We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Small hotel with no facilities.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Luce
Ranked #1,055 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small hotel with no facilities.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

The hotel is walking distance from Termini station in a safe area. The hotel rooms are small but clean. The shower is very small. The hotel lacks any bar or extras. European b&b only. Breakfast is very basic and limited. Again clean but don't expect to see any staff if it runs low. The local restaurants are fair priced and hospitable. Tip. Station has a supermarket which offers food at half the price of local outlets. Water is €.60 compaired to €2-3 elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    67
    80
    43
    30
See reviews for
43
93
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This hotel benefits from a great location. It being our first visit to Rome we were unsure of the best area in which to stay so we went with the travel agents recommendation of being near the Termini station. He was right in that the location was great for exploring every part of Rome. We were also worried that the area might be noisy but it really wasn't, in fact once the windows were closed and even with the air con unit going we slept like babies!

The room although small was clean and had all the necessary amenities. It was cleaned daily, towels changed and basic mini bar restocked.

Breakfast was ok. Basic but fine as we filled ourselves up on Rome's other culinary delights whilst out and about.

The one thing that really lets this hotel down is its staff!! They could not even raise a smile let alone engage in conversation. My boyfriend had learnt some Italian prior to our trip and was eager to try this out but gave up when all he was greeted with was the odd grunt. I'm just glad that we didn't need urgent help or advice as who knows the response we would have got!

Any recommendation that I might give would be based solely on location and certainly not on service.

An ok hotel but definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucy071175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

All we did in the hotel was shower and sleep so I wasn't bothered about the small room. It was a lovely clean room and felt very traditional yet had everything you'd need.

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Close to the termini which is basically the centre of Rome, all lines direct here. It's easy accessible and has a lovely traditional restaurant on the street. The only thing is at night this area does become a little rough.. a lot of homeless people sleep near the train station in the Summer but we never had any problems, there are homeless people in all cities.

The staff were very friendly and helped us out loads. The breakfast was nice enough if you like croissants and juice. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandorasbox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Thomson / Citalia had this as a 4 star, but I don't know how this can be 4 star by anyone's rating! I expected the room to be small, that's Rome for you so I am not rating the room size. The cleanliness was not great with mould in the corner of the bathroom, the fabric and furniture was very old and dirty, there are no views, out 1st room was looking out at air con units, then we were moved to the street side. Noisy but better than looking at nothing. The safe was dodgy and we had to call them up every day to help us fix it, which seemed to annoy them.
The service wasn't good, they were not friendly even though I attempted to speak Italian phrases (basic but at least I tried). The breakfast was terrible, nothing warm, not even toast, just the same boring bread (not even that fresh) and some cakes and cereal - avoid coffee this is the worst I have EVER EVER tasted.
This was our 1st anniversary and we were terribly disappointed with this hotel - thank God that Rome is romantic as the location made up for it as we just spent as little time in the room as possible! The hotel was only a 5 minute walk from termini so it was convenient for that. I think if I was to go again I'd try treating ourselves to something fancy on Via Vittorio... nice area up near villa borghese. Probably costs a fortune up there but at least you won't feel like it was a waste of money like we felt with Hotel Luce.

Room Tip: Centre courtyard rooms looked ok for singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lnstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just got back from a short break at this hotel. Starting with the positives the room and hotel were clean, towels changed daily, breakfast was ok and the water was always hot. However, I would not say this hotel is 4 star. The rooms are small, dark and you can hear everything in neighbouring rooms- above and below!

There is no facility for making a hot drink in the room, which would be less of a problem if the hotel had a bar- but it doesn't. There is no area to sit and relax other than in your room and I guarantee you will not want to spend much time in there. I understand that your in Rome and won't want to spend time in the hotel but the star rating alludes to this hotel being better than it actually is. 3 star would be a far better reflection and create a more realistic expectation.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flukey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#906 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#764 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#759 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#814 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Esquilino
Floridia Hotel
Floridia Hotel
#761 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Regio
Hotel Regio
#447 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luce? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luce

Property: Hotel Luce
Address: Via Magenta 34, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#345 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,680 - ₹ 8,156
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and refined, Hotel Luce is ideal for anyone seeking tranquillity and elegance for their stay in the heart of Rome. The elegant hall welcomes guests upon their arrival, spacious and lit up by precious crystal chandeliers; there are also comfortable lounge areas where guests can relax on comfortable couches after a “hard” day visiting the Capital. Here guests can have a snack and a drink using the automatic dispensers. Hotel Luce offers its guests all the comforts that might be expected from a hotel of this category, guaranteeing a complete service catering to everyone’s needs. Guests may be in Rome for a romantic weekend, celebrating an anniversary, attending a cultural or artistic event, discovering the artistic beauty of the Eternal City or shopping in the elegant streets in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing