We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the short wait”
Review of Bocca della Verita

Bocca della Verita
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 90.70*
and up
Glory of Rome - Afternoon 4 hour Segway Tour
Ranked #143 of 1,514 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The legend of this 4th-century stone, located in the Church of Santa Maria in Cosmedin, says that it eats the hand of liars.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Worth the short wait”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

When we were there, we only had to wait about 10 minutes. Kind of a must do photo op while in Rome. 50 cent donation requested is very reasonable.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eljusto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    458
    346
    90
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really?”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We visited this on our way down from the Aventine Hill keyhole but were sorely disappointed. The Mouth of Truth itself was outside the church but behind a gate with a 50 cent Euro fee to go through and take a picture with the Mouth of Truth. We didn't pay the fee - just took a picture of it from outside the gate. It was more than enough for us. It was kind of nice to see the Mouth of Truth in person since there were so many souvenirs that had the Mouth of Truth on them though ultimately, i wouldn't have cared if we had missed this one.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreTrips4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Tell me the truth!”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

It may sound awkward, with so many attractions in Rome, but this was my favorite! You've got to see the place... Just insert your hand and... Enjoy!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chris-B-TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting if you know the story”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

There are many things said about the Bocca della Verita. It seems to be from the I centuryand maybe it was born as a fountain. However the interesting thing about this statue are the legends around it.
Some people say it was used as a lie detector for cheating husbands, other say it was for cheating wives. Basically poeple had to put their hands inside of the mouth of the stone (where there is a cavity) and if he/she was telling a lie/cheating, the mouth would have biten the hand.
There is a pretty long line to see it, they allowe you to take 1 picture (and only 1) and you can enter the Vhurch (santa Maria in Cosmedin). It's a simple Church, but you can go downstairs too.

Helpful?
3 Thank Elisa1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A fun thing to do”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We have kids, ages 6 and 9, and my wife and I are pretty childlike ourselves, so we dug this. We had 4 full days in Rome, so it was no problem to fit this in. Famous mainly because of the movie "Roman Holiday," the Mouth of Truth still makes for a good iconic Rome picture. There is a suggested 2 euro donation. We waited in line about 15 minutes is all. You make the standard "ow it's eating me!" face, snap a quick pick, then are funneled into the sparse but elegant church, which you can immediately leave if you want- which we did. We had no problem finding it. It's an easy 10 minute or so walk from Piazza Venezia, they are both along the same main road. Don't lie! ;)

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinfam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bocca della Verita? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing