We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giuseppe was a wonderful guide”

Italy Driving Guide
Ranked #240 of 911 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Italy Driving Guide provides you with sightseeing, shore excursions, day trips and transfers all over Italy. All services will be supplied by Mercedes Minivans (up to 8 seats) or minibus (more than 8 seats) or Mercedes Sedan (up to 3 seats). A multilanguage speaking driver guide will take care of you by giving tourist information on board of vehicles.For additional info. please have a look to our web site .Enjoy Italy with Italy Driving Guide.
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We spent 9 days in Italy and had Giuseppe Magnosi as a guide for all but our arrival day. His recommendations were fabulous and he was tremendously knowledgeable. We traveled in the off season in December. The lack of crowds was great. Giuseppe was a great guide.

Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pino m, Proprietario at Italy Driving Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you so much CHRISTOPER -
at your disposal for further info. and assistance you should need
Josph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"san giovanni rotondo"
in 8 reviews
"padre pio"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 5 reviews
"visit rome"
in 3 reviews
"cruise"
in 9 reviews
"sites"
in 7 reviews
"positano"
in 4 reviews
"company"
in 5 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2017

I cannot say enough about the service we received from Giuseppe. I was lucky enough to have heard about him from a former co-worker of mine a couple of years ago as he had used his services. He told me that I really needed this guy if I wanted to get the most out of my trip to Italy. He was correct. It started with him picking us up from the airport the morning we arrived. He took us to our hotel to get checked in. From then on he was at our every beckon call. He had our cell phone number & we had his. He had Wi-Fi on his van for us to access while he showed us all of Rome, Florence, Sienna, Sorrento, Amalfi Coast. What was especially nice is he took us to restaurants where the locals ate which were very good & reasonably priced. He also set up our trip to the Vatican and purchased the tickets in advance for us and put us with a walking tour guide who was awesome Valentina.
We had already made reservations for the train to take us to Florence from Rome so he drove his van to Florence and spent the night in order to take us touring in Florence and Sienna. His knowledge of the city and its history is incredible.
HE IS A MUST hire if you want to see all of the main attractions as well as hear the history of it. He knows all the shortcuts and back streets to get you up close and personal. I highly recommend doing the Rome Lit Up tour at night. Beautiful!
I will definitely be returning and will certainly use Italy Driving Guide again as well as I have told everyone I know.

Thank you Giuseppe! You made our visit once in a lifetime experience.

Ciao.

Thank Lesla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pino m, Proprietario at Italy Driving Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you so much for your positive reviews. I appreciate.
Always at your disposal for further services you should need.
Have a nice Christmas and Happy New Year
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Driving in Italy is very easy compared to the USA. Slow drivers keep to the right on the Autostrada, with the left lane reserved for fast traffic. Unlike the USA, nobody passes on the right. Road quality is very good. If you like to drive, rent a car, and enjoy the independence. Some say why drive if there is public transportation, but for those who love independent travel, and love driving, the answer is why take public transportation if you can drive?

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pino m, Proprietario at Italy Driving Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

I appreciate your comments for my country.
This joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Giuseppe & company carted 7 of us around all week. I'd call them again for sure. They also have many connections to set up experiences and tours as well. Thanks guys. We had a fantastic trip.

Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pino m, Proprietario at Italy Driving Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

This a lot for your words.
I appreciate
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Ok here are a few pointers to driving in this lovely country.
Some sort of GPS system will be indispensable although the sign posting is quite clear and easy to follow even if you don't speak the language especially on the motorways.
Motorways: These are toll operated on a pay as you go basis you can use a telepass automatic sensor system which allows you to drive through or pay cash some do have facility for taking credit cards but cash is always king!!
As you enter a motorway you will take a ticket which is automatically dispensed from the machine take the ticket and this will lift the barrier automatically so you can go.
When you leave the motorway there will either be attended booths or self service booths the attended one's are easy just hand over your ticket the amount to pay will be displayed in red you pay and go on your way.
The self service booths you drive up there is a facility to change the language press the button with 2 flags to get the required language then follow the instructions.
A flashing light shows you where to put your ticket on your left usually then to the right of this a small drawer will swing open to put in your coins and just below this there is the facility to put in notes.
The draw will automatically lose when you have put in the coins and any change due will be in there as the drawer will open for you to collect your change.
Driving is generally quite easy and the motorways are excellent with plenty of rest stops for refuelling both the car and the people.
Fueling
3ways to do this self service and pay yourself at a machine or self service and pay at the counter
and finally full service.
It is pretty obvious what ever doesn't have diesel written is unleaded fuel there are various grades of unleaded obviously the higher the grade the more expensive most stations will clearly display this on the pumps themselves and/or on the large signage.
With self service and pay at the machine you can use coins, notes and credit cards but note that some machines will not take common credit cards like visa or MasterCard but only fuelcards.
Ok there is usually 1 machine per pump island. At the machine there is usually a facility to choose the language something like 2 flags or an F1 button it will tell you usually you insert your credit card or notes you can select the amount you want to put in you will see that the machine will automatically block €100 just in case someone does a runner!! Of course you need to out in your pin you then select the pump you want an promptly lift the nozzle and fill if you wait too long it will cancel the transaction. When you replace the nozzle after filling go back to the machine to collect your receipt.
Self service is usually 24 hours.
As I mentioned earlier the motorway system is excellent the lane on the left is the fast lane if someone comes speeding up behind you just politely indicate right change lanes let them pass.
The very impatient ones will sit on you tail!!
The max speed on open motorways is 130km/h but can vary on various stretches of the same motorway depending on weather, road works, etc if you are unsure always observe the road signs even if your GPS says differently.
Parking.
In city centres there is usually what is called the ZLT which is a congestion zone and is restricted to residents and certain goods and services vehicles beware because you may inadvertently enter this zone without knowing incurring a hefty fine so where possible park outside the city centre and take public transport.
Parking meters are of 2 types where you pay before hand for the amount of time you want usually they give you 15 mins free just press the green button first on the bottom left take the ticket the just above the green button is a button showing 2 flags which you press to change the language. Next feed in the coins and the display will show the expiry time when you have the time you want then press the green button to produce the ticket if you leave the transaction too long it will cancel automatically.
Alternatively you can get a day parking ticket which is like a scratch card so you clearly scratch out the year month and date and display it or the machine ticket clearly inside the front windscreen.
That's pretty much it just be careful where you park remember white is usually residents parking blue is paid parking and there are some streets where there is street cleaning at certain times and days.
Also there are some areas where there is restricted time parking for maybe 1 hour the times will all be displayed in the 24 hour format.
That's pretty much it otherwise common sense prevails...Enjoy the drive!!

Thank traveller1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph Pino M, Proprietario at Italy Driving Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

thks for writing these important reviews
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Italy Driving Guide also viewed

Rome, Province of Rome
Rome, Province of Rome
 
Rome, Province of Rome
Rome, Province of Rome
 

Been to Italy Driving Guide? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing