We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ponte Sisto
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
US$ 319
US$ 293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 242
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 714
US$ 411
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 258
US$ 223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 337
US$ 254
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 184
US$ 162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Italia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 128
US$ 107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$ 336
US$ 257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$ 156
US$ 139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 364
US$ 334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,634)
Filter reviews
1,634 results
Traveller rating
826
626
124
38
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
626
124
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtrastevere areainner courtyardtiber riverrooftop terracewithin walking distancelovely hotelwalked everywheremarble bathroombars and restaurantspastrieswould definitely stay here againbreakfast buffetside streeton footgelatothree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
738 - 743 of 1,634 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel is such a gem, off a little alley right across from Trestavere. It was spacious and clean with a beautiful courtyard and nice breakfast. The staff was helpful offering lunch suggestions and making our dinner reservations. Our room was sparse but huge with a private courtyard (which was a nice surprise). The internet was a bit spotty but we didn't mind being out of pocket!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have visited the hotel before seven years ago with my parents and had a fantastic experience. This time I went back with my wife and son. This time it was different. Much different. The staff were all, except two friendly persons, at best uninterested and in many cases directly rude. I don't have high expectation from hotel staff except that to do do the job without objecting. But it seemed as if the guests were a big burden for the staff at Ponte Sisto. A few impressions: The maid never put extra toiletpaper, you had to find her and ask for it, every day. The reception/consierge had all the time in the world to talk to each other in stead of helping you at the counter, always. We had to find the breakfast staff in order to get tea/coffee and a child seat, every day. One of the porters didn't get to carry one of my bags since it was the easiest way to get down a stair. He went furious and nearly attacked me, stuttering Italian abuses, that I unfortunately understood. The corridors were allways filled with the maid torlley, vacuumcleaners, construction work, all day. No one bothered to put it away between uses... I could go on, but I think you get my point. Except from the perfect location, which is the reason for the 2 points score this is not to be recommended. I will never go back here and will warn everybody going to Rome about it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

If you are looking for a Hilton type large hotel this is not your place, but if you are up for a first class boutique style hotel the Hotel Ponte Sisto is a really good one. The staff is very friendly and all speak English very well. The room is quite small but very comfortable and the quietest big city hotel room I have ever been in. Even the AC is quiet. The bathroom is actually quite large and spotless. Many people could be put off by the location, as the street seems upon first impression to be in a seedy alley, however as it turns out it is a very nice part of old Rome, and is in a perfect location central to just about very major attraction. We walked to everything. There are a number of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance, and the staff is happy to recommend.

A special shout out to Donatella, the bartender, who is kind and friendly and happy to chat about anything you have in mind

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard seem to be the preference, but ours did not an so was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Ponte Sisto. Great location - within walking distance of many attractions such as Fountain of Four Rivers, Trevi Fountain, the Parthanon, etc... Close to shopping and great restaurants. The hotel staff was friendly and most spoke English. We especially loved their doorman, Mohamed. He was so friendly and had a great sense of humor!
The room we had was smaller than we expected, but it did have a nice patio, which we used a lot as an extra room. It was worth a little more euro! But other than the size (and we Americans are so spoiled!), the room was nice and clean. The breakfast was very good as well! They had a lovely court yard where they served breakfast on sunny days, and we used it to have a nice glass of wine and conversation in the afternoons with the rest of our group. My one complaint would have to be their hard pillows. Other than that, we had a lovely stay at the Hotel Ponte Sisto.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio! It adds so much room to your living area!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Hotel Ponte Sisto – We loved this 4-star hotel. I wanted to be near Trastevere and it is about 3 blocks from Campo dei Fiori and walking distance (though a fairly long walk) to the Vatican. All hotel desk employees speak excellent English, internet available free of charge (wifi and hotel computers) – just ask for password. There is a BEAUTIFUL courtyard next to lobby with comfortable couches and tables and chairs – flowers and plantings everywhere. We stayed in room 506 (small single) and 508 good-sized “double room” (king bed) with very nice green marble bathroom. TV, mini-bar, phones, windows that open on to other buildings and terraces – a nice view! It was very quiet and clean. You do have to go up a small set of stairs (8-10 stairs?) to get to the elevator to our rooms. When you step off the elevator on the 5th floor, there is also a very large rooftop terrace that has lots of flowers and plantings but just a couple of little café tables with chairs. Very sunny and nice and no one using it. The “Continental” breakfast is fabulous! They offer everything you could possibly think of including hot eggs and bacon – assortment of croissants that were very fresh and delicious, various cereals, yogurts, breads, fruit, tomatoes & cheese, cold cuts. Hotel desk will arrange for taxis anywhere you want to go. They will also arrange for (arrival) transfer from airport if you give them flight information online. We requested a taxi which arrived at the door of hotel in 5 minutes and took us to the airport. We were told by hotel that it would cost about 40 euros but we had no traffic at 7:15am and the price on the meter was over 50 euros. It took about 40 minutes.

Room Tip: Hotel Ponte Sisto – We loved this 4-star hotel. I wanted to be near Trastevere and it is about 3 blocks from Campo dei Fiori and walking distance (though a fairly long walk) to the Vatican. All hotel desk employees speak excellent English, internet available free of charge (wifi and hotel computers) – just ask for password. There is a BEAUTIFUL courtyard next to lobby with comfortable couches and tables and chairs – flowers and plantings everywhere. We stayed in room 506 (small single) and 508 good-sized “double room” (king bed) with very nice green marble bathroom. TV, mini-bar, phones, windows that open on to other buildings and terraces – a nice view! It was very quiet and clean. You do have to go up a small set of stairs (8-10 stairs?) to get to the elevator to our rooms. When you step off the elevator on the 5th floor, there is also a very large rooftop terrace that has lots of flowers and plantings but just a couple of little café tables with chairs. Very sunny and nice and no one using it. The “Continental” breakfast is fabulous! They offer everything you could possibly think of including hot eggs and bacon – assortment of croissants that were very fresh and delicious, various cereals, yogurts, breads, fruit, tomatoes & cheese, cold cuts. Hotel desk will arrange for taxis anywhere you want to go. They will also arrange for (arrival) transfer from airport if you give them flight information online. We requested a taxi which arrived at the door of hotel in 5 minutes and took us to the airport. We were told by hotel that it would cost about 40 euros but we had no traffic at 7:15am and the price on the meter was over 50 euros. It took about 40 minutes.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahwy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews