We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance in Rome, Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B
Ranked #494 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2015

What a lovely B&B. A home away from home.
Martha and her husband were excellent hosts.
The accommodation was excellent, the rooms are fashionably decorated and provided a very peaceful and warm atmosphere.
Martha set out a scrumptious breakfast every morning along with the perfect music that created the perfect ambiance for the beautiful romantic city.
The B&B is perfectly situated, close to The Vatican and within walking distance to the train stations that get you to where ever you want to go. There are numerous restaurants and gelato shops situated around the B&B.
I would definitely use Residenza Scipioni as my preferred place of stay on my next visit to Rome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, however if you book the room with a private balcony, that's the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IreneThomas1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2015

Six of us stayed in three rooms in September. Arranging for the rooms was outstanding with great service. Arriving to a charming building, we were checked in quickly. The rooms were clean, but small. The staff (usually one person) was pleasant, helpful and the morning breakfast was OK. The six of us are resourceful and really didn't need anything from the staff, which is good since the staff was only available certain hours. Sound does travel from the halls and rooms so it was good we knew each other. But, the bed was comfortable and we slept well. The best about the B&B is the location, the elevator, it is safe, and the price is reasonable for a large city. It is very near the Vatican, and walking distance to many key sights and shopping in Rome. It was easy to take off to the various parts of the city, and if we got tired, easy to return in a taxi, but most of the time we walked--which was great. There are many small cafes near the hotel for late night drinks, etc. Also, there is shopping nearby, from small boutiques to nice grocery shopping for wine and snacks. We were very glad the elevator worked while we were there. It would be a climb with luggage if it didn't work. Our stay was fine, but I'm not sure I would stay here again. I rated it average because it was a good place to drop off bags and get out and see Rome, the building was charming, but overall I found the B&B rather sterile. Not a place to linger.

Room Tip: We were in the superior rooms, which were OK. One had a nice view of the Vatican. There was one hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCAWASHDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

This is an excellent B&B. It is set in a renovated old traditional building. The rooms were very clean and well modernly decorated with the good Italian taste. We had a room with a view to St. Peter's Basilica, simply fantastic! Very friendly and helpful service! Definitely recommend it!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank pdrtrncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We spent 2 weeks in Italy during the beginning of October and this was our only bad hotel. The main issue was the complete lack of personnel. If you simply want a room in a good neighborhood then you will be fine. We were checked in by a young lady who greeted us by saying she spoke very little English. She basically checked us in and told us there would be someone there in the morning then was gone before we could even put our bags away. We had no idea where anything was in the area and had to wander around trying to find even a place to eat the first night and this was the way every night. There is no one at the residence so if you need help with directions or restaurants or get locked out there is absolutely not a sole around. We only saw one person one morning during our five day stay. This was even more frustrating as it was our 25th anniversary and I had emailed no less than three times before our arrival asking for assistance with dinner for that night. Not only did no one mention our anniversary but that evening we got back around 3:30 and no one was there, we had no reservation, and ended trying to find our way in the rain for a restaurant. I wasn't looking for 4 star and understand that it is not like hotels in the US but this establishment is no more than a room for rent.
The room is very small which would have been fine except the bed was terrible. We expected hard beds and we had some others during our stay but none as uncomfortable as the bed and pillows there. The shower had old soap in the dish on our arrival and you get no shampoo or conditioner so bring your own. The room is also fairly noisy as the dumpsters are below and in Rome they empty trash and recycling at all hours of the night. I had asked 6 mo before our arrival for a quiet room. Again no one there to try and change rooms
There is one plus and that is that the neighborhood is lovely. There is a wonderful bakery just down the block and several decent restaurants within 4-5 blocks. It was an easy 5-8 min walk from the train station. The Vatican is an easy 15 min walk. Even though you are not in central Rome the transit system is very easy to use and we had no trouble getting around. If you don't mind being away from the other tourist sites I suggest staying in this area but just not this B&B. Last get good directions as this is a residential building and the only sign is next to the door listed with all the other tenants. We walked past several times before finding.

Room Tip: One of the end of the hallway rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

I stayed here mid October and had a very pleasant stay. We had an email before arrival to confirm out check in time and one when we left thanking us for staying there.
The young girl on reception was very helpful, drew us little maps and wrote out directions.
Breakfast was a basic continental but satisfied us enough for to try lunch and dinner in some amazing places nearby.
The view was amazing and location was quiet.

Thank you
Mrs & Mrs Norton

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
#129 of 1,269 in Rome
480 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#42 of 1,269 in Rome
759 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#56 of 1,269 in Rome
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,376 reviews
Prati
Gravina Rooms San Pietro
Gravina Rooms San Pietro
#337 of 3,721 in Rome
125 reviews
Prati
B&B Best Vatican
B&B Best Vatican
#648 of 3,721 in Rome
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B

Address: Via Degli Scipioni 153, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #494 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 7,747 - ₹ 11,429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B is located on the top floor of an historic building inside the elegant Prati district of Rome, a few steps from the Basilica of St. Pietro, the Vatican Museums and Castel St. Angelo. All rooms are elegantly furnished and have a beautiful view of the dome of St. Pietro and the rooftops of the Eternal City.All rooms are equipped with bathroom with shower, hairdryer, TV LED 22, 32 or 42 inches, Sky channel, Wireless Internet, heating, independent air conditioning, safe and minibar.Metro: Line A, at Ottaviano - S. Pietro stop (200 m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing