We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #216 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We are a family of 7 including grandpartents, adults, teenages and a toddler. We booked two appartments connected to the Apollo Hotel at number 76 via Urbana right next to Covour Metro station. We were very pleased with the appartments, they were very spacious and in a fantastic location. Massimo was very helpful and told us about great places to eat and also where the best gelato store was and all his recomendations were spot on. We had a great stay in Rome. The appartments were so close to the colosseum, roman forum, The National monument (wedding cake), imperial forum, and only one stop away from Termini central train station. We could not have asked for more. Book with ease

Room Tip: Book apartments at number 76 via Urban due to it proximity to cavour metro station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Macca582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    285
    76
    14
    15
See reviews for
239
223
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed mid May,location was good but there was no English speaking channels on tv (not even CNN) we were told air con is a central system and not switched on until the last two weeks of May, we could not sleep with the windows open due to the noise from the street.
Staff were generally helpful, there is a good restaurant just to the right of the hotel as you exit about 30m away. Breakfast was nice aswell

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franknbetty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed with another couple in two rooms in July 2011.

The rooms were a little dark and not overly large but were well furnished/decorated, well maintained and immaculately clean.

The family that runs the Apollo was very welcoming, helpful and understanding of our limited Italian. The restaurant recommendations they provided were superb.

The location (the Colosseum can be seen from the street in front of the property) and the daily rooftop full breakfast (with authentic Espresso!) were highlights.

We would stay if going to Rome again and highly recommend the Apollo to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianInMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in the hotel's 1-bedroom apartment (located directly next to the hotel). The best thing about this hotel is location-- very close to the Colosseum and the Forum (10-15 minute walk to Colosseum). The apartment was spacious for our family of 5 (2 adults, 2 kids on sofa bed, 1 in crib). The terrace of the apartment was nice. The staff of the hotel is very gracious and friendly, though some do not speak very much English.

Though our stay was good overall, there were a number of issues:
-- There was water damage on the ceiling in the living room, and more significantly in the bathroom, causing mold to grow. The bathroom had a musty/moldy smell. This would be a definite problem if you are allergic to mold, and frankly, it was unsightly.
-- There was dust/wood shavings that regularly fell from one of the beams in the living area (a pile would re-appear after cleaning on the furniture underneath). Was it termites?
-- The fridge did not work when we first arrived, though this problem was addressed quickly.
Overall, the apartment is in a great location and is a great space, but needs some improvements.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

The location is great. Within 3 blocks of the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Palatine Hill. And a 25 min walk to Trevi and Pantheon. Our room looked into an inner atrium - no view - but that was good as we got a quiet haven away from the noise of Rome. We slept well and the breakfast was good. It was nice to eat in the open air on their room terrace. The only odd things were the plastic base under the bed sheets (a bit crunchy to sleep on) and the lack of a safe in the room, or at the front desk, so we couldn't lock away our passports. Otherwise it was great. The staff were very helpful, even the ones that couldn't speak a word of English - it worked out fine with sign language.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#196 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#116 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#85 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#156 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#193 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#170 Business Hotel in Rome
#205 Family Hotel in Rome
#310 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,960 - ₹ 13,859
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Apollo in Rome is a 3 star hotel close to the Colosseum, Imperial Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Thanks to its strategic position near Termini main Train Station and close to the Underground Station of "Cavour", Hotel Apollo is your ideal and comfortable solution in downtown Rome. Hotel Apollo Rome provides comfortable and tastefully designed accommodation with modern facilities and services. We offer 24 elegant rooms, guests can choose among single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and large family rooms. All rooms have been recently renovated and include clean private bathrooms with bath or shower. Rooms are carpeted and furnished with wooden fittings creating a warm homely atmosphere. One Hotel Apollo's plus is undoubtedly its Roof Garden, providing the ideal spot to enjoy a complimentary Italian breakfast on Roman roofs by the Colosseum, before going out to enjoy the city. Another appreciated plus is our Bar opened from 6 pm where you can enjoy a drink and relax after a whole day spent in the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing