We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Timer at Hotel Madison”
Review of Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Madison
Ranked #760 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Parma, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Timer at Hotel Madison”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Best word to describe Hotel Madison is "at the center of all convenience". The hotel is few steps from: the train central station, city tour buses, taxis, shuttle/airport buses, you can walk to the places you want to see, restaurants, pharmacy and convenience stores. Towels are always changed everyday. Bedsheets are clean. Bed is comfortable. Staff are friendly, helpful and approachable. Continental breakfast is abundant. The walls are noise proof so it does not matter how noisy it is outside, you still have a good night sleep. In case you are not happy with the condition of your room or having problem with the aircondition unit, just report it to the staff, they are very accommodating.

Because of the above review, I booked my hotel with them again. See you Hotel Madison the next visit to Rome!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    252
    246
    101
    92
See reviews for
194
206
65
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Just got back from Rome. Thanks to all the comments here i had really low expectation from this hotel. So why still chose this hotel? Because of the nearnest to central train station, the relatively low price and because other hotels were booked out. So therefore i was pleasantly suprised when it wasn't as bad as i thought.

Okay. Location: GREAT! No problem with breakfast either. Scrambled eggs with bacon, cheese, ham, sausages, sweet croissants, buns, hard-boiled eggs...hot water for tea, hot milk for making hot chocolate and coffee. The only thing awful were the juices. Waiter and waitresses were friendly and helpful.

The men at the counter did not appear friendly but then again, we had no reasons to chat with them. They were friendly enough when we checked in and when we paid.

Now to the rooms. We booked a Quadruple Room. It was all occupied when we arrived. So we got two double bed rooms for the price of the one Quad Room. Room 1 was done up in gold (lovely) and faced the side road. The sound-proofed windows really cut down the noise level but if you need to sleep with the windows open (for personal reasons or because aircond not working) then it gets loud. Bathroom really clean. Some days we got plenty of towels some days less (?). Kept topping up the bars of soap (heh?). Mattresses were alright.

Room 2, hmmm, not exactly to my liking. The blue colour (or is it green) is a bit strange. My young teenagers did not mind though. Could it be that because this room has a view of these three dirty walls (airwell) the size of room was much bigger. A lot of space to move around. Bathroom was also clean. Number of towels constant. But the beds! If felt like a few heavy men has been sleeping on it. You just sink in the middle. Again for children's weight, was not a problem. So i think where the mattresses are concerned it has a lot to do with luck what you get. The children also loved the hotel labyrinth, what the adults would say irritating.

All in all, for the price we paid, i think we got our money's worth. Would i stay there again? In the vicinity, definately. In the same hotel, well, not necessary.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myzweicents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We found the hotel 5mins after we stepped off the train, so great location. good restaurants and cafes nearby. lovely old building, renovated inside. a warm welcome. room not quite ready so we breakfasted nearby. four separate beds for us - very good! good-sized room, nice bathroom. excellent buffet breakfast included in our price. a lot of different people on the front desk but we didn't need them. vending machine was fine, and a good deal compared with the prices on the street. i enjoyed this place, and no complaints. it was good for us with two young children. and back on the train 5mins after check-out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesPatrickM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is my second stay at the Madison, and again it was comfortable, clean and well appointed, with gracious concierge help as well as a full delicious breakfast. The location - a few steps from the termini is like all of Rome - busy with lots of foot and motor traffic - but well insulated windows create a quite restful spot. The Madison offers a great value with a convenient address.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljr58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Agree with the reviews of the other travelers and quite happy that a room for us wasnt available! The receptionist is unfriendly and made us wait (it was HOT!) while she cooly told us that a whole floor of the hotel was under renovation - frankly we couldnt believe one bit of what she said. Even the area where it is situated (right outside the station) looks grungy and dirty. So glad we were moved to a better hotel!

Room Tip: Best to avoid the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mnanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Galles
Hotel Galles
#691 of 1,256 in Rome
427 reviews
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#920 of 1,256 in Rome
309 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#588 of 1,256 in Rome
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,118 of 1,256 in Rome
235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#438 of 1,256 in Rome
639 reviews
Esquilino
Marco Polo
Marco Polo
#336 of 1,256 in Rome
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madison

Property: Hotel Madison
Address: Via Marsala 60, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #760 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,482 - ₹ 10,483
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madison provides n.130 tastefully furnished rooms with high quality materials and a overall standard of higher category. The Hotels' location is within walking distance from both the Central Station "Termini", the Underground lines A and B stations, and the bus stops for the most important lines. Consequently, the Madison Hotel is the ideal departure point to reach in few minutes the most famous historical and religious sites, as well as the most fashionable streets for the shopping We serve full American breakfast buffet, included in the rate, which is certainly a strong feature of our Hotel Group, thanks to the unanimous satisfaction for its quality and variety. In the Madison Hotel, WiFi connection is free and covers all rooms and common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aedes Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing