We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect three star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #125 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

For this trip to Rome we looked for a hotel that was well rated and close (sort of) to the attractions. As we love walking it was not a concern that the hotel is about 5km by foot to Vatican City (a very walkable 5km I might add).
Two couples - same style room - in the courtyard. The rooms are not extravagant but clean and suitable for a couple that is not intending on spending a great deal of time in their rooms (and you should not....you are in ROME!).
The lobby is quaint and inviting to sit and chat and visit (or wait). The breakfast selection is more than adequate offering a fairly wide selection of cereals, sliced meats, breads, buns, pastries, cold eggs and numerous beverages. HINT: if you wish to have cooked eggs, you must ask for them - we learned this during our last breakfast at the hotel.
The staff are 5* - excellent. Friendly, welcoming, helpful - perfect - I cannot offer more. The wifi worked well in the rooms and lobby but not so much in the small quaint restaurant - this actually causes others to talk to one another instead of staring at their portable media!
The only negative aspect to this hotel for a different reason is the location as the area is just outside of the walled part of the city and the best description I can offer is, as you get further away from the city centre their is an increase in graffiti - not street art - graffiti - and it is everywhere which sets for a less than comfortable stroll later in the evening night. Now, it seemed very safe and close to the train station, but there were a couple of side streets that “seemed” sketchy. Again, four of us were out and about and walking back in this neighbourhood at or after 10 pm with NO issues at all - but it is worth nothing just the same. All in all, this is a perfect 3* if not 4* boutique hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Went with 4 friends, 2 who had been to this hotel before. Stayed for seven nights bed and breakfast. Excellent position for the tram into the city and it's main attractions, the trams can be pretty packed times though. Good breakfast buffet style and the hotel has free wi-fi. Nice courtyard to relax and have a drink or three. All in all I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay while visiting. Also there are loads of superb restaurants within 15 minutes walking time.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

This is mine and my wife third visit to this hidden gem , this time we visited with three friends .Our friends share same opinion as us this is a lovely hotel from the moment you walk in and receive your complementry drink .Rooms are clean and tidy everything you need for a stay in Rome .Staff are very helpful giving advice on places to eat . The tram line is a five minute walk 3heading towards city and on to Trastevere , whilst 19 takes you to the Vatican .The area around is a student area , so many good restaurants and well priced .The breakfast at hotel sets you up nicely for day .I would recommend this hotel to others visiting Rome I have stayed in others and this is the best .I will return to this hotel .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank georgeandhilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

The best thing about this place is the staff. They are efficient and courteous. The man who checked us in was quite personable and generous with suggestions for where to eat, according to our needs and preferences. When we had to depart for the airport at 3 AM the night clerk brought us tea and biscuits (actually, cookies in US terminology). When the taxi didn't arrive promptly the clerk proactively called the taxi company. The staff is fabulous.

The interiors are nice. The lobby area isn't spacious but is very presentable, is kept clean and has a computer for guest use.

The room was acceptable. The bathroom was narrow. A larger person might have trouble squeezing into the tiny shower stall or past the sink and bidet to get to the toilet.

The worst thing about this place is the location. On the walk from the nearby train station we passed homeless people. One man was passed out in his nest of belongings on the sidewalk. The streets reeked of urine. The walls of the buildings were smothered in graffiti, which you can readily view in Google Street View. When we shopped at the small grocery store next door to the hotel there was a panhandler out front. When we went out in the evening in search of a restaurant I felt uncomfortable passing groups of young males loitering in the neighborhood.

It's possible that this passes for a safe neighborhood in Rome, but it has many of the signs of a rough neighborhood in a large U.S. city. Because of the surrounding neighborhood I can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ghamachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my friend traveelled to Italy during winter season! One of the best hotel i have ever stayed.we got a cheap deal as we booked the room during winter.and i remembered one of the receptionist was really accomodative and friendly.

I really love our breakfast selection! We enjoyed all the sorts of pastries and this is definitely highly recommended hotel to stay for breakfast!

The only thing that the hotel could improve is the signage.we found the hotel just based on map and hardly to recognize from main road.

But nevertheless we love the stay!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank fatimah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,271 in Rome
1,342 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#101 of 1,271 in Rome
1,317 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
712 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#217 of 1,271 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 3,889 - ₹ 11,666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing