We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a 3 star, without the perks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #346 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More like a 3 star, without the perks”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My wife and I just stayed at the Residenza di Ripetta from 5th June to 8th June 2012. The check-in was ok, we asked for a room with a good view and were told that we were getting one of their best views and it will be quiet. Evertyhing looked ok, however was downhill from there onwards.

The room we got was very dated, the view was a wall opposite. It was noisy, dirty ceilings and had mould growing all around the air conditioning unit and near the door. There was a gap in the window when closed and therefore it was very, very noisy - we did not get one good night sleep.

The breakfast had little choice and the same thing was on the menu each day. There was not enough staff to replenish stock, even just the simple things like keeping the orange juice topped up seemed to much. The staff were over worked and did not have time to do all that was needed.

There was no free wifi or internet acces. Most annoyingly, THIS HOTEL DOES NOT LEND IRONS TO ANY GUESTS citing 'safety reasons'; This is a joke and something I have never heard of in any other hotel accross the world.

The only way to iron your clothes is to use the hotel laundry service which has a long list of disclaimers, most noticibabely if your item is lost by them, then they are only liable up to five times the cost of the ironing. So if they lost my £299 Armani jacket, they would only cover the cost of 8 Euro for ironing x 5 = circa £40. Obviously, I did use this service, even more dampening our experience in this hotel as I had to accept to walk around in creased clothes.

My advice to you all in GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. Dont ignore the warning signs. This is not good value-for-money at all.

Room Tip: Dont bother wasting your money here, if you want to enjoy Rome, go somewehere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gurdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear guest,

we are deeply sorry to hear your experience with us was not pleasantly enjoyable for you. The room type booked wa properly allocated and honestly we are surprised you are reporting noise troubles, being your room not facing the main street.
Regarding the breakfast menu, for wich our Chef selected a varied choice of high quality food, it is of course pretty much the same day to day. Some changes are made according to seasonal fresh products during the year time.
An internet wi- fi connection is provided by high speed broadband, this is the reason why it is subject to a little charge.
The fact we do not provide irons it is not due to an internal hotel policy but it is dictated by a government law (D.M. 9/04/1994) that commands the full respect of Fire Prevention indications.
Regarding the refund policy of our Laundry Service, we confirm it is corresponding to the ones normally applied by all laundries. Furthermore we are sorry you decided not to trust our staff in ironing your clothes because it is our first policy to always take good care of our guests and their belongings.
We thank you anyways for taking your time to write this comment, that we will surely take in consideration to keep improving our services.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    226
    83
    34
    27
See reviews for
179
247
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We arrived to be told "you have booked our newly renovated room, near the courtyard and it will be a very quiet side of the hotel" That could not be further from the truth! Our room was ground floor and looked on the restauraunt courtyard.Not only at night was it noisy because of the restaurant , but there was a conference which had cocktails and a DJ which was placed right outside our window.We rang reception they said it will all end by 10.30pm....at 11.30pm it was still on and getting louder!We demanded to be moved , which they did to the older part of the hotel, so by midnight we were changing rooms-not what you want to be doing on your holiday.The room was stuffy but very big- and we couldnt put the air con on as it was turned off for the night-so we slept with the balcony door open - and the noises from morning woke us up bright and early.The staff did try to help us especially a lady in reception which i forgot her name, and understood why we were upset,and did the best they could to accomodate us.So my advise is dont have a room especially on ground floor overlooking the courtyard-even if its the better renovated one!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samgalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear guest,

we wish to confirm that the room you have booked was an Executive Junior Suite and you were actually free upgraded to a Royal Junior Suite. We apologize if the music, wich we assure is never loud, disturbed your evening but on the other hand we have to say that from our records your change of room happened before 11 p.m. Furthermore, wanting to please you the most we could, we moved you to a Royal Duplex Apartment, allowing you to have an additional room type upgrade.
Regarding AC we have to reconfirm what our Staff surely told you, that is not up to hotels the times of operating hours and during the month of May no more than 8 hours per day are allowed. We wish to have you back here soon, hoping to be able to improve your experience with us

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This was the worst hotel I ever stayed in during my 16 nights in Italy! The room was stuffy and you couldn't open the windows due to the motorcycles running all night long! The bed was so uncomfortable. The bath tub was so narrow that I feared for my life every time I turned around in it while taking a shower. They have no clue as to how the internet should work - at every other place I stayed in Italy (no matter how big or small) I never had ANY trouble with the wireless service offered. But when I got to Rome, at this hotel, I started having all this trouble????? You were only able to use the internet in their lobby wirelessly or pay extra money to have direct hook up in the room and I only found out about this after 3 days of getting different stories from their staff. The food was also horrible and I would never have believed that you could get horrible food anywhere in Italy! NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BklnHghtsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear guest,



we regret to hear you did not have a nice experience with us. As you can imagine we have many types of rooms in the hotel, from the standard cathegory, to Suites, up to Presidential Suites. The one you booked was the lowest type and it is more basically furnished, not comparable to our Junior Suites or Suites.

Concerning the noise from the street, we are sorry in hearing that, meanwhile we are unable to control it as it depends on vehicles circulation.

The internet connection is equally provided, on the lobby and in the rooms, by a fixed price high speed wi-fi. Unfortunately some laptops do not match perfectly the frequence of our wi-fi, but it can be easily solved by setting some parameters directly into the device with the friendly support of our Front Desk staff.

Concerning the food, we are very surprised of your words because it is always much appreciated, due to the high quality food we provide to our guests, properly cooked and served by our Restaurant Cuisine. As well reading the other reviews, our Restuarant is always mentioned and quoted from our guests, for buffet breakfast, apertif, lunch and dinner

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holon, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel at the dates 27/05/12 to 01/06/12. We both highly recommend the hotel. The rooms are very large, very suitable for families, very quiet and equipped with all you need: many cabinets, refrigerator, safe, excellent air conditioning, and even kitchen aids. And much more. The hotel is located in a historic structure, a fact that adds to the experience. Excellent four-star hotel providing excellent value for money! The hotel staff were nice and very professional. All our requests were immediate and professional response and all with a smile and a genuine desire to help.
The breakfast was excellent except that there were no vegetables at all. We were very pleased if there were cucumbers, tomatoes and lettuce - but that's the situation in a lot of places in Italy unfortunately. There were eggs (maybe you could add a hard boiled egg), sausages, bacon, cheese (very fat), pastries, yogurts, cereals, fruit selection, breads, etc. - everything except vegetables ... Breakfast is served in the courtyard, quiet and beautiful garden.

The hotel is located Excellent. Central but very quiet. Two minutes' walk from Piazza del Popolo, the Metro, and Corso Street, 5 minutes from the Spanish Steps - What a treat!

Well done - we highly recommend the hotel! We will be happy to come again
Sincerely
Doron and Tammy, Holon, Israel.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room, even though all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your beautiful words and for recomanding the hotel to our future guests. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay here and liked our buffet breakfast, now served in the peaceful inner garden. We offer a large selection of products from the menu of the Continental Breakfast. This kind of breakfast is not supposed to include vegetables, by the way we hope this didn't affect your experience with us. Hoping to have you back here soon,

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The room we had here on the first floor was huge. It was two storeys! It was very pleasant, but slightly run down. We felt it could be brilliant with a little bit of work to fix the cracks in the walls, the blocked drains, the peeling wallpaper, the faulty wifi and the dodgy air conditioner that switched itself off every night just when you really needed it. Having said that, the staff were very attentive and nothing was a hassle. When the air went off they sent us fans. Any request was welcomed and assistance was always given with a smile. The hotel was in a pretty good location, too and although we didn’t eat in the courtyard restaurant, it looked stunning. The only thing it didn’t have was an iron in the room, apparently due to safety regulations. It’s a minor thing, but with irons that turn themselves off automatically now, it seems a bit extreme. Having travelled for a few weeks, it would have been great to have pressed clothes. They do offer to press them as a service, but the cost is pretty high. Generally, this was a pretty good place and I doubt you’d find a room this big elsewhere. We had a pretty comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your comment. We appreciated all the good things you have wished to highlight, such as our staff kindness, the garden restaurant, the location an so on. On the other hand we also appreciated your negative notes and we will take them in high consideration to always improve our service.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#240 of 1,257 in Rome
965 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#154 of 1,257 in Rome
1,538 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#299 of 1,257 in Rome
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#228 of 1,257 in Rome
416 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#461 of 1,257 in Rome
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Property: Residenza di Ripetta
Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#187 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,097 - ₹ 20,966
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing