We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cinquantatre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cinquantatre
Ranked #489 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Good location, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Spent a week in Rome in the beginning of August 2011 with my girlfriend and both our parents. We all agreed that the staff was very friendly and aided us in any way they could.

Some of our luggage was lost at the airport and they kept calling the airport for several days to try to find out where and when it could arrive at our hotel.

The hotel in itself is located near a metro station so you'll be well connected to the city. In addition it's not far to walk (10-15min) to Pantheon and the surrounding sights. The rooms vary in size from rather small to more than large enough depending on how much you'd like to pay and how early you book. The beds are ok, not fantastic, but good enough for a week's stay.

I've noticed that several people have complained about a bad smell in their room. We were spread out over several floors and we did not have any bad smells at the time we stayed so either this problem has been fixed or it is a passing problem. Hard to say.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will probably use the same hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toresansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    172
    66
    24
    9
See reviews for
34
197
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

we went to this hotel last july and it was cosy, Weather in rome was 40 degree, but rooms have a/con so its a major help! one life in hotel that you have to squash in if you want to get 2 people into it along with luggage but you have a great laugh over it!

breakfast is basic, tea, coffee fruit cereal + scones etc. rooms are quite big considering the lift is tiny! we were at the bank of the hotel, near to where government buildings are, so the area is quite safe. lovely staff and very helpful, just remember NOT to eat the bread before you get dinner as irish and uk people think its complimentry when we get it at home! we were fooled on our first day when we were charged for it,

other than over all lovely experience! metro is a 20 second walk away to rbing you all over rome!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy24Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I spent 6 nights here in October and we probably only got one good night of sleep total. Every other morning we were woken up by the breakfast spot that shared a wall with our room, pounding out their espresso grounds for the morning crowd. Needless to say it was no fun! There was nothing the staff could do about it. The pluses for this hotel was that it was very centrally located, a short metro ride to the Colosseum, walking distance to the famous Via Veneto, and a 30 minute walk (one way) to the Vatican, and probably a 10 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain (which was my favorite site in Rome). There was also a pretty decent breakfast, and some of the most delicious cappuccino I've ever had, available every morning. Unfortunately, due to the fact we were woken up most every morning, but a THUMP, THUMP, THUMP.... I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erockhass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2011 before we left for a cruise. I emailed the hotel a few times before we arrived and asked about leaving bags there before check-in since our flight arrived at 9am in Rome and the hotel replied back with no problem.
We got to the hotel a little after 10am and they said that instead of leaving the bags, they would just let us check-in early because I notified them and they had a room which was perfect. Yes room is small if compared to American hotels, but if you have ever stayed in an Euorpean city, then it was average. Yes, small TV, but who cares because you are in Rome and there better things than TV. And no sewer smell that I read reviews about.
Young man at front desk very helpful with map and walked us through so much and even gave many food options. Every staff memeber was helpful.
This hotel is in a great location to walk to everything or jump on the Metro line for places like the Vatican.
I would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

This is more like a B&B than a hotel.. Rooms are extremely small, Wifi signal doesn't work in the room, shower barely worked, mold in the bathroom, hair dryer is more like a fan and the TV is so small you have to sit right in front of it. The ONLY good thing about this place is the location- easy to walk everywhere or jump on the Metro. If you don't plan on being in the room but to sleep than this place would be fine.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmonty26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#178 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Hotel Garda
#604 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Elite Hotel
#499 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
King Hotel
King Hotel
#701 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#721 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Trevi
Hotel De Petris
Hotel De Petris
#436 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cinquantatre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cinquantatre

Property: Hotel Cinquantatre
Address: Via di San Basilio 53, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #489 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,939 - ₹ 11,016
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cinquantatre 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Eternal City, between the Piazza Barberini and Via Veneto, the Hotel 53 benefits from an exceptional location just a few minutes' walk from the Villa Borghese Gardens. The perfect place to stay at the perfect price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cinquantatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinquantatre Hotel Rome
Cinquantatre Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing