We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
US$ 343
US$ 317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 243
US$ 222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 252
US$ 243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$ 343
US$ 289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 196
US$ 183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 236
US$ 196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$ 385
US$ 271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$ 197
US$ 167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$ 385
US$ 306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Giolli Nazionale(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 190
US$ 129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,597)
Filter reviews
2,599 results
Traveller rating
1,727
669
149
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,727
669
149
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf price drinkspiazza del popolospanish stepsfree bar snacksflaminio metro stationdeluxe roomwithin walking distancepastriesrooms are smallturn down serviceevery eveningclassic roomtrevi fountainan upgradelovely hotelhotel barfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,658 - 1,663 of 2,599 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have just returned from the River Palace hotel having taken my Mum as a 60th birthday surpise. The hotel is absolutely fantastic, a two minute walk from Flaminio Metro station and a pleasant five minute walk from the main shopping street Via Del Corso. All of the main attractions are so easy to get to from the hotel. The hotel issued a map on arrival and we walked to most of the sights! The room was lovely, two great big apples on arrival followed by chocolates on the pillow each day and a hand written weather prediction for the following day. The room was lovely - not huge but definately not small as other rooms suggest - it was just right for a city break. The bathroom was very nice, slippers, robes and hair dryer provided. Breakfast was fantastic - full English or continental breakfast provided. Full range of fruits, yoghurts, pastries, cereals, breads,biscuits, juices, tea and coffee, sparkling wine. (Every type of tea seemed to be available) We actually didn't need lunch as we made th most of the breakfasts!
The staff were friendly, efficient and couldn't seem to do enough for us! Another bonus is the bar is halfprice to guests from 6pm - 10pm. Baileys 2Euros, wine 3Euros, huge cocktails 5Euros. Fantastic experience and would definately stay at the River Palace again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsdianam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I was torn between 2 or 3 hotels for this trip and am pleased to say I picked a good one in the River Palace. We had never been to Rome before and after reading reports were a wee bit apprehensive. We landed in Rome around 20.30 on Sunday 18th Mar and caught a taxi at the airport to the hotel no complaints but taxi kept the meter on level 2 all the way in even although we were only 100 yards out of the boundary. Arrived at the hotel 21.40 check in spot on and shown to the room 102 and were also shown the quirky lift set up. As most other reports have said the rooms are not the largest in the world but did have the basics of hair dryer and fridge with mini bar. Bathroom could have been a bit bigger but was ample. We went down to the bar to finish off their happy hour and were surprised to see the area full of my countrymen who had been at the rugby still there (Celtic tops and Kilts and Rugby don't go together). Breakfast was of good quality with the usual choices of yoghurt and fruit along with pastries etc, you could also have a hot breakfast with scrambled eggs / boiled eggs ,bacon, sausages potato cakes(hash browns) along with tea coffee and juice. Reception were very helpful in advising how to get to where we were going each day. There is a tram stop 100 yards from the hotel and the metro is about 30 yards further. We never bothered with getting different passes and the Vatican is 2 stops away in 1 direction with Spanish Steps 1 stop in the other. The Metro system is easy to follow and costs 1 Euro per journey within 75 minutes which makes everything well within reach. We did not encounter any problems with pocket dippers but were always on the alert for them.
There are a few places to eat along the street from the hotel and even the standard Burger King but go a 5 minute walk through the Piazza and there are more places to eat. The walk from the hotel to any of the sites is easy to do with I would say an exception of the Colloseum which I would do by Metro. All in I would say this is a very good hotel to base yourself in and I would have no problem in saying to people to go there

Room Tip: Rooms over the main street can have a bit of noise from the trams
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gibby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We really enjoyed the River Palace Hotel. It is in a perfect location, placing you in walkable distances from the Colloseum and Vatican City. Just steps away from a metro stop (so you do not have to walk as must to either if you do not want to). They have a wonderful Breakfast that was included in our room. We enjoyed the happy hour with great prices and snacks in the evening along with the ability to talk with other guests. The only down side was our room faced the street and with the tolley outside our window, it was noisy. I would highly recommend staying here, just ask for a room off the main road.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank chillaxindude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned after an 8 night stay at the palace in their Villa Borghese suite. From the moment we walked in we knew we had made the right decision. The room was spotless, the terrace a beautiful place to sit and have our complimentary welcome bottle of wine, which was unexpected but so appreciated. The decor is wonderful, but the staff are certainly what made the stay so great. They all take the time to say hello and ask how you are, and it's quite genuine.
We didn't figure out until the fourth night about happy hour, all I can say is take advantage of it! The drinks are all very reasonably priced and the bartenders make quality drinks.
The location is perfect, half a block north of Piazza del Popolo. We were able to walk everywhere, but if you need to get somewhere fast the metro is literally just down the street.
I did a lot of research to find a hotel in Rome to suit our needs and of course budget. After staying at the River Palace I almost feel like we paid too little for the level of service we received.

Room Tip: If you aren't booking one of the top floor suites, try to get a room on the first floor to avoid having to take a second elevator.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfbearduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews