We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“necrophilia?”

Museum and Crypt of Capuchins
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 86.17*
and up
Exclusive Catacombs After Closing and Bone Chapel Tour
More Info
US$ 82.58*
and up
Small-Group Tour Crypts the Bone Chapel and Catacombs
More Info
US$ 82.58*
and up
Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour
Ranked #94 of 1,536 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
804 reviews
512 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“necrophilia?”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Only if a Catholic can explain you the reason of such a place (ask the friar, if you can undestand a single word) otherwise slipping in gruesome voyeurisme or senseless display of bones hurting tender sensibilities

Helpful?
Thank AndreaDG_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    649
    200
    67
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful bones”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is one of Rome's most breath-taking spectacles -- and also one of its best-kept secrets! An ossuary set beneath a church, it features the bones and full skeletons of many monks, displayed in artistic poses and sculptures. This might be too eerie for some people, but I find it strangely peaceful and moving. As one of the displays at the end notes, "What you are, we used to be; what we are, you will become." Thought-provoking and spellbinding, don't miss this the next time you're in the Eternal City.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumamoto, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not sure how I feel about this...”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

There is nothing average about seeing thousands of human bones formed into art but I'm not sure that I enjoyed my experience. It is very thought provoking though. 10 minutes is ample time... and i'm not sure you'd want much more than that!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ktraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bizarre, Disgusting, Fascinating -- And Unforgettable”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is an adult venue; please don't expose children to it. It's nightmare fuel for them.

This is likely the only place in the world where you can see human bones as artwork. Tens of thousands of them. Skulls piled upon skulls, skeletons dressed in the robes the monks died in, pelvises arranged around doorways, lamps made of rib cages.

Donation is 1 euro, which allows you to walk down a 300-foot (?) hallway peering at half a dozen rooms featuring the osteonic display. You'll see it all in 10-15 minutes depending on crowds. We were there in January and there was no wait to get in.

A sign among the skeletons in the last room leaves you with this sobering thought:

"Quello che siete fummo, quello che siamo sarete":
"What you are we were, and what we are you will become"

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kerrvertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Weirdest/best/ cheapest tourist site in Rome”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Part biology lesson, part "what were they thinking". Chandeliers, clocks, mantel pieces made from the bones of monks. The monitor at the entrance is pretty amusing too - she guards the place as if she built it herself. Interesting how people chose to hour the dead.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank kateisadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum and Crypt of Capuchins also viewed

 

Been to Museum and Crypt of Capuchins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing