We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, quiet, hospitable”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #41 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“comfortable, quiet, hospitable”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I liked everything about this hotel: it's charming gardens and staff, the comfortable room, and its location--on top of a hill. It was hot when I was there, and staying here made it cool. I would certainly return to this hotel, again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callingitlikeitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
We are glad to read your nice comments about us, we are looking foward to see you again in our beautiful Rome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    227
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
89
804
37
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for the first time on a family trip thru Rome in mid July and was so happy at our choice. High points are the quiet upscale neighborhood (as our taxi drivers said, virtually no one can afford to own property in Aventino), the very tasteful style of the common areas and garden, a very attentive and highly professional staff, and wonderful rooms with very comfortable beds.

The Colisseum, Roman Forum, Tiber and Circus Maximus are a short walk away from the hotel. We took taxis to the Vatican and more out of the way attractions - average fare was around 10 euro - not bad in comparison to the subway or buses considering we were a family of 4. Car service to the Fiumicino airport was 40 euro and only took around 30 minutes without traffic.

Only thing we missed in the hot Roman summer was a pool!

We would love to stay again if we come back to Rome.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DBNYCTRaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear guest, it's a pleasure for us to hear that you and your family had a wonderful expericence in our Hotel. Looking foward to your next visit in the eternal city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Elegant and quirky decor, good breakfast by Italian standards and small lounge to relax and have a drink in the evening. Hotel located up a hill opposite Trastevere so bit of a walk to get there but quiet and away from the crowds and great views from the gardens located nearby. If you go don't miss the view from the secret keyhole nearby. Really good value given the standard of the hotel.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
It's a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed the quitness and the relaxed athmosphere of our exclusive residential Aventino hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vizcaya
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The staff treated us in an wonderful way. They helped us in every little thing we needed, with the best attention we´ve ever received in any of the hotels we´ve been at. The room was decorated in a classical but, elegant y romantic way, not very big, but enough for a pleasant stay. A bit short of amenities in the bathroom for a four star hotel. Amazing breakfast, at least, for our european taste, we were served in the room every morning with no added cost. The location was a bit apart from the centre of Rome, but you can find a bus station at 7-8 minutes from the hotel y the subway in 10 minutes walking. No noise will disturb your sleep. If you don´t mind a classical decoration and not being in the centre of Rome, this can be your hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseba66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have "pampered" you during your roman holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Perfect place to stay in Rome if you want to be above the tourist insanity during the summer without being out of walking distance to so many great spots. We were able to taxi to and walk back from our dinners. the last night of our almost 2 week of our vacation I figured it would be nice to spread out so I upgraded to their nicest suite - terrace, claw foot tub, VERY LARGE BED ... it was lovely and romantic and they took care of the transfer including some complimentary lemon celo while we were out hoofing around Rome.

Room Tip: go for the larger rooms / suite well worth it - just for the SPACE although their standard rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaffyDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
We are glad you appreciated our hospitality and the service of our Hotel San Anselmo. Hoping to have you again as our Guest in our “House”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,258 in Rome
950 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#83 of 1,258 in Rome
1,361 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,328 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,569 - ₹ 20,629
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing