We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant small hotel by the Spanish Steps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fontanella Borghese
Ranked #335 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Elegant small hotel by the Spanish Steps”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Fontinella Borghese on our last night in Italy. The room was small but well appointed and comfortable. The front desk staff were very patient with our numerous questions. Breakfast was served in a lovely room. It was easy to get around and we walked everywhere. During our nine days in Italy we stayed at four different hotels and each had different and unique attributes. I enjoyed our brief stay at this hotel and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilmettetraveler1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOMMYMIO, Proprietario at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you again at our hotel! We wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    110
    38
    6
    9
See reviews for
77
111
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The hotel has a veryy good location, very central, walking distance to many important places, but the people working at the front desk are really unpolite. There´s an ancient woman, that shouted and argued with me and told me to sit down because she lost some tickets that someone asked to give to me.
There´s also an ancient man that do the same thing. They don´t have pacient at all with the guests. The only polite front desk is a girl that speaks portuguese and the owner of the hotel.
The pictures of the rooms and the breakfast are not real!!! When we arrived there the rooms are much smaller than they looked in the pictures, and the bathroom also is very tiny.
There´s no one to help with the bags, and there´s a veryyy tiny elevator that only fits 1 person and 2 bags, and no one to help. If you don´t care about the people working there and shouting with you, it´s a good hotel, only because of the location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DudaSoggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Excellent central location, all major attractions within easy walking distance. Very helpful and friendly owner and staff. Although quite small, the room was comfortable. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Looking forward to staying there again on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We arrived at this place in the night and the taxi driver didn't know where the hotel was, when we found the hotel our room was at an upper floor but the only way to reach the room, with our heavy and big suitcases, were the stairs!!
In the morning the owner a highly tanned woman annoyed us trying to impose what to do during our stay and where to eat... we think that they give her some money since she was very insistent... while she was screaming on the phone with someone...she told us about her life and her daughter, we had to stop her to bother us telling her we didn't understand what she was trying to say...Another woman at the computer prevented us to check our mail at the computer since wi fi connection was off!! The rooms are small and price excessive...The only positive thing is the location...few minutes from Spanish Steps. We would not at all suggest this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank deannaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have stayed in the Fontanella Borghese hotel several times now and it is always wonderful. The location couldn't be better for shopping and is surrounded by several great little restaurants. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is included with local pastries, fresh fruits, cereal and coffee/tea. The have Wi-Fi in the lobby, as well as a computer for guests to use. Most important, the staff at this hotel are all friendly and extremely helpful.
I can highly recommend the Hotel Fontanella Borghese!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mechandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#258 of 1,261 in Rome
342 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#180 of 1,261 in Rome
1,445 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#115 of 1,261 in Rome
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#344 of 1,261 in Rome
711 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel 939
Hotel 939
#894 of 1,261 in Rome
167 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#298 of 1,261 in Rome
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontanella Borghese? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontanella Borghese

Property: Hotel Fontanella Borghese
Address: Largo della Fontanella di Borghese 84, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#193 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#285 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,162 - ₹ 16,587
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontanella Borghese 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fontanella Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontanella Borghese Hotel
Fontanella Borghese Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing