We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
Review of Hotel Panda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Panda
Ranked #598 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

It's not fancy, but it's a great basic hotel. It's the second time that I stayed in this spot. It's in a great location, it's very clean, and it's affordable. The rooms aren't huge, they are clean, they have free wifi, a secure lobby, and the staff is very nice and accomodating. A great place!

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LANYC1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    196
    60
    24
    13
See reviews for
93
188
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We are at Hotel Panda now. We love it. It's safe, clean and the location is amazing. Everything is walking distance. We are with our 11 and 13 year old kids. We're from NYC and so we're used to walking. Still, we've barely used any transportation, except when it was pouring rain. We've walked from the hotel to the Colosseum, Forum, Pantheon, Vatican, Trevy Fountain, and other major sites. The hotel is quiet, as it's located in a pedestrian only area. Still, I'd read tripadvisor and asked for a room on the courtyard side just in case. We have a quad. It's quite cute, cream walls, about 14 foot ceiling with ancient wooden beams. My kids are in a bunk bed. The bath is big enough and has a sculpture in it! No bath, just shower but the water pressure and temp are ok. Wifi is great. Towels are large if not fluffy. My ny warning is that my husband came a day early and I'd reserved a single on the courtyard. He said that the little room looked out n something more like an air shaft than a courtyard. Our present quad has a small balcony (which we can't go out on) and plants, a view of the sky and the sound of birds. It's very restful. I'd definitely come back here and would recommend it to friends. They recommended a great little pizzeria nearby, non touristy in a touristy area. It's called Pizzaria Al Leoncino and it was a perfect genuine Italian place for locals.

Room Tip: There's no pool and no restaurant. Quad on courtyard #33 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharityClarity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in March 2012. It's in a great location a couple of blocks from the Spanish Steps and quite a bit cheaper than most hotels in the area, and I had stayed here happily many years ago in my backpacking days. I was a bit worried about whether it would prove to be too spartan for my tastes these days, but it was fine, though basic. The people at the front desk were friendly (and emailed us right away when we left to tell us we had left our camera in the room) and the room was clean and not too small for comfort. We were in room no. 20, which was right by the reception and looked out over the street, but we were not disturbed by noise during our stay in the least. I might opt for something nicer next time, but I don't regret staying there and I'm glad of the money we saved by doing so.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaf8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We (a couple) stayed three nights in March, 2012. We had room 29, which has an en suite bathroom with shower (not all do). The room was big enough for us-it had a single bed (made a great suitcase stand) in addition to the double, and a closet for hanging coats. My guess is that all rooms are not that large, based on other postings. There is no lift for the hotel. The reception area is on the 2nd floor (3rd to Americans), and the rooms are on the 2nd and 1st floors. It is only 2-3 blocks from Spanish Steps, and the price in mid-March was 108 Euro/night. Breakfast is not included, but there is a nearby cafe that opens at 7:00.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redshale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here in May 2011 for 3 nights. There was myself, my husband and my little girl who had just turned 1. The location of this hotel was fantastic, great for restaurants and all the sights. Also very convenient to nip back which was very hand with a baby.
Cannot say I noticed much noise, it certanly didn't keep us awake.
The room was an ok fair size but very very clean and the staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for us. They provided a cot bed for my baby which again was spotless, set it all up and provided all the bedding. Much better service than I would normally get in the uk.
Cannot rate it high enough if you want a cheap, friendly hotel in the centre of Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HNOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#298 of 1,261 in Rome
273 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#344 of 1,261 in Rome
711 reviews
Campo Marzio
iRooms Spanish Steps
iRooms Spanish Steps
#492 of 1,261 in Rome
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#152 of 1,261 in Rome
810 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#310 of 1,261 in Rome
756 reviews
Campo Marzio
Suite Condotti 29 A.C. Hotels S.r.l.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panda

Property: Hotel Panda
Address: Via della Croce 35, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Rome
#330 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,353 - ₹ 11,308
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Panda 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione PANDA is one of the most well established within the center of Rome occupying two floors in a 19-th century building only 50 metres from the Spanish Steps. Due to its enviable location, clients of Pensione PANDA are able to visit on foot all the historic attractions of Rome, moreover they can take advantage of the wide range of high-fashion boutiques, excellent restaurants, cafès and bakeries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Panda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Panda Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing