We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Roman Treasure”
Review of Hotel Bramante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bramante
Ranked #576 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Roman Treasure”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Tucked away on a tiny backstreet in Vatican City, this charming hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the wonderful, hectic craziness that is Rome. It is literally steps to the Vatican Museums, St.Peter's Basilica, and an array of good trattorias. This was our second visit to this hotel; we walked everywhere in Rome from this location.
Our rooms, on both occasions were spacious, high-ceilinged and spotless. The hotel offers a wonderful roof-like garden, perfect for reading and/or relaxing after a long day of touring. Breakfast is a feast for the eyes and stomach!
What makes this hotel truly uinique is its family-run atmosphere. After our 5 night stay, we felt like a member of an extended family, such is the care and service provided. Wonderful touring and restuarant recommendations!!!
We would most definitely stay at the Bramante on any future trips to Rome.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ex-airfaircrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    51
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
43
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Wake up early, have a homey breakfast and chat with the wonderful staff, take a left out the hotel walk one block and turn yourself right on Via della Conciliazione and marvel at the sight of the sun rising over the right shoulder of St. Peter's without the hoards of tourists... go in and enjoy the cathedral. Later head to the Caffe Nova (on via conciliazione) for an espresso and a snack and go hang out at the Piazza Navona. Check out the Pantheon and the Caravaggios nearby, then head back to your quiet, clean, comfortable and handsome hotel. Rome is Great. Bramante makes it better.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LamCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We were so pleased with our stay at Hotel Bramante. We travelled with our 15 year old son so booked a triple room. Room was spacious and adequate for the limited time we were there. The hotel has a small garden that was nice for an afternoon refreshment or read. Breakfast was a feast and great way to fuel up for busy day. Walking distance to Vatican, Metro, Tiber River for pleasant evening strolls. Neighbourhood restaurants and pub down the street frequented by more locals than tourists. We were looking for a quiet place and this was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmcdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We arrived being greeted by the owner with a bright smile, english and advice where to park the car. The owners made us feel very welcome, comfortable, which was wonderful as I'd had a fall and need medical attention. Their friendly faces were most welcome hence a great start, and the staff were just as friendly and helpful. The bags just disappeared, it was like a weight was lifted.

The room was large, appointed well and the air-conditioning was working and on a 38+ deg day it was welcome. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.

We had lunch just down the road which was wonderful, followed by dinner just near by.

Everything is close to this hotel but you do not feel that you are in such a busy end of town as its quiet.

Location: close to Vatican city - its at the end of the street. We chose the hotel for its location to a Hospital. We also had a car hence a local car park was essential, hence the one 5 mins to St Peters steps was perfect There is a discount for tourist of 15 euros a day - you need to claim this on the Bus terminal level ( level 2 -I think)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oumie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We are three nights into our four night stay at Hotel Bramante and it's perfect. We are here at the recommendation of European relatives who stayed here last year. My wife and I and two children are staying in a quad room. The location near the Vatican is great for us. We have walked or taken the convenient 110 bus line to many of the other top sites in town.
The restaurants in the area are fun with very good food. The breakfast served at Hotel Bramante is substantial and excellent--espresso, cappacino, lattes, fresh fruit, egg dish, every cereal and juice imaginable, fresh cheeses and bread. One of my daughters needed to see a doctor and the proprietors, who are so friendly, arranged to get us to the international hospital here to see an English speaking doctor. They also obtained Vatican admission tickets for us. The hotel has a charming outside patio on the second floor and excellent WIFI connection. The staff, to a person, have been friendly and accomodating.
We couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annarbor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#170 of 1,256 in Rome
282 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#360 of 1,256 in Rome
391 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#598 of 1,256 in Rome
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#60 of 1,256 in Rome
609 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#507 of 1,256 in Rome
518 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bramante? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bramante

Property: Hotel Bramante
Address: Vicolo delle Palline 24, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Rome
#106 Family Hotel in Rome
#190 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,363 - ₹ 19,014
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bramante 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pick of the hotels in the Vatican area, the Bramante is a model of effortless elegance. Tucked away in a side street behind St Peter's, it occupies the 16th-century building that was home to Swiss architect Domenico Fontana before Pope Sixtus V banished him from Rome. Five centuries later and the original wood-beamed ceilings top rooms furnished with stylish restaint and best mod cons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bramante Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing