We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, tourist attractions within walking distance, clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ponte Sisto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Ranked #117 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, tourist attractions within walking distance, clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We booked on the basis of all the reviews and were not disappointed. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing courtyard breakfast, it was a delicious feast of a selection fresh fruit, pasteries, yogurts, breads, hot food too, the list is endless! Each day we found something more.

The room had air conditioning, it was clean and well stocked with towels, robes and toileteries and we had the added benefit of a jacuzzi which was just what we need after a day of walking around the many tourist attractions.

The staff at reception were always helpful and spoke fluent English.

The hotel is in a great location, turning right and 5 minute walkway going over the river down the stairs takes you to numerous stalls and cafes, however across the river there are a variety of restaruants tucked away in the streets (we tried dar poeta pizza, as it was previously reccomened by an earlier reviewer, we went back there twice! In the evenings there was a really long que to get tables because it's so popular, we went early and then the next day for, a late lunch which was less busier) . Turning left takes you some amazing traditional Italian restaurants we tried la Quercia, excellent service.

The street the Hotel is on looks a bit rough but it was calm and peaceful on the days we were there and has no reflection on the the inside of the hotel, it was like walking into an oasis!

If we went back to Rome we would book Hotel Ponte Sisto again

Room Tip: We had room 109, it has a jacuzzi ! And quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami_rvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    541
    102
    34
    14
See reviews for
288
691
51
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is just a little gem of a hotel right in the centre of Rome. Pristine cleanliness as you'd expect (but not always get) and the staff were extremely helpful. The dining area is a beautiful courtyard area in open air setting which is a nicely cooled area from the hot summer sun. Surrounded by little cafe's and restaurants I would go back to this place again and again. I've fallen in love with Rome and I've fallen in love with Ponte Sisto.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. The rooms are relatively small but no smaller than any other city centre hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaranMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Strengths: location convenient to the Pantheon and Trastevere section of town; very pleasant courtyard; clean facilities.

Whenever I'm on TripAdvisor, I get rattled by the inevitable one- and two-star reviews, so I'll try to address a couple of points that were raised elsewhere. I would not characterize the hotel as "run-down." We were there in July/August; it was insanely hot, but our A/C was fine. We had rooms 411 and 412, a pair of connecting rooms well-suited for families with children. The main annoyance was the key-card system, which functioned irregularly, and the fact that the door to the suite would only lock if the inner door handle had been positioned in a certain way -- a fact the cleaning staff occasionally forgot, thereby leaving our suite door unlocked all day on two occasions (fortunately without consequence).

The rooms were located towards the back of the hotel; you could still hear noise from the street, but the noise is not at a level that would disturb anyone who has lived in New York for any stretch of time; it's not that big a deal, especially if the window is closed. The rooms are small; the desks are indeed pointless, as there's not really enough space to sit at them, but there is enough room to store the suitcases without requiring effort to maneuver around them (not the case at some other 4-star hotels I've stayed at).

Food at breakfast was ok, but not great. Don't expect anyone to be offering to make an omelette for you.The staff were mostly but not uniformly courteous; there's definitely room for improvement, as the service would sometimes roll its eyes when asked to do things like replenish the supply of milk at the breakfast buffet. But everything seemed fresh and sanitary and the number of offerings was sufficient to satisfy our whole family's idiosyncratic needs. And the courtyard where it's served is very, very nice -- it's really the best thing about the hotel, which lacks a fitness room or pool and only offers wi-fi in the reception area.

If I were going to Rome in the summer again (which I wouldn't do, because of the heat), I'd look for a hotel with a pool, frankly, even if it meant staying slightly farther away from the city center. It would've been nice to have a way to cool off besides jumping in a cold shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I just recently when on vacation to Italy. We stayed in the Hotel Ponte Sisto it doesn't have the best "curb appeal" but don't let that fool you! The Hotel is clean, rooms are a good size, staff is very friendly! Any question we had about where to go what to do what to eat they answered without fail! There is breakfast served in the morning in the court yard that is just lovely! The bar is open late and the bartender was so friendly and nice! We saw all the sites in Italy and WALKED everywhere from this hotel! The only cab we took was to the airport and to and from the train station when we went to Naples!!! Seriously down the road to the left was a lovely plaza with food and shops, across the bridge by the water was bars and local vendors setup in tents selling stuff! It was a perfect place to stay in Rome close to all the main sights to see! :) I would recommend this place and location to EVERYONE i know who is traveling to Rome!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed three nights in Hotel Ponte Sisto and loved every minute. The breakfast was amazing with fruit, meats and cheeses, pastries, as well as delicious scrambled eggs and bacon served in either a gorgeous breakfast room or an outdoor courtyard. The rooms were clean and nicely cooled. The staff spoke English and were very helpful with calling to reschedule a tour and calling for a cab. The hotel is located next to the river which was beautiful but was also a helpful landmark to find our way back.I hope a can come back for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#32 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,928 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#183 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ponte Sisto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponte Sisto

Property: Hotel Ponte Sisto
Address: Via dei Pettinari 64, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#107 Business Hotel in Rome
#119 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#159 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,302 - ₹ 27,316
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ponte Sisto 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet, the 4-star Hotel Ponte Sisto in Rome is located in a completely renovated historic building, enveloped in a relaxing atmosphere with a splendid garden filled with luxuriant palm trees and flowers from all over the world.The rooms are cozy and restful, able to keep the chaotic city or memories of a busy day at work at a distance to fill you will harmony and well-being within the bright marble furnishings and floral decorations.The friendly Hotel Ponte Sisto front desk staff takes care of all guest needs, booking excursions and guided tours, recommending clubs and restaurants to make your stay in Rome an unforgettable vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ponte Sisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponte Sisto Rome
Hotel Ponte Sisto Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing