We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Aberdeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aberdeen Hotel
Ranked #307 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Love this Hotel for 3 main reasons –
1 -Near the Train terminal
2 - Friendly and helpful staff
3 – Great price for Rome
I love the location and the bathroom was big and very nice. A bit hard to find if you don’t have a map or you are just looking for their sign. With you map easy to find. Loved Rome.
The air conditioner was a bit undersized but it was unusually hot for Rome – I would defiantly go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in June and we were very happy with the hotel, with the service. We have a quad room, the room is not big, but it is nice and very clean. The include breakfast was very good. The location is excellent, we walked from the Termini station to the hotel. The staff has helped me to get a taxi to the airport, we appreciated it. I would return to hotel Aberdeen if I ever go to Rome again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canyon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My family stayed here four nights in June 2012. It's a "Rick Steves" recommendation. On the plus side, that means it's reasonably priced, clean, in a good location, and isn't a "business-class" hotel. On the slightly minus side is that it means lots of Americans. But the Americans who stay in Rick Steves hotels aren't the kind of Americans who complain about the food, the difficulty of finding American essentials, or the fact that no one speaks English - all that we experienced at the Rome Airport Hilton when our flight back to the US was cancelled.

The positives of the hotel are clearly noted in other reviews, most of which I agree with fully.

It's a bit far from the "attractions" of Rome, especially when the summer heat sets in, like it did when we were there. We were initially okay with that because it's only a block or two from a Metro stop. The thing we didn't fully appreciate is that Rome's metro is fairly spartan for a city so large, and there are no Metro stops in the center of the old part of Rome. You can take the metro to the Vatican and the Coliseum, but not, for example, Piazza Navona. And even the clerk at the hotel warned us about the buses that would be the obvious option in lieu of the metro (Rick Steves did as well) - pickpockets and groping. For us, the price was right, especially for a family room. But if price is not so much an issue, I could see how a place closer to the heart of the city might work better, especially for families with small children.

The only other caveat is that in the heat of summer the air conditioning, at least in the room we stayed in, was okay but not great. We live in the south, so we're used to heat. It's supposed to be 105 one day this week at home. But we're also used to having an A/C respite from the heat, especially on summer nights. I know this is such an "American" complaint and my Rick Steves merit badge should be yanked out of my hands. But when when you're used to having good A/C to take the edge off a hot summer day, and used to sleeping with good A/C, it can make for a restless night. Just want to be honest.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tamjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My sister, sister in law and I stayed in this hotel the last 3 evening while we were in Italy. We really appreciated the help from the desk and the clean room. Breakfast was very good also. It meant a great deal to us being able to gett good suggestions on where to eat, how to connect with the bus where one gets off and on. The tour to the Vatican was already taken care of before we arrived for my sister and sister in law. The shops close by and a good wine store were super. I would stay here again if I traveled to Rome. Everyone in the hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights (June 7 to June14 , 2012). The location is excellent. Nearly all the sights and services are within walking distance.The room (12) was clean , elegant and comfortable. Breakfast and service very good. Staff at the reception very friendly and helpful. Many thanks to all .In general very good price@quality choice. Book it.

A small problem with the elevator.It is outside the reception.Somebody must go up the stairs to open, from inside,the door into the rooms corridor,

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreas a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#141 of 1,269 in Rome
619 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#243 of 1,269 in Rome
1,530 reviews
Esquilino
Bellesuite Rome
Bellesuite Rome
#672 of 1,269 in Rome
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,269 in Rome
1,318 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#222 of 1,269 in Rome
1,244 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#67 of 1,269 in Rome
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Hotel

Address: Via Firenze 48, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#124 Family Hotel in Rome
#298 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 5,282 - ₹ 30,926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdeen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen hotel has been completely refurbished and is located in a convenient position on walking distance to the main important sites. The rooms are carefully furnished down to the smallest detail and offer all the comforts. It's the ideal place to begin a visit to the Capital or start off on a shopping trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aberdeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aberdeen Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing