We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 214
US$ 205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$ 385
US$ 322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$ 210
US$ 182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 271
US$ 261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$ 183
US$ 163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 232
US$ 154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Giolli Nazionale(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 145
US$ 112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
US$ 367
US$ 322
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome(Rome)
US$ 248
US$ 221
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 380
US$ 266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
981 results
Traveller rating
276
472
149
45
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
472
149
45
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiber riverminute walknice hotelbalcony doorvatican cityroof terracewithin walking distancerestaurants and cafesreception staffpastriessafe areacomfortable roomon footbusy streettrevi fountainmetropoppolo
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 981 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is nice as a whole. It is a 20 e ride to colosseum complex & 30 e back. We were in rm 309 & the ac did not work. After MUCH discussion, I was told too bad. No other room. We switched to 111 the next night. The walls are paper thin, & we listened to the guy net door snore. S are clean, baths tiny. There is nothing close, so they have you for dinner.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loan_Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear "Don W",
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience with us was not as positive as that of others on this site and I take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced whilst our guest.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Donna Laura Palace in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.
Your sincerely,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We have just returned from Rome and stayed at this hotel for three nights. There was nine of us. The hotel itself is slightly out of the main tourist attractions of Rome but they are all easily accessible from the metro which is about 10 minutes walk. The Vatican is around half an hour walk away. I would definitely recommend and stay at this hotel again as the hotel is lovely. Every room had a balcony and the beds were very comfortable, the shower was amazing (so powerful). The rooms and the hotel communal parts and grounds were spotless. Staff were all helpful and polite. The only disappointment was that the Jacuzzi was out of order, other than that the hotel was perfect.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loan_Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear "Andrie5"
Thank you for your review and to have chosen the Htl Donna Laura Palace for your stay in Rome.
We are proud to hear that we met your expectations and happy to learn you appreciation about our Hotel.
A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I have shared your review with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments.
We hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests,
Sincerely,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a very polite lady who checked us in.

The room is very clean, VERY Italian in decor and spacious.

We had no instructions on how to work the safety deposit box in our room so, I went back to reception to ask how do I operate it. There was a man there who told me exactly what to do very politely.

On our first night we asked the same gentleman which is the best way to the main parts of Rome, he told us how to use the metro and which stops to get off for what attraction or place we wanted to see. Great service.

The hotel is about, four streets away from the Lepanto tube station. Not far at all.

From there if you get the train to Termini which acts as a main hub, it is very easy to navigate to where you wish to go.

There is a great wine bar up the street about, 5 minutes walk with a pizzeria next door if you wish to try there as well and, a few bars and restaurants close by a couple of streets away.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel in all honesty as, we had 6 days to try and explore as much Rome as possible! However, I would fully recommend this hotel as it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loan_Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear "Jordan N"
Thank you for your review and to have chosen the Htl Donna Laura Palace for your stay in Rome.
We are proud to hear that we met your expectations and happy to learn you appreciation about our Hotel.
A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I have shared your review with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments.
We hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests,
Sincerely,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

fab hotel rooms are very clean staff are polite. stayed 25/09/2017 were allocated a ground floor room when any one above run a bath or shower you thought you had a water fall in your room.we booked this hotel for the roof terrace then told it was closed for winterit was 27degs outside.on the room card bar opens 5pm wrong it was 6pm the you still waited .also sign up saying happy hour wrong because roof terrace closed no happy/h this hotel NEEDS TO SORT OUT ITS PAPER WORK and not confuse its guests even the staff on reception thought the bar opened at 6pm till I showed THEM THE CARD this is a hotel for business people more than tourist

Room Tip: high floor do not take a ground floor if you want a good nights sleep
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pep1554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loan_Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear "pep1554",
Thank you for your comments, in which you drew our attention to your experience while guest at our Hotel.
First of all we do apologize and we are of course very disheartened that your stay was not as positive as the ones of other guests who reported their comments on this site, especially regarding the service, comfort of the beds and room.
We know that every stay experience is different and we always take seriously any feedback.
Our aim is that every guest who visits us enjoys their stay as fully and as richly as possible.
We regret your stay with us was perhaps not what it should have been. We trust that should you ever return to Rome, you will consider giving us an opportunity to counter your criticisms by visiting us again.
With kind regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Stayed this week at the Donna Laura Palace and really enjoyed it, despite a couple of disappointments.
The hotel is situated a good walk away from the main "sights" but that didn`t particularly bother us - it was around a brisk 1/2 hour walk from the Pantheon for example. The main road it sits beside is extremely busy but watching the traffic was an entertainment in itself!
The room was spotlessly clean and spacious although the bathroom was rather cosy, to say the least but the hot water is just that, lovely and hot. Breakfast was good with a varied selection of hot and cold food. There was also a very good selection of fruit to choose from which we enjoyed.

Now the disappointments. We chose this hotel because it boasts a rooftop sitting area so we weren`t best pleased to find out that it is closed for winter. It is September for goodness sake, that isn`t winter - it`s only just autumn and with midnight temperatures in the high teens isn`t remotely near being cold and would be perfectly comfortable to sit out in.
There is a large notice on the reception desk proclaiming a "Happy Hour" but when we challenged prices in the specified period we were told that period only applies to the rooftop area. Remove the notice then!!! While on about the bar, on the hotel card given at check-in it clearly states the bar opens at 5pm but on our last evening we went for a drink at 5:15 but there was no bar staff present so the receptionist said she would call for somebody. After a wait of 10 minutes she then informed us that the bar doesn`t open until 6:00. Coincidence then that the staff member who normally works in the bar was busy preparing a buffet for a large number of guests that evening.

In summary, despite the grumbles when we visit Rome again we will return to the Donna Laura Palace because it IS a good hotel, with good food and friendly staff and we would recommend it,

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loan_Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Mr "Stephen B"
Thank you for your lovely review and to have chosen our Donna Laura Palace
I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about the room, food, facilities and that we met your expectation.
Our team will be pleased to recidive your Kindle words. Your advices and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and our facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.
With Kind regards
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews