We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Aventino Area”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #42 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have a second home in Rome in Testaccio, and this hotel is right around the corner, about 3 blocks from our apartment. We've been referring our friends to this place for years, and have stayed there ourselves on a handful of occasions. This place is a real hidden gem, the vast majority of travelers don't know about it, probably because it's tucked away in the Aventino neighborhood, about 1.5 kilometer walk from Pza Venezia and a 10 minute taxi ride from the Roma Terminale train station. But that's the beauty of the place, it's very quiet, off the beaten track, and easy to get to on the buses or by taxi from the heart of Rome and from the metro stop at Pyramid. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Circus Maximus and 20 minute walk to the Colosseum. The price is about one half of the big hotels on Via Veneto, and the service is impeccable. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the bathrooms are all marble, etc. It's a restored villa, and is one of three hotels (one of the others is call the Hotel Pio) all owned by the same company and within 2 blocks of each other. The other two are 3 stars, this one is a 4 star and worth it. Most of the rooms are reasonably large, but there are a few rooms that are very small, and the prices reflect that. If you can't/won't accept a small room, make sure you reserve a large one and ask to see it upon arrival. They have a nice patio out back where you can have breakfast or in the dining room. The lounge area out front is our favorite place to relax after a day of shopping with a glass of prosseco. If you are looking for a small, boutique hotel experience in Rome, this is tough to beat. The Testaccio neighborhood next door has lots of great restaurants and bars, and is known as a cool place for younger couples to hang out in the evenings. Anyway, this is a GREAT hotel for a Rome holiday and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are two large rooms on the top floor that share a roof top patio and are very nice. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossvesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Madam, Sir,
Thank you for your nice review; The faithfull description you made of our Hotel and the area where we are located, is fitting on us completely, highlightning how positive can be to choose the Aventino Hill for a visit to Rome.
We will always be delighted to have you as guests, even for a relaxing drink or "aperitivo" in our garden bars of our chain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 631 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here during the weekend of 4th August and enjoyed every second of our stay.

We arrived around 7pm with the temperature still boiling hot and were greeted with welcome drinks to cool us down. Check in was simple and the bell boy who took our cases and showed us to our room was lovely. All staff spoke perfect English, but appreciated any attempts you made to speak Italian.

We stayed in the Golden Room, which has a king size bed, power shower, and its own balcony overlooking the South West of Rome. Although not a view that took in all of the ancient sites, it was still pretty breathtaking to wake up to every day. The balcony was great for chilling with a bottle of wine as the sun goes down.

I had previously arranged for a Rose and Champagne to be in the room on arrival as we were celebrating our 1st Wedding anniversary. I didn't need to remind them when we arrived, and both were sitting in our room upon arrival.

Breakfast was served in the dining/ drawing room or outside in the gardens. A large choice for a continental breakfast, and great coffees!

We always used the front desk to order taxi's into town, and they only ever took less than 3 minutes from when ordered.

The Forum and Colloseum were the two closest main sites to the Hotel, which were a 20-25 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi drive. To get to all other sites in Rome, it was never really more than 5 - 10 minutes or maximum €12 to the furthest sites.

There was a surprise we found when walking past Santa Sabina, just a hundred yards from the hotel, which was a door where people were queueing to look through its keyhole. Curiosity got the better of us and we joined the queue. The sight through the keyhole was one of the best surprises of the holiday!

There are some nice local restaurants nearby, but as it is out of the touristy area, they are mainly visited by locals, so expect minimal English speaking waiters. They are very laid back, but not over-welcoming, I think it must be the Italian way.

When booking a taxi for our return to Ciampino airport (which was a fixed fare for all taxi's €30 Ciampino Airport - Rome) the concierge suggested we pay an extra €10 for a private hire car. As it was only €10 more we agreed. We sat in front of the hotel whilst waiting and were served coffees while we waited. A big Mercedes pulled up and took our bags, so we returned to the airport in a little more comfort and style than a taxi. Well worth €10!

Overall a good hotel. You were always greeted with a smile, and all staff were happy to assist you with any of your needs.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room which comes with a balcony, but no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamest83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for posting such wonderful reviews! The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation. This encourage us to do always the best for our clients, anticipated their needs and desires to make their experience in Hotel San Anselmo a memorable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel is really amazing. We stayed from august 1rst /august 5th. On a hill ,full of calmness, outstanding services from the personnel, very good buffet in the morning, very comfortable room full equipped, garden for the "spritz"( white wine or proseco with Aperol or Campari" in the afternoon.Mr Vincenzo at the reception was really a pro. He answered all our request, in a very distinguished manner. This place is 15 munutes from the Metro station Circo Massimo and around 10 Euros (taxi) from Roma's main attractions.Very affordable for a 4 star hotel.
Do not hesitate ro reserve this hotel. You will remember it for the rest of your life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

It's always a pleasure to receive such nice comments from our clients referred to our Hotel and our staff, we hope we can always do as better as we can and we hope we can host you again in the next future.
"Arrivederci" from the "eternal city"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The interiors lived up to expectations and clean. The beds were very hard. The food was mediocre, certainly not four star. There was a shortage of staff who appeared to be untrained and disinterested. The bar staff had to contsntly be asked for service. The Jacuzzi shower unit was old and very poor operation. Mosquitos were a problem in public areas.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Roboz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Sir, I am very sorry you have experienced slow and not attentive service from our bar staff. We were probably not prepared as we had a rapid and unexpected increase in bookings once we launched our special offers in our official web site. We do not serve hot meals, only continental breakfast and snacks at the bar. Our beds are equipped with mattress that helps to prevent backpains and therefore a little hard if you are not use to it.
Concerning the jacuzzi ,maybe, due to a two years closing for a complete and fully renovation process, some technical or operative problems were not yet completely solved during your staying. At last we do disinfest on a regular basis all the areas. But being surrounded by greenery and having a garden in the Hotel, some mosquitos do survive because of the enviroment and because of the very high temperatures we did get this summer (35° up to 40° during the day!). Hopefully we will have the pleasure to host you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

St Anselmo is well located for those who would like an oasis of tranquility as a counter-point to Rome's busy streets. A short walk to the top of the Aventino with beaufiult views of St. Peter's are an added bonus, while it is a short stroll down the hill to the Circo Massimo on one side and Testaccio on the other. The rooms are fabulously decorated and each has a name -- mine was the Camera della Scritrice, or Writer, with poems penned on the walls. The garden of the St Anselmo is equally wonderful to start the day with a peaceful breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thank you for your nice comment,
we are happy to read you had a nice time in our Hotel hopping that our " House" can become your Home in Rome !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#67 of 1,270 in Rome
980 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#77 of 1,270 in Rome
1,444 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,270 in Rome
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,270 in Rome
2,832 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,270 in Rome
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 6,491 - ₹ 18,794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing