We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
40
108
53
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
108
53
15
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

I recently stayed in this 'hotel' and I use that word very loosely. I've never been in such a basic hotel. While it was very clean I found the room very claustrophobic. The TV was tiny and only had Italian channels so we couldn't watch it as we only have basic Italian. At least one English speaking channel would have been nice,
The bathroom smelled like the sewers and the shower was not working properly. It either burnt from being so hot or was unusable from being so cold. Of the 4 nights I spent there the shower worked for one night.
The cleaner came on our first morning at 8.30am and we had to ask her to come back as we had arrived quite late the previous night but that was the last we saw of her. There were no beds changed, towels changed or bin emptied and we even had to buy our own toilet paper as it was easier than having to ask for it as the 2 guys on the front desk didn't have a single word of English. I'm not saying they should be fluent as I'm not fluent Italian but then again I don't work in the hotel industry where there is a good chance some guests will speak English.
I can safely say I won't be returning to this Hotel/B&B

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The Ercoli has a friendly staff though not all of them speak English. It is located on a quiet street so you do not have to worry about the noise of traffic. All of the rooms have air-conditioning and their is complimentary breakfast available. I would definitely stay here again. It is also close to some of the best gelato I had in my entire stay in Rome:)

Room Tip: Room 11 has a balcony and a bigger bathroom
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Haley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

There is a lift to get to the 3rd floor which was great, for a 2 star hotel it was decent. The bed was okay and the rooms were clean. Unfortunately the hot water ran out constantly so it was difficult to take showers. We did not have the breakfast so cannot speak to that. The staff were helpful and courteous and although some could not speak English, using google translate was a relief for everyone involved which was great. I have read some reviews here about staff not speaking English however, I think it is important to remember that you are in Italy, not an English speaking nation thus, it is not fair to speak to staff not being able to speak English. My suggestion would be to download google translate if your connected to the technological world. It's that simple. The location was good and the area was quiet and peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AshnaTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

My review follows similarly to the previous review it would seem. Arrived late 1130pm to a very rude Italian man shouting the same Italian on repeat, he seemed determined I must have the wrong hotel but I insisted I had a reservation, he refused to look at my booking on phone, refused to look at Google Translate . I can deal with most people but this is the worst customer service I have experienced in eight months of travel. The other member of staff next day was nice but didn't seem to care about my complaint, just kept saying the guy doesn't speak English as an excuse and no apology.
Room was comfortable, average cleanliness, toilet takes about five minutes to flush whoch is noisy. Room needs an update as abit tired but decent location, decent breakfast. But I would look elsewhere as plenty of deals with hopefully nicer staff.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Quiet street, no indication it is a hotel, rang bell and was greeted with a sharp "sí", entered building, which was mainly flats, with no idea of which floor hotel was on, so had to stop at every floor. When we knocked on door we were greeted by an EXTREMELY ANGRY Italian man, who shouted at me and my shocked friend for a good 10 minutes in Italian. We eventually realised we had opened the door of the lift too soon. For two women travelling alone this was an extremely intimidating situation to be in.

Given our room, which was meant to be twin, but was a double. There was a mouldy apple in the drawer and the tea/coffee facilities consisted of a couple of tea bags and two sachets of sugar, one of which was already opened!

Every night we were woken by other guests banging doors and talking. Breakfast was way below average.

I would recommend NOT staying at this hotel at any cost.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank tinymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews