We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing bad to say in any way about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Independent Hotel
Ranked #36 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Starting from the very friendly check in staff and going to the great, great breakfast, and ending with roof top grappa or cocktails overlooking Rome, this hotel is, in my view, perfect. The room was spacious (for Rome), well done, and very clean. Bed was extremely comfortable as well. In terms of amenities other than room, the hotel maybe is a bit closer to 3 stars than 4 but that's ok in my book. It's right next to the main train station so it's convenient but far enough away to avoid the noise. Get one of the rooms not facing the street and it's really quiet. We spent 6 nights there with no problems. Also, since it is close to the train station, it's also near most bus lines so getting around the city is easy.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohntheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Our family of 2 adults and 3 children (age 8, 11 and 12) stayed at the 3-bedroom apartment at the Independent Suite, whose front door is 10 steps away from the Independent Hotel. The apartment was spacious, had 2 nicely decorated bathrooms with strong showers and was very clean. Complimentary drinks were offered at the roof bar which had the best view of Rome. Very close to Termini station so very convenient. Nice restaurants and convenient stores on the same street. The area felt very safe. We have no complaints. If we visit Rome again, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed here our last night in Italy, arriving from Naples on the train. This hotel's convenience to the train station is its best feature. The check-in staff was very nice, though I can't say the same for the harried breakfast staff. WiFi is good, and non-alcoholic drinks from the mini bar are free. Our room looked pretty warn, with scuff marks on the wall. The single, small elevator made it challenging to get to the 8th floor breakfast room and the lobby. Breakfast was mediocre compared to our other experiences in Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank betsy1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Had a couple days at this hotel before we flew home. On arrival we were given an upgrade of a room. Was very clean and extremely spacious. We had a balcony looking onto the back of the property. This is the only thing I would change as my husband likes to people watch and would have liked a view looking into the street. The breakfast was lovely and a good start to the day. Staff really make this hotel as they are helpful and so professional and friendly. We really enjoyed our time here. It is very central and views from the rooftop bar are stunning. Just book and go you cannot go wrong

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank catmorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I was very pleased with the hotel. The staff was great, the location was great and the hotel rooftop was great.

It was close to two metro stations.

We stayed at the suites. The suites are only a couple of doors down from the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
4,310 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,271 in Rome
955 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#100 of 1,271 in Rome
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent Hotel

Address: Via Volturno 48, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 9,618 - ₹ 21,900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Independent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything, from furniture to ambient lighting, has been specifically designed for The Independent Hotel creating an exclusive and modern hotel.The rooms and suites are equipped with large comfortable beds along with 26 cm thick hypoallergenic mattresses, to ensure proper rest after a busy day on the streets of Rome. To make your relaxation even more comfortable The Independent Hotel offers a special complimentary "Pillow menu" with a variety of options: from hypoallergenic to feather ones, from anatomic to those designed to support the neck.Each room is equipped with top quality linen, stylish bathrooms with a tub or large shower, satellite TV, Wi-Fi and wired internet connection, bar cabinet with a Nespresso coffee maker and a kettle for teas and herbal teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Independent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing