We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel during England Rugby weekend and snow!!!`”
Review of Hotel Stendhal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stendhal
Ranked #131 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel during England Rugby weekend and snow!!!`”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hi- 8 of us stayed at the hotel and had a brilliant time. Lovely rooms (although street can be a little noisy).
Delicious breakfast. Incredibly kind and attentive staff. Good bar across the road. Definitely recommend the hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    331
    86
    33
    28
See reviews for
130
469
46
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
venezia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Finally, a true 4 star hotel in the very heart of Rome!
While many supposed "4 stars hotel" in the center of Rome are literally dives you just want run away from, this delicious boutique hotel offered us a beautiful room, a very professional and polite crew (which is something very rare in Rome, unfortunately) and an elegant atmosphere.
The hotel is located in the very heart of Rome, few steps far from the landmarks of the city.
It was definitely a great surprise, my girlfriend and I will surely come back.

Alessandro

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alessandro c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I would totally recommend to sleep here, of you want a cheap, luxury, downtown hotel. Right across piazza barberini and Fontana Di trevi.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Located meters from Piazza di Barberini, and short walk from both Piazza di Spagna and Fontana di Trevi. Double Superior room was great and relatively spacious in comparison to the hole we stayed in the last time we where in Rome. Breakfast was nice and the staff was welcoming. If you don't mind paying close to £200 a night then this is the hotel for you...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AintNothingLike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We arrived at the Stendhal and we were welcomed by Damiano, the receptionist on the evening shift. We left our staff and went out and about in Rome to enjoy. We came back late at night exhausted from our trip too, and we noticed on our bedsheets that there were HAIR from previous clients and it was just disgusting. On the early morning hours, someone was banging the wall of our room nailing something or fixing something and it was sooo loud that we got scared and woke up suddenly. This went on for 20 minutes...We were so tired and we could not enjoy our sleep. We told the receptionist about the sheets, the noises in the morning complaining about the situation. We told him that we did not want a refund just a courtesy from the hotel to give us a ride to the airport at least. The receptionist after asking the manager (Mr. Campi) told us that the noise was not probably their fault but the fault of the building next door!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And for the sheets he apologized but he said that we already had got a room upgrade, so.... If you order an ice cream with strawberries and the strawberries are rotten then you don't blame the supplier of strawberries but the Gelato shop!!! If you have a hotel and accommodation is your product then you better ensure a pleasant and restful stay. So, the manager, through the receptionist gave us a discount of 15 Euros on the ride to the airport as an apology. Poor poor service and lack of hospitality!!! The room lacked of bathrobes, slippers and other convenient luxury that has become a standard for hotels of 4-5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vetruvio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear customer, we are sincerely sorry for not having met your satisfaction, unfortunately, two critical situations are added during your stay.
Regarding the noises heard in the morning, these were caused by work in the adjoining building and not inside of the Stendhal; we were not advised about the work, if we had known we asking, as usual, to start in the late morning.

The cleanliness and the hygiene of the hotel, as can be seen from most of the reviews published on trip advisor, are among our most important strengths.
Our waiters, with us for many years, do their job with care and attention.
The linen is changed daily and always our housekeeper meticulously oversees every rooms. Also, in the evening another maid re-check every rooms.
This occurred despite a gap; we take this opportunity, inspired by your observations to improve our work.

The room upgrade was offered upon arrival, while to the departure to apologize for the incident, the concierge on duty, had found a tansfer service to the airport during a day's taxi strike, offering a private service at a price of absolute courtesy.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you, to change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,924 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#141 of 1,261 in Rome
939 reviews
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#251 of 1,261 in Rome
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
168 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#142 of 1,261 in Rome
995 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#235 of 1,261 in Rome
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stendhal

Property: Hotel Stendhal
Address: Via del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#196 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#286 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,193 - ₹ 22,078
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city centre within a short few minutes walk from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing