We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location; an experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa di Santa Brigida
Ranked #551 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location; an experience”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

You are safe here. It was a memorable experience staying at Santa Brigita in a good location. The garden top was beautiful and a must see, but I did have to make arrangments in advance to go there at dawn. Sister corrected my Italian, which I appreciated and made me smile - just like my Catholic School days.

I went to Mass in the beautiful chapel. Lovely place.

We were not in the convent most of the time, but you do feel a bit confined; (like you are in a convent)! I guess that's to be expected. It is exciting when you think that you are staying in a building from the 13 century where St. Bridget lived.

Plan ahead to book a room, see St. Bridget's room, go on the beautiful rooftop, go to Mass with the nuns if you are so inclined.

Room Tip: Plan in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groovin087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    31
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
23
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Casa di Santa Brigida is a tranquil, meticulously clean and relaxing place to stay in the historic heart of bustling Rome. I recently stayed there over 8 nights with two girlfriends and we were keen to stay at the Casa firstly, because it had been recommended to us and because we liked the idea of a tranquil environment which would allow us a small glimpse of the life of the Sisters of this Order. (I am not a Catholic and in fact, had never met a nun before so I was not sure what to expect, but I was delighted to be welcomed by the Sisters into their environment and during the course of our stay to have some nice exchanges with the Sisters who could speak English).

The fact that you are reading this review and you are interested in this type of accommodation would indicate to me that you are seeking an environment that is not offered in mainstream hotels, so I will not take up space to offer any comparison.

The location of the Casa is perfect, right on the Piazza Farnese, one minute away from the Campo di Fiori and within close walking distance of the key sights of Rome. In addition to the main bus routes, a number of small electric bus routes service the Centro Storico of Rome and there is a very convenient stop immediately outside the Casa.

The Casa is peaceful, calm, very secure and meticulously clean. The three of us each had a delightful single room with a bathroom. My lovely sun-drenched room overlooked the Piazza Farnese with its two lovely fountains and the Palazzo Farnese. It was a pleasure to throw open my double glazed windows and hear the lovely sound of the water flowing in the fountains.

Buffet breakfast is included in the accommodation price and if you wish you can also arrange to have lunch and dinner at the Casa. There is a television room on one of the floors, but we did not go there.

The delightful roof-top garden has a lovely 360 degree view across the rooftops of Rome and across the expanse of the beautiful Piazza Farnese. A lovely place to be at dusk and we spent many an evening there just talking and laughing quietly and relaxing.

I noted that some reviewers have expressed the opinion that they feel the Casa is a little expensive for a convent. I find this a strange comment as all places offering accommodation do have similar overheads. I firmly believe that there are some things in life that you cannot put a dollar figure on. One of these is the warm and genuine welcome of the Sisters at the Casa Santa di Santa Brigida!

When I next visit Rome I will be travelling alone and will be returing to the Casa. I cannot think of a more perfect place to stay for a single traveller who wants friendly, secure and caring accommodation. The delightful Sisters will welcome you warmly.

Room Tip: My friends' rooms were on the side of the Casa and they said that they were woken at times durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank deRohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All Over
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This convent was a god-send in Rome. It is in an extrememly convenient location. I walked everywhere. The convent is on the beautiful Piazza Farnese which is right up against the Campo Di'Fiori with its beautiful flower market. Every night I did the "night walk" from the Campo Di'Fiori to the Piazza Navona, to the Pantheon, to the Trevi Fountain to the Spanish Steps. It was so beautiful and romantic!

The sisters are reserved, but very nice. I tried to be very respectful and friendly, and they were always very helpful in answering any questions I had. If you want internet, make sure to request it before you are given your room. Some rooms do not have internet access. The access is provided through an ethernet cable. My room also had excellent A/C.

The roof-top is beautiful and a nice place to relax. The convent also has nice sitting rooms, a library and a tv room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twee2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenwich ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This was our 4th time staying at this hotel. Though we have been to Rome almost ever other year since 97, once we found this, we book it each time. For us it is more home away from home and a guest house than a hotel. The sisters are quiet because they are semi cloistered, so service is gentle. No need for tips just offer a gracious thank you or not, yet you become one remembered in their daily prayers. Their roof top terrace is lovely with a view of the city, and great place for a hot evening away from it all. The library is gorgeous. Tiny nooks containing antiques are available for sitting. The public is invited to attend prayer services, and one can request a tour of the private rooms of Saint Brigitta. The location is perfect for day sightseeing and evening strolling, close to everything. A few evenings can be a bit noisy in the summer since it is next to the French Embassy and right on the piazza Farnese where groups gather for events, which many of them were interesting to watch from the roof. But that is Rome. I plan to be there again in October if they have room. I can agree the price per room seems high if it is compared to a guest house run by a religious order, but compared to a hotel it is a bargain. And the location can't be beat for the price, not to mention the safe area if traveling alone.

Room Tip: Book early since many are repeat travelers. Other than one room, they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank drshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My sister, daughter and I stayed in two rooms for three nights. Lovely refuge in the middle of the busy city. This was a great location within walking distance to every place we wanted to go but we also bused quite a bit because they are so easily available. Room was immaculate and while the bathroom was small it also was very clean and perfectly functional. Nuns were very hospitable and available as needed to answer questions, arrange taxi, pay bill, etc. We had an AC in both of our rooms which was also much appreciated.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jj1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#348 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#125 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#172 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#46 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Portoghesi
Hotel Portoghesi
#104 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa di Santa Brigida? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Santa Brigida

Property: Casa di Santa Brigida
Address: Via di Monserrato 54, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Style:
#277 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,073
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Casa Di Santa Brigida Hotel Rome
Casa Di Santa Brigida Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing