We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic bed & breakfast in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Banchi Vecchi
Ranked #2,616 of 3,712 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Not really a hotel but a small bed and breakfast hidden in the middle of rome. Very traditional place, all decorated in wood, keeps all the original structure of this fantastic building. Rooms are very big and comfortable. Excellent place where to spent a romantic trip to Rome. Hotel owners will serve the breakfast in the room, and its included in the base price. Very convenient, close to Campo die Fiori. Obviously it remains a bed & breakfast, and despite being really cousy, don't expect luxury or hotel facilities other than the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

We reserved this hotel via internet, based only on on-line recommendations, and were not dissapointed. The hotel is on a tiny side street on the southern, older bank of the Tiber river. It is a 20 minute walk from the Vatican and 10 mins from Piazza Navona. We walked our way through rome and had a great time doing so (however, it is important to mention that the area has no metro service, so that's really your only choice)! The hotel itself is inside an old, beautiful building and has the look and feel of a well preserved, authentic Roman home. It is spotless, the staff is friendly and helpful, and their restaurant and transport recommendations were spot on. The only dissapointment was breakfast, which was to be served until 10 and almost ran out when we came at 9, and was not refilled. However, this was a small inconvenience in an otherwise lovely stay. Did I mention the free wireless all over the hotel and a complementary bottle of bubbly in your mini-bar? Sweet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liluaidez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This is a great place. Our room was huge and resembled a small apartment. The outside of the hotel is very nondescript and it took us awhile to realize where it was, but it is a nice hidden gem. Very inexpensive compared to other hotels in Rome, comfortable, and walking distance from major sights. Campo dei Fiori is a great place to start the day and is steps away. We slept late most mornings and our cappucinos and croissants were left outside our door for our convenience. Overall, a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed for 2 nights between 7th - 9th July and loved the Banchi Vecchi.

The room was large and clean with a double and single bed, flat screen TV and tea/coffeee making facilities and fridge. The bathroom was also large and clean.

The front desk was manned 24 hours a day and they were extremely helpful in providing a map of Rome and suggesting sights to see.

At the front of the hotel is a boutique clothes shop with many designer dresses and bags but walk through it to get to the reception desk.

There was plenty to choose from for breakfast and they brought it up to your room on a trolley if the dining area was full. There are only a small number of rooms so this fills up quickly.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Vatican and 5 minutes to piazza navona so everywhere is within easy reach.

Overall a great experience in a clean and well located hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganymede_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Relais Banchi Vecchi.

We came on the train and took a taxi to RBV. The taxi driver wasn't 100% sure where it was but one call one the phone to his headquaters and away we went.

I must admit that I was a little uncertain when we dropped off in the small side street/alleyway -- which is where the entrance is but that all evaporated when I entered the B and B.

We were quite warmly greated and shown to a room on the 2nd floor. They have a lift here and we used it to transport the bags up the stairs.

The room was quite large and had a refrigerator which we made use of. The bathroom was impressive -- lots of marble. (However like a lot of traveling in Italy -- some days there was more hot water than others. )

Breakfast was good/simple -- bread/rolls/butter/jelly. The coffee smelled great -- but not being a coffee drinker, I can't really tell you if was any good.

We didn't encounter much noise from the outside/neighbors except when the football/soccer game was on and we could tell when a goal was scored from all the celebrating.

There wasn't much of a view out the windows but the bed was very comfortable. It was very easy to relax here after lot of walking around in Rome

And we did walk everywhere! We were pretty centrally located so we walked to the Vatican, the Trevi fountain, the Piazza Navona, Trastevere (etc).

We came back later in the evening after dark and always felt safe walking to RBV.

I would recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SnappyMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Queen
Navona Queen
#25 of 3,712 in Rome
461 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#377 of 1,267 in Rome
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,136 of 3,712 in Rome
91 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Banchi Vecchi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Banchi Vecchi

Address: Via dei Banchi Vecchi, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,616 of 3,712 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 9,217 - ₹ 26,481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Relais Banchi Vecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Banchi Vecchi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing