor members.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and our services. If someone is in need of a helping hand we are always glad to assist.
Best regards,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This review is long long long overdue, as my wife and I visited The Sun Space (one of 2 apartments that Rosa Maria owns/manages) nearly a year ago in 2011 for our honeymoon. We enjoyed Italy so much and told so many stories when we came home to Singapore that my parents are now planning a trip there. And where else to stay but with Rosa Maria's apartments! They are booked in with her, and I look forward to hearing their comments!

The Sun Space exceeded our expectations. It is a very comfortable, very clean, very well appointed and homely room. It is HUGE, and not just by Italian standards. 35sqm with a 12-15ft long balcony and a large and very modern bathroom The tourist photos on tripadvisor are not an accurate reflection of the apartment as we found that it was difficult to take accurate photos of the apartment (lighting and size). But really, it apartment was wonderful, and the kitchen-in-a-cupboard was more than adequate. Rosa Maria stocks a HUGE amount of continental breakfast items (cornflakes, biscuits, buns, spreads, coffee, tea) in the apartment that you are free to use. When we were there, we even had a large pineapple along with other fruits.

Location is good. There's a well stocked supermarket down the street (10min easy walk) in the event that you want to put the apartment's kitchen-in-a-cupboard to use (we did). It's the same easy walk to the nearest bus stop where you can catch frequent (10-15min) buses to the city centre or colosseum etc (a sightseeing 15min ride). Train station is also around the corner and so is Vatican City which is well lit and lovely to walk around at night.

Rosa Maria is great! She is a strong charactered Italian lady, very very genuine and Very very very helpful. You are well advised to take notes during her very well organized opening briefing when she first meets you in the apartment (haha). She is a wealth of knowledge and all her advice was spot-on. From your length of stay, she will tell you WHICH places to go and which places to not waste you time at (regardless of what the guidebooks tell you), HOW to make the more efficient use of your time traveling from place to place AND the cheapest ways (ROMA PASS!) to see all the places. We kept the map she gave us with her handwritten scribblings of bus numbers and order of sight-seeing in my back pocket the whole time we were in Rome. She also helped to arrange free parking (which she explained can be difficult sometimes), and even gave us a lift to and from the car rental place to return our car!

Stay at The Sun Space or The Moon Space for 2 equally important reasons - The apartments & Rosa Maria.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your nice words and review.
We always strive to provide excellent service for our guests, and we will do everything to make your stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
Warmest regards,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

First of all, I should say that we have stayed in many hotels, B&Bs, and apartments during our travels. We have always done our homework in advance and therefore chosen our lodging wisely. Our 10-day visit to Rome was no different. Hours of researching the area, studying reviews, even making some serendipitous search mistakes, and losing a prior reservation with a different B&B led us to Rosa Maria’s Il Colonato di San Pietro. We could not have been more fortunate.

For starters, she offered to book airport transportation if we wished. The price was good and convenience was certainly welcome. For just 40 Euro we were picked up at the airport by a nice young man in a sharp suit and an even sharper black Mercedes-Benz. Rosa Maria was there to receive us when we arrived with the driver. She welcomed us like family.

Rosa Marian helped us take our luggage in (there was an elevator). Even though we were visiting on Easter weekend she offered us plenty of her time and even lent us a phone to call her in case of emergencies (we had only our US GSM phones and calls were expensive). Rosa Maria helped us plan our trip, not in a pushy way, just to whatever level of suggestions we wanted. Ultimately her recommendations shaped much of our trip, saved us time (like using the San Pietro train station to get to Pisa), and gave our 5-year-old some great memories (San Pietro's cupola, Castel di San Angelo).

The room exceeded our expectations. The ceiling was high (something I always noticed), the furnishings were all solid wood, the TV had satellite reception, the breakfast nook was stocked with wonderful foods and a beautiful pile of fresh fruits (she even left us a "Colomba" traditional cake for Easter, which was a wonderful introduction). As we ate things they were always restocked. Rosa Maria also made sure that our son always had juice. The kitchenette was very useful and having the fridge was awesome. The bathroom was immaculate (and believe me my wife scrutinizes bathrooms). We were lent a plug adapter to use during our stay which was helpful since we only had one. The microwave/grilling oven was useful and easy to operate. The wardrobe was very nice and we had enough space for clothes for 2 adults and a child. The bed was quite firm, but we like it like this. The pillows were plenty. The shutters on the windows were EXCELLENT at darkening the room for late sleepers. The room was very clean.

Rosa Maria checked in with us every couple days. She made sure that the room was cleaned; checking if it was OK to send someone to clean it instead of barging in on our privacy. She offered advice and help. I ran into her once at the nearby Carrefour supermarket (which was VERY convenient, by the way) and she greeted me like an old family friend. She even gave our son an Easter gift she had selected and again offered to provide any sightseeing or travel advice. I don't want to set expectations too high, but I feel I should give credit to Rosa Maria for all that she did for us. She even took me in her car to two different supermarkets in search of some wonderful canned San Marzano Tomatoes to take home (we bought 2 dozen cans). In fact, on her own time she even found us some San Marzano Tomato seeds to take home (tip: don't declare seeds to US customs, mail them home). She even arranged for my wife to learn about Pizza making with the owner of a local very nice restaurant.

In summary, I can tell you that we loved our stay here. We made day trips to Pisa, Florence, and Naples, and it always felt like coming home when we returned to our big room. We were so comfortable there that it was hard to get out in the mornings. Rosa Maria was always just a call or an email away and ready to do whatever was needed to make our stay more comfortable. She was genuinely friendly and concerned for our well-being. This concern showed in the wonderful apartment, the cleanliness of everything, the breakfast, the offers to help, and the regular checkpoints to discover if everything was to our satisfaction (which it was). If we ever return to Rome we will stay in one of Rosa Maria's wonderful rooms. If anyone we know ever visits Rome we will obligate them to do the same, because we know they will be treated wonderfully and have a very comfortable stay in a wonderful and very convenient area of Rome.

Room Tip: Ask about the Sun and Moon apartments, slightly larger rooms great for small families/groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaveOnlyF00tprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for writing your review. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Al Colonnato di San Pietro. I really love to hear what guests have to say about and of course about their over all experience. It is wonderful that we could give you a chance to enjoy yopur stay in Rome.
All the best,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I just got back from our trip to Italy. We stayed at Al Colonnato di San Pietro for four nights. The bed was comfortable, the place spotless and the breakfast! Every morning, at exactly the time we told Rosa Maria we would like breakfast, she was ready with the tray! The food was well organized and very well presented, she even noted which items we enjoyed and made sure to have them on the tray the next morning. We started our day very happy and content. Rosa Maria gave us suggestions of places to visit, showed us where they were on the map, and even told us exactly which bus to take there and to return back to the B&B. Rosa Maria was exactly the kind of proprietor you need when you are on a trip so far from home, she made us feel so welcome and cared for! This was a place that I booked just based on the rave reviews I read and I am so happy I did! Thank you so much for everything Rosa Maria, including the breakfast you set up for us the morning we left! We feel that the experience we had at your B&B, made our trip to Rome that much better and stress free! Mary and Chris

Room Tip: We had the red room which looked out onto the Aurelian walls, very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momof4camas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Mary and Chris,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It was such a pleasure to have you as guests at Al Colonnato di San Pietro and I am very happy that you had such an enjoyable time in Rome.
Thanks,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,245 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#4 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#6 of 3,704 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#2 of 3,704 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Prati
Rome Armony Suites
Rome Armony Suites
#8 of 3,704 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast

Property: Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast
Address: Viale delle Mura Aurelie 19, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3,704 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,918 - ₹ 9,913
Hotel Class:2 star — Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B is located 100 metres away from Saint Peter's Cathedral.The flat which has been recently refurbished was designed by an excellent architect. The windows equipped with air gap glassess, the solid wooden furniture, the beds equipped with wired bed frames and orthopaedic mattresses, the anallergic fabrics, the safe, the minibar and the foldway tables, they make the really comforting B&B. Our rooms are no-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ostrovok and HostelWorld so you can book your Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Colonnato Di San Pietro Hotel Rome
Al Colonnato Di San Pietro b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing