We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$ 436
US$ 376
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 215
US$ 203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$ 220
US$ 193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 307
US$ 227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 324/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Venetia Palace Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 99
US$ 80
Venetia Palace
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$ 188
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 267
US$ 207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 139
US$ 74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Giolli Nazionale(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 195
US$ 124
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 368
US$ 290
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 338/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
19
14
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
14
2
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We reserved this hotel via internet, based only on on-line recommendations, and were not dissapointed. The hotel is on a tiny side street on the southern, older bank of the Tiber river. It is a 20 minute walk from the Vatican and 10 mins from Piazza Navona. We walked our way through rome and had a great time doing so (however, it is important to mention that the area has no metro service, so that's really your only choice)! The hotel itself is inside an old, beautiful building and has the look and feel of a well preserved, authentic Roman home. It is spotless, the staff is friendly and helpful, and their restaurant and transport recommendations were spot on. The only dissapointment was breakfast, which was to be served until 10 and almost ran out when we came at 9, and was not refilled. However, this was a small inconvenience in an otherwise lovely stay. Did I mention the free wireless all over the hotel and a complementary bottle of bubbly in your mini-bar? Sweet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liluaidez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This is a great place. Our room was huge and resembled a small apartment. The outside of the hotel is very nondescript and it took us awhile to realize where it was, but it is a nice hidden gem. Very inexpensive compared to other hotels in Rome, comfortable, and walking distance from major sights. Campo dei Fiori is a great place to start the day and is steps away. We slept late most mornings and our cappucinos and croissants were left outside our door for our convenience. Overall, a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed for 2 nights between 7th - 9th July and loved the Banchi Vecchi.

The room was large and clean with a double and single bed, flat screen TV and tea/coffeee making facilities and fridge. The bathroom was also large and clean.

The front desk was manned 24 hours a day and they were extremely helpful in providing a map of Rome and suggesting sights to see.

At the front of the hotel is a boutique clothes shop with many designer dresses and bags but walk through it to get to the reception desk.

There was plenty to choose from for breakfast and they brought it up to your room on a trolley if the dining area was full. There are only a small number of rooms so this fills up quickly.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Vatican and 5 minutes to piazza navona so everywhere is within easy reach.

Overall a great experience in a clean and well located hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganymede_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Relais Banchi Vecchi.

We came on the train and took a taxi to RBV. The taxi driver wasn't 100% sure where it was but one call one the phone to his headquaters and away we went.

I must admit that I was a little uncertain when we dropped off in the small side street/alleyway -- which is where the entrance is but that all evaporated when I entered the B and B.

We were quite warmly greated and shown to a room on the 2nd floor. They have a lift here and we used it to transport the bags up the stairs.

The room was quite large and had a refrigerator which we made use of. The bathroom was impressive -- lots of marble. (However like a lot of traveling in Italy -- some days there was more hot water than others. )

Breakfast was good/simple -- bread/rolls/butter/jelly. The coffee smelled great -- but not being a coffee drinker, I can't really tell you if was any good.

We didn't encounter much noise from the outside/neighbors except when the football/soccer game was on and we could tell when a goal was scored from all the celebrating.

There wasn't much of a view out the windows but the bed was very comfortable. It was very easy to relax here after lot of walking around in Rome

And we did walk everywhere! We were pretty centrally located so we walked to the Vatican, the Trevi fountain, the Piazza Navona, Trastevere (etc).

We came back later in the evening after dark and always felt safe walking to RBV.

I would recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SnappyMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

We got married in Rome and stayed at relais banchi vecchi for 4 nights. It was an amazing B & B and made our wedding a dream come true. The rooms are huge and have loads of character, with large wooden beams on the ceiling, parquet flooring, marble bathroom and lovely dark furniture. It had everything you could need, a small kitchenette, satellite TV and air conditioning. Melina, the owner was very friendly and so were the staff that brought breakfast up to our rooms. We loved having breakfast in bed, you normally pay extra in a hotel! The location was perfect and it was very secure. We got a great deal as we stayed in August and we would definately come back and stay here again. To sum up, it is the best B & B we have ever stayed in!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews