We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, quiet, good value, everything we needed.”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #6 of 1,178 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

After a few expensive and underwhelming accommodation experiences in Italy, what a treat it was to stay at The Beehive, in "The Sweets" rooms. It was so close to Termini train station that we walked right by it at first. We arrived early before the room was ready but were welcomed to enjoy our picnic lunch and use the wi-fi in the meantime. The room was in a different building on a side street, sharing a common kitchen with a few other rooms but with a bathroom we could share or lock from the outside to keep private. Air conditioning was optional and €10 addl and with 34C outside we definitely appreciated it. Everything was clean, in working order, and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 435 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great location!!! If you plan on travelling other places around italy, then this is the place to stay! I stayed here 4 nights in May. I had my own bathroom but outside the room. It was great, i had a nice little balcony and the kitchen is very clean!!! the rooms were clean, nice handmade soaps. the floors were a little creeky but didn't bother me. There's even a computer u can use right there. everything was perfect

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Beehive was lovely, I had a wonderful stay there though it was only one night. Room was perfect, bathrooms were clean, downstairs was great, food very tasty, had a nice smoothie as well and ate it outside on the couches in the sun. Beautiful plants and decor, really friendly staff and fellow guests. I'm keen on booking the Beehive next time I come to Rome! Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eacheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was my second time staying at the Beehive. The first time I stayed in their normal rooms...which was great. This trip I stayed in the new Sweets...which is located right next door. They were clean, new, and the AC was very cold. Had a cool balcony in my room and the common area was nice to have too. They even had a shared Ipad to use. We ate at the Cafe' that they have at the main hotel....had a great vegan dinner and glass of wine for 8 euro.....I am not even Vegan....but the food was great. The location is perfect...right next to the train station...5 min walk. And the staff at the beehive is so helpful....everyone.

For the cost of the room, cleanliness, staff, this is one of the best Hotels in Rome in my opinion! Next trip to Italy I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank-Ciccio2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

What we liked: Very close to the Roma Termini, easy to find with cute decor, staff extremely friendly and accomodating (showing us how to get around, etc.) -- in particular we really loved the guy making the breakfast every morning, really great breakfast too, good accomodations with towels/showergel/shampoo

What we didn't like: No AC in the hot summer! :(

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,178 in Rome
257 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#12 of 1,178 in Rome
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#4 of 1,178 in Rome
460 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#29 of 1,178 in Rome
768 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mood 44
Mood 44
#1 of 1,178 in Rome
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,178 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 3,802 - ₹ 7,217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Beehive 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing