We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Star Hotel with Great Service”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #81 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Plainview, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Four Star Hotel with Great Service”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Boutique hotel located near the Forum Complex and The Trasteverde eating area of Rome. Near the Jewish Quarter and the ruins of Temple of Octavia. Photos of the area and views were quite quite accurate. Front desk was excellent. Rooms were comfortable and breakfast was more than adequate. A plus was the roof top restaurant with astounding views of the area.

Room Tip: Rooms have varying configuration so suggest deluxe room on the 02 line if you require a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    459
    110
    31
    22
See reviews for
297
1,014
31
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We found fortyseven via TripAdvisor and ended up staying for 6 nights. It is a terrific little hotel situated ideally for walking to most of the big attractions - on our first evening, we went "round the block" to see walk past most in an hour and a half or so. The staff in reception is extremely helpful, friendly and funny :)

The rooms are nicely fitted with comfortable beds and a good coffee maker. The bathroom is lovely, and the shampoos etc are better than in most places. The AC works reliably, and the electric shutters are a godsend to those that want to lie in after the sun comes up :)

The shutters also keep out some of the noise, but as the hotel is on a pretty busy road, the lower floors in particular are quite noisy. This is not a tranquil place - it's in the middle of a busy city.

The restaurant is nice but very expensive, and for a longer stay I might choose somewhere that has an option to get something cheap and simple for those days where you are too tired to go out and eat properly. Room service is available, but I did not like the idea of eating dinner at the miniscule table right next to the bed.

One thing to note is that the touchless key card used to unlock the door also is used to turn on power and AC. When you leave, you have to take the card with you - which means that the room will be hot when you return (unless you remember to close the shutters) and (for my family at least) the power to the AC outlets is cut so phones, laptops, etc do not charge.

That is annoying: You can only charge your devices while in the room, not while in the gym or in the restaurant, etc.

Finally, the free wifi is indeed free, but requires a code to be typed in at least every 24 hours, plus every time you connect. With an iPad, that is a lot of times, and we found it to be annoyingly unreliable.

So: Recommended, but probably only for a short stay. Next time I am in Rome, I am tempted to go for somewhere bigger with a couple of local restaurants and a pool, even if it's a big further out. The archeological part of Rome really is not very large so what looks like a long way on the map probably isn't!

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up to avoid some of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This place has to be the best of the best of Rome. It is a so-called "boutique" hotel and our travel concierge, Lisa Fantino http://www.wanderlustwomentravel.com set us up here for two nights and I can only say I wish I could have stayed longer.

The front desk is not what you might expect at a more staid hotel. There are just two glass desks in the lobby, populated by two PCs and some very hip folks who handle the registration.

We were checked in in a matter of moments, any and all advice was a simple question away, they call a cab for you on a computer and it take literally seconds.

Lisa told us to check out the roof top restaurant and we did. What a romantic view of Rome! And what great food and wine! Oh my, that is an evening we will long remember.

The room was modern, the shower has amazing water pressure and endless hot water and the beds were more comfortable than one could hope for.

Great place, great experience. Do NOT have a car here and you will be able to walk to the Coliseum and more.

VERY happy campers!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My experience at the Fortyseven Hotel was an exceptional one. Having no real idea of how to get around in Rome this hotel was incredibly helpful with assisting on idea to view the Eternal City. The front desk concierge was incredible lead by Marco and the rest of the staff as well, setting up personal drivers, tours, and even arranging personal breakfasts when our group had a very early flight. The view of the restaurant is also super nice as are the redone rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my wife, and enjoyed the room service!! Lasagna was lovely!! Didn't think much of the food in the terrace restaurant, and breakfast. But this didn't stop us enjoying our stay.

Staff were very friendly and helpful in telling us where to visit and eat. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,681 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#32 of 1,258 in Rome
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Property: Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,785 - ₹ 36,851
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing