We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel ever, canceled my booking and told me it was due to a fire department warning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Ranked #16 of 1,121 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Worst hostel ever, canceled my booking and told me it was due to a fire department warning”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Never go there, wouldn't give me back deposit or help me get another hostel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    316
    159
    46
    28
See reviews for
31
63
304
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights and overall it went well it was pretty clean and the location is great you can walk to just about every main attraction in the city and it is just down the street from the Termini train station. it came out to be about 180 US Dollars each for the 5 nights which didn't seem to bad. The only thing i would recommend is not to have the breakfast there for 3 euros its really not worth it. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gzayas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

the important is that is clean
the location is very centric close to train stations very convenient
i would stay again!

Room Tip: we stayed close to the reception desk, a bit busy and noisy all day..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxbalestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed for 3 nights with friends. The hostel is not great, but it is alright and it is pretty conveniently located. Rooms are big; bunks are comfy; shared bathrooms (if I'm not mistaken, all of which are "co-ed") are better than average -as they have private cubicles with sinks, toilets, and showers.

It is two blocks away from the Train/Subway station. The down side is that that area near the train station is a bit sketchy. You might feel a bit unsafe there.

Breakfast is not included (3€ per person) - bread, ham, cheese, cereal, milk, jelly, stinky coffee - is not great but it is convenient and there's enough food for holding up until lunch. To be fair, I know that some basic Italian colazione (croissant + espresso) would cost you pretty much the same for much less -albeit better- food. We paid between 13-17€ for our beds, depending on the day.

I'll set up some PROs and CONs that might help you to make up your mind.

PROs:
- Comfortable beds and rooms;
- Fairly big lockers;
- Free wi-fi;
- Two blocks away from Subway/Train Station;
- Total privacy in shared bathrooms.

CONs:
- Sketchy neighbourhood;
- Breakfast is not included - and quality could be better;
- Lockers could be a bit better;
- Big hostel, no common living rooms with hostelling atmosphere whatsoever.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the top floor. Rooms seem to be recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brazilianpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hostel was a terrible experience from the start to finish. When we checked in the guy at the desk was extremely unhelpful and rude. we have being interrailing for the last number of weeks and this hands down has being the worst hostel we have stayed in. The place is cold. Everything from internet to breakfast is an extra charge. We were told it was 8 euro for us to do our laundry here however is has ended up being 13 euro as the dryer did not even half dry our clothes. Overall= really unpleasant stay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMC187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#461 of 1,263 in Rome
293 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#222 of 1,263 in Rome
636 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#366 of 1,263 in Rome
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#17 of 1,121 in Rome
856 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#33 of 1,121 in Rome
739 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#14 of 1,121 in Rome
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alessandro Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alessandro Downtown Hostel

Property: Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Address: Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,121 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,862 - ₹ 7,385
Hotel Class:3 star — Alessandro Downtown Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Alessandro Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Downtown Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing