We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alessandro Downtown Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Ranked #20 of 1,028 Speciality Lodging in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I didn't leave this hostel with the same jubilation that I usually leave hostels with (you know, having had a great time, met loads of great people and not having spent too much...)

The staff on numerous occasions gave us incorrect information. I asked them about the RomaPass, which is pretty standard Rome tourist stuff, and the girl didn't even know how much it was, let alone what it entailed.

The room was good, nice and spacious, and the bathroom was also pretty decent, and just a couple of metres down the hall from our room.

Noise levels in this hostel were hideous. Obviously it's not the hostel's fault that we were next door to an obnoxiously vocal group of teenagers, but nonetheless, it detracted from our stay.

I would warn everyone too that if you choose to stay in the Downtown hostel, a lot of the things such as the 'Pizza Party' are actually in the sister hostel, a good 10 minutes away. Something we were less than thrilled with.

Breakfast was really good, however guess what...NOT INCLUDED in the price (even though on the website it says it is). I mean come on guys, that's just flat out deception!

I had an ok time here but next time I'm in Rome will seek a better alternative.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    288
    147
    46
    27
See reviews for
28
56
258
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I arrived with a group of students and another teacher at this hostel for a week's stay. My colleague and I had booked a double room and been asked to pay for the first night's stay months in advance. The tiny room that we were given turned out to completely bare of essential amenities: no chairs, no closet to hang clothes, no bedside lamps and only a dim ceiling light. For this privilege we were asked to pay € 90 per night, without breakfast!
We found this to be totally unacceptable, but as we arrived late in the evening were forced to spend one night at the hostel before finding alternative accomodation elsewhere.
The management seemed astonished we were not satisfied with the room ( "What is wrong with it? ") and demanded a payment for two nights when we cancelled the reservation the following morning.
It is scandalous to charge € 90 for such a disgraceful room when for the same price one can find excellent accomodation with breakfast in a *** hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peraxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Never go there, wouldn't give me back deposit or help me get another hostel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights and overall it went well it was pretty clean and the location is great you can walk to just about every main attraction in the city and it is just down the street from the Termini train station. it came out to be about 180 US Dollars each for the 5 nights which didn't seem to bad. The only thing i would recommend is not to have the breakfast there for 3 euros its really not worth it. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gzayas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

the important is that is clean
the location is very centric close to train stations very convenient
i would stay again!

Room Tip: we stayed close to the reception desk, a bit busy and noisy all day..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxbalestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#283 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#660 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#343 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,028 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#40 of 1,028 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#41 of 1,028 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alessandro Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alessandro Downtown Hostel

Property: Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Address: Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,028 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,225 - ₹ 21,644
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Alessandro Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Downtown Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing