We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located and extremely professional!”
Review of Hotel Ponte Sisto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Ranked #129 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for three nights. Upon first look at the street, I wasn't so sure that it was the best choice, as the street is covered in graffiti. Not to worry though; it's a quiet street with a market very conveniently located two shops down from the hotel doorstep, so you can grab a bottle of water or two if needed :) The hotel is also only about a seven or eight minute walk from the famous piazzas and the Trevi fountain.

The staff inside are all very friendly and helpful, and the entire hotel is nicely decorated. The room we stayed in was a twin room, so we just moved the beds together to make a double bed. The shower was wonderful, and they (as well as every hotel we went to) had converters for our appliances. Not that you would want to watch television when you're in Italy, but if you DID want to, the channels are not in English! We only turned it on before bed or while we were getting ready for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jac1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 677 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights with my fiancée - we wanted a relaxing and romantic week away with some interesting sites to visit and were particularly interested in Catholic Churches.

The rooms are on the small side but very clean and some like ours had a jacuzzi bath - very pleasant way to relax in the evening. The housekeeping staff were very helpful, considerate and efficient. Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Bed was firm and very comfortable, modern room with clean, efficient atmosphere. Front desk staff were great too.

Breakfast was very nice but a couple of breakfast staff were rude and unpleasant. Probably slightly understaffed but serving off milk and then moaning about changing it doesn't go down well. The Hotel also has a policy of one visit to breakfast - so if you fancy a quick coffee and then come back for breakfast forget it - you need to eat breakfast in one go - we were refused entry after returning from Mass. Desk manager did apologise but it's a bit late by then.

The location is the best aspect of this Hotel - it's in the middle of Rome amongst the best tourist areas. It's possible to walk to almost everything you might want to see other than Catacombs and the Church of the Relics, within 30-40 minutes.

There are probably 120 restaurants within a 15 minute walk - eating and drinking won't be a problem and there is an incredible Church just 6 doors down which is breathtaking. There is also a Spar grocery shop 2 doors down to buy cheap water rather than buying it at the hotel.

I'd recommend this Hotel to my friends with the caveat that you need to be open eyed about the breakfast policy - everything else is as good or better than 90% of the other hotels I've stayed in, very pleasant.

Room Tip: Overlook the courtyard and some rooms have a jacuzzi bath - very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_Bower11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here for four nights. First impressions of the location are not good as the entrance is in a narrow street next to the Ponte Sisto bridge. The street was rather dingy with dozens of small cars and motor scooters parked in every space. Inside the entrance it was a different world, nicely decorated with friendly and helpful staff.
Our room was very nice with an en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was served outside in the enclosed courtyard and a good selection of food was available. The staff were ready to give directions and suggestions of places to visit or to eat and were a credit to the hotel.
The hotel is very central and within easy walking distance to the tourist areas. We walked everywhere! to the Trevi Fountain, St Marks square and the Spanish steps, all within easy reach.
I have no hesitation in recomending this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 4 nights at the end of August. The best thing about this hotel is the location and that is the key reason I have given it a "very good" rating. The hotel is literally within walking distance to most of the “popular” tourist areas and sight. There is also a Gelateria and Spar supermarket next door which was useful and the hotel is steps from the Tiber river and Trastevere district which are both nice. I have included a few sights and the walking distance from the hotel to give you a rough idea of its proximity to things:

Within 5-10mins:
-Campo de Fiori
-Trastevere district

Within 10-20mins:
-Trevi Fountain
-The Pantheon
-Piazza Navona

Within 20-30mins:
-Colossuem
-Vatican City
-Castel Sant'Angelo

PROS:
-Very clean rooms, powerful air conditioning, excellent location, good value for money

CONS:
-Rude staff at breakfast (understaffed so they were constantly rushing around and snapping at guests if they made any requests), noisy at night (request a room overlooking the courtyard to avoid this)

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as it's very good value for money and in an excellent location for the price. However, if you are looking for a luxurious hotel and 5* service then pay 5* prices and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Book rooms overlooking the courtyard, on a high floor and away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed with my family for a week at this hotel from 19th to 26th August. Great place to stay. Excellent facilities, brilliant location and great staff. Mauritzio at the reception was very helpful as were all the other staff. All staff members spoke good English. Our rooms were cleaned every day. Morning breakfast at the open courtyard is a great experience. In terms of location, we could not have found a better place. Most places of tourist interest as well as shopping / eating places are conveniently located within easy walking distance. Would strongly recommend this place.

I had misplaced my diamond ring in the hotel room and had completely forgotten this when vacating. Afte couple of hours remembered and rushed back to the reception. All the staff immediately applied themselves to look for the ring. The chamber maid had cleaned the room and had not found the ring. Staff immediately volunteered to open up the vacuum cleaner and check all the wastage dump areas. To my great fortune the ring was found embedded in the pile of rubbish in one of the vacuum cleaner. I have to mention this as I do not believe many hotel staff would have gone to this extend to help a guest especially on a very busy Sunday afternoon. Simply great staff at all levels.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank PK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#39 of 1,273 in Rome
883 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#142 of 1,273 in Rome
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ponte Sisto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponte Sisto

Address: Via dei Pettinari 64, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#107 Business Hotel in Rome
#108 Family Hotel in Rome
#119 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 7,070 - ₹ 21,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ponte Sisto 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet, the 4-star Hotel Ponte Sisto in Rome is located in a completely renovated historic building, enveloped in a relaxing atmosphere with a splendid garden filled with luxuriant palm trees and flowers from all over the world.The rooms are cozy and restful, able to keep the chaotic city or memories of a busy day at work at a distance to fill you will harmony and well-being within the bright marble furnishings and floral decorations.The friendly Hotel Ponte Sisto front desk staff takes care of all guest needs, booking excursions and guided tours, recommending clubs and restaurants to make your stay in Rome an unforgettable vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ponte Sisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponte Sisto Rome
Hotel Ponte Sisto Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing