We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location - amazing balcony”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Ioa1980
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location - amazing balcony”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just got back from a few night in Rome at this place and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else again.
If you have read the reviews of this place before going, then you can be assured that it is exactly what they say.
Choosing any room requires foresight as to what you will be planning on doing whilst at Rome. If you are planning on going out first thing in the morning and coming back late at night to sleep - then this room will do, but you'd probably may as well get a room only hotel.
However, if you want a place to retreat during the day or night and have a siesta or want to sit and watch Rome go by with spectacular views then choose this place. I read someone recommend that you can get to the top of the Piazza Venezia and admire the view of Rome above the rooftops...well this is what we had while sitting out having a glass of wine all the time.
The room; yes, it is small...although it was bigger than I expected from the reviews. More than enough room for two people to sleep, change, wash and prepare food (if you wanted). The bed is comfy. The toilet is small, but it's enough for you to use the shower as well. The shower, due to its design, does leak into the tiled floor of the room, but a small towel outside the door prevents any water moving anywhere (again we expected this from reading previous reviews). The kitchenette is small, but perfect for what we needed - use of the fridge to chill our wine and beer and to keep some snacks cool. The hot water is almost instant and absolutely steaming hot, the cold water is freezing - perfect. WiFi worked perfectly and no connection issues. Air conditioning worked, but not super cold, however, if you keep the door closed, the room cools down to a welcoming coolness after a morning in the heat. There were some shower gels etc left by previous occupants which we used the first night which was handy. There are basic utensils as well and some plastic bags for rubbish. You are expected to take your rubbish downstairs to recycling bins - which are clean.
The outside; MASSIVE balcony area, half covered and half uncovered. All tiled and smooth. There are some brushes round the corner if you want to sweep anything you drop on the floor. There is an outside tap and sink - where I rinsed some clothes. The plant pots are watered on a timer, so no need to feel you have to wash then (get watered about midnight). The added bonus of a second balcony was excellent, not only for a better view, but as a sunbathing spot. Both balconies were enclosed and private enough.
The building; on top of a 5 storey building - it is as you'd expect to walk up to the room. There is a lift available, which works just perfectly. Just make sure you close the doors after use, so others can use it as well. The steps to the room aren't steep. The downstairs front door is massive. The block itself is secure, as you need to get through the huge front doors, and then you have a double set of lockable doors to your balcony, and another lockable door to the room! We only locked the room and one of the double doors to the balcony.
The area; it is perfectly situated to walk to any of the attractions of Rome. The closest is the Pantheon which was minutes away. The furthest was the Vatican which was 40mins walk. We took a taxi there (10mins, €12). Brilliant ice cream at the front door. Pharmacy next to the building and a supermarket about 5 mins walk away towards the Piazza Venezia. In our experience, we were only a 2 min walk away from the best food we found in Rome...Rossopomodoro, on the Torre Argentina.
The service; Giorgio was excellent, swift to reply and a great help with advice to get us there. There was somebody waiting to greet us when we arrived at the time he said. Also, he organised a taxi service to take us to the airport at a very reasonable price - again exactly when he said it would be there.
All in all a fantastic venue that if I go back to Rome I will be booking. I have already raved about it to friends who have seen the pictures of it and already said they'd be looking at going there should they visit Rome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and location
Liked least: Rubbish left by previous occupant. Cleaner missed it but only a minor inconvenience.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thv3
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Apartment in Rome”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner stayed here in April for 5 days. Giorgio was very helpful in advance, and met us at the front door when we arrived.
The apartment building is beautiful, and the actual apartment is small and cosy, with all basic amenities including wifi, air con, kettle etc.
Now for the 2 terraces, because thats what we really enjoyed and make this apartment! They are both fantastic, with wonderful views over the cityscape of Rome. The higher one offers 360 degree views, and the lower one also has great views and is a real sun trap. Both meant after hectic days, we could withdraw to the peace and quite of our rooftop apartment to relax.
The location of the apartment is perfect for most sightseeing, being so central we walked everywhere. It's so close to everywhere, we visited some places twice, during the day and again in the evenings.
Overall we would definitely not go anywhere else the next time we go to Rome, it really was the perfect apartment for us :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terraces were fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZumaDawg
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
914 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“"On top of the World" rooftop apartment with balcony”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this location for five days and were in heaven each and every day. This apartment is on the roof with not one but two balconies! The room itself is quite small, with a queen bed, small kitchen and even smaller bathroom. The shower is in the middle of the bathroom and covers the toilet and sink! The balcony is the key though, high above the city looking out over the rooftops, church towers and all. The location is within walking distance of everything from the Coliseum, to the Vatican, to the Pantheon, to Trastevere. This is a 5-star property because of location, ambiance and the rooftop balconies. The room itself is not 5-star, not close, but it is clean and comfortable. I would have no problem booking this property again in the future. This is a studio, good for one person, or two very close people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rooftop apartment with balcony
Liked least: Small bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndraNort...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

You really can't get a much better location in Rome than this! Torre Argentina is a transit hub, just a few minutes walk to Piazza Navona and the Pantheon, about 15-20 minutes walk to the Forum and Coliseum, and right across the river from Trastevere. Being on the rooftop means that the street noise is minimized, and the studio is a quiet place to sleep. (The elevator is tiny and very old - just barely big enough for two people and two suitcases, and you have to walk up the stairs of the last storey)
The terrace is glorious - truly an amazing circular view of the heart of Rome. It was lovely being able to have our dinners and a glass of wine outside. There are two grocery stores within a block, and the fabulous Campo dei Fiori vegetable market in the mornings just up the street.

I would love to give this 5 stars, but there were definitely some deficiencies to the place. It felt like the owner doesn't check on the place in person very often - we were met by an assistant who took our money and gave us the keys, and I gather a cleaning service is used after stays. Giorgio was prompt in answering text inquiries, but it did seem a bit impersonal that we never met him.
When I texted him a list of deficiencies, he stated that he was aware that the toilet did not flush properly (mostly has a hard time handling toilet paper, but there were times when solids were left behind no matter how long we flushed), but was not aware of the other things I mentioned - the smaller burner on the two burner cook top only put out a minimal flame (which made cooking a challenge - one of the reasons we booked this location was the ability to cook), four of the five lightbulbs on the outdoor chandelier were burnt out, the deck chairs have cracks on the seat that can give you a nasty pinch, and the kitchen supplies were in need of review. We bought a bottle of olive oil because there was none, and disposed of empty oil, vinegar, salt, and pepper containers - you'd have thought the cleaning person would check to make sure the kitchen was clean and stocked. It appeared that the last tenants before us had stayed about two weeks previous as there was a bottle of milk in the fridge that had an expiry date of two weeks before we arrived, along with a bunch of other food, some of which was good, some of which needed to be thrown out.
The shower IS the bathroom (boat style), and the water floods outside of the bathroom door so it's useful to put a towel down outside the door when showering.
The wifi worked really well until the second to last evening of our stay, when it cut out because of an issue with the bill payment. Giorgio said he took care of it, but it didn't work for the remainder of our stay.
He did say that he would check the deficiencies out, so hopefully they are fixed now.
One additional note: whilst the the bed is the softest we slept on in Italy, it is quite small - about a double/queen at most - and it sags in the middle, meaning a couple ends up trying not to roll into each other in the night.
Apart from the gazebo on the lower deck, there are closed sun umbrellas on both the lower and upper decks, but they seemed to be permanently taped closed. We would have spent more time on the upper deck if there had been shade and chairs up there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
I would like to thanks Andra for her review, in fact august is a very busy month with check ins and check outs, so we don't have to much time to verify the studio. We get aware of inconveniences only by the guests.
So I've checked all the problems identified by Andra and find out - for example - that the four lightbulbs were only unscrewed and not burned out. Anyway I want to thanks once more all the guests that give suggestions about our little studio and we are committed to improve the quality of our service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hps123
ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This studio is a gem”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This tiny studio is a real gem. Yes, it's just big enough for a couple; the bathroom is the size of a powder room with a wall-mounted hand shower; the kitchen corner is suitable for preparing only simple meals; BUT THE TERRACE: three times the size of the apartment; an outdoor table protected by an awning; lights for alfresco dining after dark; colourful flower boxes and a view over half of Rome! You can peer over the edge (7th floor by North American count with elevator to the 6th) to see the ruins in Largo Argentina, where Julius Caesar was assassinated. From the second, smaller terrace up a short flight of stairs you can admire sunsets over the Roman skyline. Both terraces are your own private domain.The location is excellent for public transit (you can hear the tram for Trastevere passing in the street below, but I did not find it disturbing); there is a supermarket a block and a half away; the apartment has WIFI; the owner is friendly and quick to respond to requests and queries. When coming in from the street, be sure to take in the ceiling fresco in the entrance hall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The terraces
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing