We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peruvian/Roma fusion”

La Gallina Capricciosa
Ranked #4,267 of 13,940 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Flaminio
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Peruvian/Roma fusion in a squeaky clean, super well-run "hole in the wall."

We had the chilled raw ceviche (cubed) with corn in a lightly spiced sauce. Also had spatchcocked bbq chicken with potatoes in a delicious cream sauce, plus salad.

Everything, including two large birre, was €28. Excellent service and friendly staff. Italian, Spanish and English all spoken. Loved it!

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

I have no experience with the peruvian kitchen , but if this is the standard I am not going to Peru anytime soon. A plate of deep fried chicken, plain rice and french fries and two slices of tomatos is hardly gourmet, but fair enough. It was close to the description on the menu card.
However, it is NOT ok that the chicken is red and raw inside, not at all cooked enough. We had two of the same dishes and stopped eating the chicken very fast in fear of being hit by a Cairo quick step afterwards. Sorry guys, just not ok.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank claus6142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

The food was really good but the chili appetizer a bit strong :)
Really good service from "Mr. Peru" - think it was the first time he had visitors from Denmark and Iceland :)
worth a visit

Date of visit: January 2015
Thank Danni_Thyrrestrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014

i had a great chance to have plenty of peruvian food just as you were in lima: very good ceviche, tasty anticuchos and the most spicy aji ever tried, and all very cheap. I was the only non peruvian in the house.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicolads74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I had no idea that there was a thriving Peruvian community in Rome, until my girlfriend and I came across La Gallina Capricciosa. We have eaten there at least half a dozen times, and walk by it all the time. Every time we look in, it is packed with Peruvians, and most of them are eating chicken. The restaurant seems to organize or sponsor events for the Peruvian community, such as concerts.

The chicken is most excellent. Since the chicken is so good, we've never tried anything else on the menu! We always order one of three dishes: The "lomo", which is pieces of boneless chicken, marinated, and served over rice and french fries; the "broster" (that is how it's spelled on the menu), which is a fried half chicken, served with french fries; or the grilled chicken. These are all yummy. We usually go with the "lomo" if we feel like keeping low on the calories, or the "broster" if the opposite. The french fries are delicious, and are of the thick cut variety.

The service is very friendly, although a little slow because there's basically just one waiter who serves everybody. The decor is nice, with various Peruvian themes on the walls, e.g., the Nazca lines. The restaurant is small and therefore cramped.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank tripod-visor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gallina Capricciosa also viewed

 

Been to La Gallina Capricciosa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing