We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Showy interiors, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #44 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Showy interiors, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

The interiors lived up to expectations and clean. The beds were very hard. The food was mediocre, certainly not four star. There was a shortage of staff who appeared to be untrained and disinterested. The bar staff had to contsntly be asked for service. The Jacuzzi shower unit was old and very poor operation. Mosquitos were a problem in public areas.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Roboz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Sir, I am very sorry you have experienced slow and not attentive service from our bar staff. We were probably not prepared as we had a rapid and unexpected increase in bookings once we launched our special offers in our official web site. We do not serve hot meals, only continental breakfast and snacks at the bar. Our beds are equipped with mattress that helps to prevent backpains and therefore a little hard if you are not use to it.
Concerning the jacuzzi ,maybe, due to a two years closing for a complete and fully renovation process, some technical or operative problems were not yet completely solved during your staying. At last we do disinfest on a regular basis all the areas. But being surrounded by greenery and having a garden in the Hotel, some mosquitos do survive because of the enviroment and because of the very high temperatures we did get this summer (35° up to 40° during the day!). Hopefully we will have the pleasure to host you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    214
    39
    13
    10
See reviews for
83
765
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

St Anselmo is well located for those who would like an oasis of tranquility as a counter-point to Rome's busy streets. A short walk to the top of the Aventino with beaufiult views of St. Peter's are an added bonus, while it is a short stroll down the hill to the Circo Massimo on one side and Testaccio on the other. The rooms are fabulously decorated and each has a name -- mine was the Camera della Scritrice, or Writer, with poems penned on the walls. The garden of the St Anselmo is equally wonderful to start the day with a peaceful breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for your nice comment,
we are happy to read you had a nice time in our Hotel hopping that our " House" can become your Home in Rome !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I liked everything about this hotel: it's charming gardens and staff, the comfortable room, and its location--on top of a hill. It was hot when I was there, and staying here made it cool. I would certainly return to this hotel, again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callingitlikeitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
We are glad to read your nice comments about us, we are looking foward to see you again in our beautiful Rome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for the first time on a family trip thru Rome in mid July and was so happy at our choice. High points are the quiet upscale neighborhood (as our taxi drivers said, virtually no one can afford to own property in Aventino), the very tasteful style of the common areas and garden, a very attentive and highly professional staff, and wonderful rooms with very comfortable beds.

The Colisseum, Roman Forum, Tiber and Circus Maximus are a short walk away from the hotel. We took taxis to the Vatican and more out of the way attractions - average fare was around 10 euro - not bad in comparison to the subway or buses considering we were a family of 4. Car service to the Fiumicino airport was 40 euro and only took around 30 minutes without traffic.

Only thing we missed in the hot Roman summer was a pool!

We would love to stay again if we come back to Rome.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DBNYCTRaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear guest, it's a pleasure for us to hear that you and your family had a wonderful expericence in our Hotel. Looking foward to your next visit in the eternal city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
513 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Elegant and quirky decor, good breakfast by Italian standards and small lounge to relax and have a drink in the evening. Hotel located up a hill opposite Trastevere so bit of a walk to get there but quiet and away from the crowds and great views from the gardens located nearby. If you go don't miss the view from the secret keyhole nearby. Really good value given the standard of the hotel.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
It's a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed the quitness and the relaxed athmosphere of our exclusive residential Aventino hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#60 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#96 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#56 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,985 - ₹ 16,225
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing