We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anything but luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B
Ranked #486 of 3,767 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We spent 2 weeks in Italy during the beginning of October and this was our only bad hotel. The main issue was the complete lack of personnel. If you simply want a room in a good neighborhood then you will be fine. We were checked in by a young lady who greeted us by saying she spoke very little English. She basically checked us in and told us there would be someone there in the morning then was gone before we could even put our bags away. We had no idea where anything was in the area and had to wander around trying to find even a place to eat the first night and this was the way every night. There is no one at the residence so if you need help with directions or restaurants or get locked out there is absolutely not a sole around. We only saw one person one morning during our five day stay. This was even more frustrating as it was our 25th anniversary and I had emailed no less than three times before our arrival asking for assistance with dinner for that night. Not only did no one mention our anniversary but that evening we got back around 3:30 and no one was there, we had no reservation, and ended trying to find our way in the rain for a restaurant. I wasn't looking for 4 star and understand that it is not like hotels in the US but this establishment is no more than a room for rent.
The room is very small which would have been fine except the bed was terrible. We expected hard beds and we had some others during our stay but none as uncomfortable as the bed and pillows there. The shower had old soap in the dish on our arrival and you get no shampoo or conditioner so bring your own. The room is also fairly noisy as the dumpsters are below and in Rome they empty trash and recycling at all hours of the night. I had asked 6 mo before our arrival for a quiet room. Again no one there to try and change rooms
There is one plus and that is that the neighborhood is lovely. There is a wonderful bakery just down the block and several decent restaurants within 4-5 blocks. It was an easy 5-8 min walk from the train station. The Vatican is an easy 15 min walk. Even though you are not in central Rome the transit system is very easy to use and we had no trouble getting around. If you don't mind being away from the other tourist sites I suggest staying in this area but just not this B&B. Last get good directions as this is a residential building and the only sign is next to the door listed with all the other tenants. We walked past several times before finding.

Room Tip: One of the end of the hallway rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2014

I stayed here mid October and had a very pleasant stay. We had an email before arrival to confirm out check in time and one when we left thanking us for staying there.
The young girl on reception was very helpful, drew us little maps and wrote out directions.
Breakfast was a basic continental but satisfied us enough for to try lunch and dinner in some amazing places nearby.
The view was amazing and location was quiet.

Thank you
Mrs & Mrs Norton

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014

While it is true that place has been sold (I e-mailed Marta for over a year before we finally made it to Rome!) - the hotel is still very charming! Federica greeted us upon our arrival and had a welcoming cup of cappuccino and plate of cookies for us. We loved the elevator - and having three keys (one to the building, one to the Residenza and one for our room) was just plain fun! There is no wake up call available (we had tours booked for every day we were in Rome.) We learned how to set the alarm on our cell phone! There is no one there from 4:00 pm until 7:00 am. This was not a problem at all. Federica gave us great tips for nearby restaurants and how to get to the Metro (which really is just around the corner). The room was clean and very quiet. Nice to look out the window and see the dome of St. Peter's. Just a lovely place.

Room Tip: We were never there for breakfast (tours started too early!) - but there was always fresh fruit avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning of October 2014. The B&B is very close to the Vatican, slightly further to some of the main sights in Rome - however, there is a metro station nearby that we used without any difficulty, or a pleasant 20 minute walk, crossing over the Tiber, will take you into the centre. There are shops and restaurants nearby (La Griglietta on Via Germanico and the bread shop on the corner of Scipioni and Via Fabio Massimo were particularly good), and we felt fine walking around the neighbourhood at night.

The room we were in was comfortable and clean, with a view of the dome of the Basilica. There was no noise from neighbours. Breakfast was fine. We mainly saw Federica, who was very helpful in arranging a pick up from the airport, suggesting restaurants etc. Thanks also to her two colleagues for looking after us when we arrived and at breakfast. No problems finding our way there, or getting in, and there was someone waiting to meet us.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay near the Vatican, or would just prefer to base yourself somewhere a bit quieter and less touristy, I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Richard_and_Harleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014

First the good: terrific location in a quiet non-touristy area. Charming building..classy old apartment. Great inexpensive restaurants nearby. The bad: horrible mattress,cheap bedding and towels(these were 10% of 400 count cotton), NOBODY ever greeted us!! We still don't know who the owners are!! POOR service..we won't be back to this B&B but will definetly stay in the Prati district again.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gb8773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,029 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#469 of 1,273 in Rome
301 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,273 in Rome
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#229 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#73 of 1,273 in Rome
1,456 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B

Address: Via Degli Scipioni 153, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #486 of 3,767 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 6,794 - ₹ 11,870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B is located on the top floor of an historic building inside the elegant Prati district of Rome, a few steps from the Basilica of St. Pietro, the Vatican Museums and Castel St. Angelo. All rooms are elegantly furnished and have a beautiful view of the dome of St. Pietro and the rooftops of the Eternal City.All rooms are equipped with bathroom with shower, hairdryer, TV LED 22, 32 or 42 inches, Sky channel, Wireless Internet, heating, independent air conditioning, safe and minibar.Metro: Line A, at Ottaviano - S. Pietro stop (200 m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residenza Scipioni Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing